We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wall to wall cats - loved it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greyton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Hopes of Greyton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greyton
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our first time to Greyton. We stayed in Lily room which was cosy and warm. Hubby wanted to watch the big rugby match - there is no TV in Lily room and the lounge is off limits for guests as this is the "doggie lounge". We were lucky that Violet room was not occupied so Sharon kindly organised for us to watch the match. She went out of her way to organise a heater as it was cold and rainy. The pool area at High Hopes needs some attention - it didn't worry us during this visit as it was cold and rainy. We enjoyed our reflexology sessions with Lisa. Enjoyed watching the cats as they perch themselves around the house. This is a guest house with wall to wall cats and dogs. Breakfasts are strictly vegetarian so do not expect bacon or sausages. We were served cheese and mushroom omlette on day 1 and on day 2 we had yummy croisant with scrambled egg and mushroom.

Room Tip: Violet Room has a TV - and a small lounge area. I would definitely book this room with our return vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the Buttercup room which had a sleeper couch and two single beds. The single beds were exceptionally comfortable and the room was pretty. The sleeper couch is not comfortable for two adults however. The bathroom was the highlight, showering whilst watching a little bird in the tree against the windows was beautiful. The High Hopes aromatherapy products that are in the bathroom to use, are for sale and worth buying (we bought one of each) - they are fantastic! The gardens are the highlight of this serene and relaxing B & B. The hosts are accommodating and I would most definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our second time here. Quaint rooms, beautiful gardens, scrumptious breakfasts. And we adore the dogs & cats.
Hosts are great - helpful but only there when needed. Highly recommended for anyone needing some timeout from city life.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnRossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Violet room which was lovely and big with a gorgeous fireplace. It was very cold and the room was heated the entire weekend. My hubby and I took part in the Mountain Bike race and the tracks were fabulous. Sharon made us breakfast really early so that we could take part in the race with a full stomach. There was so much choice and everything was delicious. The setting and garden is exquisite and so homely and Sharon was very accommodating by allowing us to come back and shower after check out time. Greyton is so quaint and it was lovely to browse through the shops, relax in the restaurants and go for a hike in the nature reserve. We will be back next year for the mountain bike race.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jajasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

High Hopes is a healing centre as well as a B&B that offers everything from Kinesiology, Reikie, Massages, Yoga, Horse Riding etc. I was there for 5 nights on a full retreat and set schedule and I can most certainly confirm that the retreat was the best money I have ever invested in myself after being diagnosed with severe burnout. The retreat is personalized according to each individual which really makes a huge difference as well. The owners are warm loving people that open their home and B&B so you don't just feel like you are stuck in a "hotel room" its really more of a home away from a home. They love animals so they are all over and bring a warmth to the experience and therefore if you are animal lover this will be fine. The accommodtion is decorated very classical with fire places I believe in most rooms, once again it has the homely feeling not the feeling of a cold hotel room. I believe they featured on SABC recently as well so i'm sure you might be able to find more information on the internet if required.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Private28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently occupied 4 of the five rooms at this charming country guest house where my now wife and I tied the knot. The huge garden complete with a Koi stocked lily pond was a perfect setting for our ceremony. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed not only the excellent breakfast fair from fresh home-made juices to wonderful cooked food but all our guests agreed the very comfortable en-suite rooms complete with wood burning stoves were all we could have wished for. Our hosts Sharon and Angie where both welcoming and interesting people.
The entire experience will most certainly bring us back to High Hopes in the future

Room Tip: All differant all interesting, one roommuch bigger than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunercenturycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

After staying in grim, ugly B&Bs in Cape Town and Stellenbosch, the village of Greyton and the B&B High Hopes were a much-overdue oasis of culture, sophistication and beauty.

The B&B is set in possibly the most wonderful garden I have ever seen: a large green oasis of overgrown meadow and trees, with a wonderful little lake in the middle.

The room was beautifully furnished, with its own log burning stove, and the breakfast was gorgeous.

The owners seemed to be really interesting ex-city dwellers, and I was very sorry to leave.

This is definitely worth staying at if you are in the vicinity!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank culturegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greyton
16.0 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
0.7 mi away
The Post House Country House
0.7 mi away
Old Potter's Inn and Brewhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Oewerzicht
Oewerzicht
#1 of 10 in Greyton
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Fiore Garden Centre
#6 of 10 in Greyton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hopes of Greyton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hopes of Greyton

Address: 89 Main Road, Greyton 7233, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Greyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greyton
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing