We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were a group of 16 persons stayed there on New Year's Eve. the staff was very friendly, the hotel has very beautiful gardens and the rooms were so great, so clean, so nice! All our group was so happy there and we enjoyed the delicious dinner that night followed by an unexpected Zulu dance show. The most important as well is that, as we had to leave very early in the morning the first day of the year, they prepared for us a very full packed breakfast, almost like a lunch! Congrats to all the staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANOS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the hotel. Absolutely nothing around but a good base to visit St. Lucia or the Umfolozi Park. Rooms were very spacious and beds were nice to sleep. Staff was friendly but restaurant staff a bit slow. The food was in buffet form and surprisingly not the typical buffet food but the chef really had tried to do something different. We thought it was very nice. All in al a good hotel. Only negativ thing was the noise from the highway but fair to say it didn't disturb us that much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstuurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

An overnight stay on our SA tour the hotel was pleasantly, if a tad garishly, decorated, the rooms were very comfortable and the buffet dinner and breakfast most agreeable. Staff were pleasant and accomodating. No local bars or restaurants or places of interest so very much a transit hotel and so it was important that it provided decent food and service and it did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent 1 night in this Protea-chain hotel, which is very close to the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Park. My room (# 017) was spacious with two beds. Bed was firm, comfy and bedding was soft. Bathroom was good size and clean. Coffee maker and safety box were provided. There was also one complementary bottle of water in the room. Buffet breakfast was lovely with many choices. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stopped at his hotel overnight on my way from the St. Lucia Boat Cruise to the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Park. The hotel has a nice appearance and the rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Another excellent Protea Hotel. This one doesn't have any amenities nearby so the only eating option is the hotel restaurant, which seemed very nice. Having had a big, late lunch, we did not eat there. The packed breakfast which they provided (we left the hotel at 5 a.m.) was plentiful and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our fourth hotel in five days and it was simply another great facility.

As with the other hotels very friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable and clean room and excellent dinner and breakfast buffets.

A good stopping point after another long day on the road

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Senior_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtubatuba
23.0 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
151 reviews
17.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
181 reviews
17.1 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
213 reviews
21.0 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
12 reviews
23.1 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River

Address: Off the N2 | 40 Km North of Richard's Bay, Mtubatuba 3935, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Umfolozi River)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mtubatuba
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Price Range: $67 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River - Diversity in the Wetlands of Central Zululand. Protea Hotels Umfolozi River is ideally located in the Greater Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve area, only 40km north of Richards Bay. The hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms/chalets, as well as 2 family chalets, with satellite TV. Make yourself at home, with extensive dining facilities and bar area. Don’t forget that you can relax and wind down by the pool and Lapa area. Looking for some adventure? Nearby activities include the Greater St. Lucia Wetlands Park, Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve, world-renowned birding spots, whale and dolphin watching, boat cruises, horse riding, golf, fishing, kayaking, beaches and quad bike trails. Protea Hotel Umfolozi River is within easy reach of the Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Park and Great St. Lucia Wetlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing