We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday supper at The Hungry Monk”
Review of The hungry monk

The hungry monk
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Greyton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hungry Monk is a restaurant and bar which Is very different to anything you will find in Greyton. The owners are Anglo Indian and Polish and hence the menu is constructed around their respective culinary backgrounds. Spanish Tapas, Asian street food, Anglo Indian specialities and home made Polish gnocchi and pierogi are served up to perfection. A menu specially designed for Vegans is also available. South African favorites such as lamb shank and pork belly are given an asian twist! A traditional British Sunday roast of lamb and beef is very popular on Sunday when the rest of the menu is also available. A comprehensive bar menu is also available which features gourmet burgers and steaks. Craft beers are on tap.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday supper at The Hungry Monk”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A very pleasant restaurant with very friendly and attentive staff. We had the special Sweet and Sour Prawns with Basmati Rice and enjoyed our meal as we sat under the trees on a perfect evening.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    34
    20
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Hospitality at the Hungry Monk”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great day in Greyton. Had amazing beer and lunches at three different places.
Unfortunately The Hungry Monk spoiled the day. We wanted coffee and cake and stopped at the Monk. We sat down and waited as we guess the owner or waiter helped another table. The table got up and left. This guy came out again cleared the money and plates and went back in. Came out again and cleared another table. Not once did he smile or acknowledge us or told us they were closed or whatever. If you are that sad, don’t be in the restaurant industry. I hope you will get the same treatment somewhere. You will know who I am as I drove the Grey Bakkie with the CFG reg.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohanLabuschagne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hungry Monk”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

These guys have apparently just opened. No liquor license as yet, so no wine to be had. Non-withstanding, the service was friendly and fast. Aiming towards tapas style meals but also have excellent main course items and daily specials. I chose a chorizo and mussel tapas. My food was not the best I've ever had, but the friendliness and generosity from Rodney, one of the owners more than made up for it. Having said that, diners around me were singing praises about the food so I figured it was just not my night. I surely will return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tesproos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Hungry Monk does not disappoint”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend getaway in the small town of Greyton and absolutely everything was wonderful. This was largely due to the fabulous meals we had at The Hungry Monk. Happy meals certainly make for a happy holiday. With our stay at the Auberge B&B, we were given meal vouchers (R65 per person, per day) that we could redeem at The Hungry Monk. We chose dinner and it was so delicious, that we returned the following night to repeat the experience. We were not disappointed! Despite our short stay and our normal rule of trying as many places as possible, we didn't believe that this place could be bettered. We will definitely be back! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieLouiseRouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best in Gretyon”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

What an amazing find!! We absolutely loved The Hungry Monk and could not stop returning on our recent holiday in Greyton. Having eaten at all the other establishments The Hungry Monk is by far the best in the village; very reasonably priced, quirky interior, friendly management and staff and the most wonderful, mouth-watering food!! Our boys and ourselves LOVED this restaurant and it deserves to do so, so well! One word of warning - you are going to have to book in advance to sample these delights!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The hungry monk also viewed

Greyton, Overberg District
Greyton, Overberg District
 
Greyton, Overberg District
Greyton, Overberg District
 

Been to The hungry monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing