We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice hotel not too far from Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park and also the St Lucia Boat Cruise.

Standard room has only a glass curtain between the beds and the shower, which seems to be a common layout for Protea hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's a great place, with rooms in chalets in the middle of an extensive garden. My room was very big, the bed very comfortable. Very practical bathroom with a shower (however the direct access from the shower and the toilet to the room could be embarrassing while traveling in duo) and good shampoo and shower gel.
I appreciated the relative calm (well, the N2 road is not very far) and I wished I could enjoy the swimming pool but it was far too cold.
The restaurant offers a huge buffet, but like many places in South Africa, it's heavy food only.
The staff is helpful and very nice, discreet and efficient.
Overall, a good stay but a hotel without any african atmosphere... That's the "charm" of this kind of hotel, no disappointment, no charm...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This again shows what can be done. The staff are most efficient. Management is always available and on site. Catering for our guests is always a pleasure here, as all their requests are met. The Boma dinners are a definite PLUS. The new look rooms are spacious and with Wi-Fi too. The buffet was good with the clients having choices as to what they wanted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I only spent one rainy night at this hotel. It was terrential and the internet service was down. The room was clean, I couldn't see the grounds due to the storm but that is no fault of the hotel. The one thing I do remember is the tomato soup the hotel served during dinner. It was the most delicious soup I've ever had. Rich, creamy...oh I wish I had gotten the recipie. The soup alone made me wish I was there for another night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but the rooms were very different, but in a good way. I enjoyed the location even tho our room was kinda far from the lobby area. They greeted us nicely with some kind of drink, not to our liking but it was a nice gesture. How far the room was & how bad the buffet was, is the reason they get an average rating. But the grounds of the hotel room was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 619miamiluv662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There was nothing particularly remarkable about this hotel – either good or bad. However as we are a fairly critical couple, not finding anything to our disliking tends to elevate the rating to ‘very good’ and for one night, we found the location quite convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

well situated off the main road, good place to explore the zululand, hluhluwe and st lucia areas from well designed hotel with comfortable rooms which are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtubatuba
23 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
163 reviews
17.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
194 reviews
17.1 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 9 in Richards Bay
246 reviews
21 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 9 in Richards Bay
12 reviews
23.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Richards Bay Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Umfolozi River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Umfolozi River

Address: Off the N2 | 40 Km North of Richard's Bay, Mtubatuba 3935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mtubatuba
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mtubatuba
Price Range: $80 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Umfolozi River 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River - Diversity in the Wetlands of Central Zululand. Protea Hotels Umfolozi River is ideally located in the Greater Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve area, only 40km north of Richards Bay. The hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms/chalets, as well as 2 family chalets, with satellite TV. Make yourself at home, with extensive dining facilities and bar area. Don’t forget that you can relax and wind down by the pool and Lapa area. Looking for some adventure? Nearby activities include the Greater St. Lucia Wetlands Park, Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve, world-renowned birding spots, whale and dolphin watching, boat cruises, horse riding, golf, fishing, kayaking, beaches and quad bike trails. Protea Hotel Umfolozi River is within easy reach of the Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Park and Great St. Lucia Wetlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Umfolozi River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing