We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lunch review”
Review of The hungry monk

The hungry monk
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Greyton
Cuisines: Asian, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hungry Monk is a restaurant and bar which Is very different to anything you will find in Greyton. The owners are Anglo Indian and Polish and hence the menu is constructed around their respective culinary backgrounds. Spanish Tapas, Asian street food, Anglo Indian specialities and home made Polish gnocchi and pierogi are served up to perfection. A menu specially designed for Vegans is also available. South African favorites such as lamb shank and pork belly are given an asian twist! A traditional British Sunday roast of lamb and beef is very popular on Sunday when the rest of the menu is also available. A comprehensive bar menu is also available which features gourmet burgers and steaks. Craft beers are on tap.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lunch review”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

after visiting Greyton for the 1st time this past weekend, our party of 4 decided to have the Sunday roast at the hungry
we enjoyed a few starters from the Tapas menu which were outstanding and then enjoyed our Sunday roast. I had the roast lamb which was served with a red wine jus and the most outstanding and unusual seasonal veg and roast potato's.
The meat was cooked to perfection and all the ingredients are local and organic.
The owners are friendly and helpful and service was amazing
We enjoyed a really good bottle of local red wine, also recommended by the owners.
Really great afternoon spent under the trees at the Hungry Monk. Will def be on my list of places to visit again when in Greyton

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tania196917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    33
    20
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our party of four all enjoyed our leisurely lunch here. The menu is a great mix of the usual staples plus an excellent tapas menu and Asian fusion dishes. All of the food we had was very good and the tapas were outstanding. A good wine list and even a beer on tap from a local microbrewery to accompany the food added to the enjoyment. The service was friendly and attentive and the ambiance nicely laid back. Well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank summeri46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistency in food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Dinner earlier in the week was very tasty indeed (Lamb Curry) and as usual the owners friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in making the dining experience a pleasant one. I have now had a few meals there and have always found the food to be really good and varied. Their menu consists of smaller Tapas and heartier meals and offers an unusually good selection. The atmosphere was perfect with the fireplace in use and the decor interesting and quirky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KalShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, warm & welcoming”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The food at the Hungry Monk is the true definition of a foodgasm. We loved the food so much that we had two dinners and lunch on one weekend, tasting the wide variety of delicious tapas, lamb curry, beef bourguignon and lamb roast. The food is mouth watering, a perfect fusion of the best tastes around the world, Thai, Indian, Polish, English and more. Not only is the menu interesting, every presentation of food perfect, the hosts Rodney & Robert an absolute delight & service is excellent. We will be back every time we visit Greyton, without a doubt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MikaRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tasty heart ...”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Most Restaurants in this small village, in the heart of the Overberg mountains, leave one feeling satisfied with both quality and appropriate cost,The Hungry Monk is no exception. The heart of this little restaurant, now licensed I believe, was placed in the service and attention to detail with an overall impression that the dish placed in front of you was put there with pride, and I must say it, with a little bit of love. After eating quite heavily for a few weeks I was ready to have a light, but tasty vegetarian meal. Although The Hungry Monk treats all diners as unique, vegetarian or otherwise, my mushroom stroganoff was beyond delicious and followed by an apple and cinnamon cake that left traditionalists standing. My partner was equally impressed with his pancakes that were stuffed with mushrooms, aubergine and cottage cheese served with the most tantalising beetroot consommé . The menu has a traditional Polish influence with home cooking superbly mastered. I will most certainly be back to dine there again not only to enjoy the delicious cuisine but also the welcoming and attentive service we received. Thank you to co owners Rodney (and chef) Robert for working with fresh, organic and free range local foods, it made the dining experience all the more appreciated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Softseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The hungry monk also viewed

Greyton, Overberg District
Greyton, Overberg District
 
Greyton, Overberg District
Greyton, Overberg District
 

Been to The hungry monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing