We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really really poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Greyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really really poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

we booked here on the strength of the reviews on TA, and this taught us a lesson about reviews. Thus was by no means the cheapest we have stayed in, but it definitely was the worst. The Owner/manager never appeared, apparently busy moving into a new house and a number of people, who, it seemed, just happened to be there, tried to help us. There is no reception area, and we never checked in. The man who was there seemed very puzzled to see us, and had to have a lengthy phone conversation with somebody before we were regarded as legitimate and shown to our room, up an outside staircase in the pouring rain with no offer of an umbrella. The double room we had booked was a twin, and they did offer to change the bed but by this time we were too irritated to accept. The room took quaint a little too far. The walls...blotches of damp, plenty of dirty marks and lots of nails with nothing hanging on them. Uncomfortable seating, and as it was pouring, one of us had to spend the afternoon sitting on the bed. I could go on and on... And when we enquired for breakfast time, this again caused some puzzlement, another lengthy phone call and a voucher for breakfast at a local cafe. We left early without using the voucher, just glad to leave Greyton behind us.

Room Tip: The positive comments seem to come from people who stayed in the self catering section, so that coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1marbil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tgerntholtz, Owner at Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Many thanks for your review here. All criticisms have been very useful. We now have fantastic new managers in place and are nearly finished with our Microbrewery. We would love to have you back in the near future and hope your experience will be VERY different. Please contact me personally on 0788020006 to arrange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I spent a romantic getaway in the picturesque little town of Greyton.
We spent two nights at the delightful Old Potters Inn. Our room was one of the self catering
semi-detached rooms with a downstairs lounge kitchen area complete with fireplace and
French doors opening onto a small stoep with a beautiful view of the mountains. The bedroom and bathroom upstairs were comfortable and adequate. There is also an inviting swimming pool nearby and ample parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lovely place when you really need a 'time out'. With horses roaming around the neighbourhood, delicious coffee shops dotting the scenery, and old antiques shops for you to stroll around at your leisure! The Old Potters Inn is a lovely quaint place which has everything you need, including a cosy fireplace for you to really relax. Very charming getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownChristineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Potters Inn. It is a wonderful spot; cozy, comfy and very stylish and so central to everything, but still 'tucked away enough to be very tranquil'. We had cold weather and were delighted to use the old style fire place - which worked a charm. Greyton (one of our favourite towns ever) just got better!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greyton
15.3 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
0.0 mi away
The Post House Country Hotel
4.8 mi away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 9 in Greyton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedric's County Lodge
Cedric's County Lodge
#5 of 9 in Greyton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
16.2 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#5 of 11 in Caledon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse

Property: Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
Address: 16 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Greyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint old Nationial Monument that was once used by the local farming community when they came into town for Nagmaal. Later converted into a pottery and plans underway to start a microbrewery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing