We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and awesome pizza!”
Review of The Ant Cafe

The Ant Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and awesome pizza!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Ant Cafe is a Melville tradition. A busy, buzzing local place with thin crust pizzas, candlelight and music. We went with our kids and devoured the two pizzas we ordered and the vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce.

The room is exposed brick and wooden beams with old wood worn tables and chairs that scrape across the cement floor. Mad magazine covers, album covers, floral art and pinup girls cover the walls.

The staff are friendly and efficient and the music plays nonstop.

If you come to Joburg, put Ant Cafe on your list!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelfoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get downtown”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very authentic local flavour. Enjoy great cocktails, exciting food, listen to 80s music..... you could be anywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Andreasteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, in general”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is an interesting place - the decoration is really creative, although a bit too dark. The pizza is good, but not exceptional. They don't accept credit card, suggest clients not to ask to reduce the music volume - the messages to customers that are in the menu are quite unkind.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GBaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best vibe & pizza in Joburg”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Ant is one of Joburg's best restaurants. Their pizza is very thin crust and always delicious. The atmosphere is quirky, eclectic, laid back, and very local. The service sometimes leaves something to be desired, but order a bottle of wine and just enjoy an authentic neighbourhood vibe with your friends, and don't worry about waiting 20min for your food. It's quite busy every night of the week, so bookings are recommended. If you want local flavour in every sense, this is the place to go, and it's especially inviting in the winter when the fire is lit and the interior is cozy and warm; and in the summer there's a nice back patio. The Ant is not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoHole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We gave up and left”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We called in for dinner on a weekday evening. We both loved the look of the place. Twenty minutes after we'd been seated, still nobody had approached our table. When we eventually ordered, the rather distracted waitress barely looked at us and continued her conversation with the other waitress as she plonked a bottle of warm white wine on our table. She then whisked it away again to seek out an ice bucket. After a further twenty minutes, there was still no food, the wine hadn't reappeared and the waitress didn't seem to have been anywhere near the kitchen. When we finally got her attention, she admitted she hadn't yet put the order through. At that point, we left, as it seemed unlikely we were going to get anything to eat or drink in the immediate future. In the entire time we were in there, only one dish left the kitchen. We're not in the habit of walking out of restaurants: in fact, neither of us could recall ever having done so before. Every other cafe and restaurant we visited in Johannesburg and Durban had offered friendly, efficient service. Ant Cafe was a real disappointment.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DobberBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ant Cafe also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Melville, KwaZulu-Natal
Melville, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Ant Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing