We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!!!”
Review of Apolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apolis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ammopi
Certificate of Excellence
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights from the 26th to the 28th July 2013 and where blown away by this beautiful boutique hotel. A beautiful, stylish family run hotel with fantastic view, great service and excellent food . Our room was the perfect size for our needs although we felt the balcony was a little on the small side. All rooms have sea and pool view which is just stunning. We cannot praise highly enough the staff and the owners for giving us the experience of a life time. I highly recommend the food at the holiday from the breakfast to the amazing evening dining experience, top quality food and very reasonable prices. All in all a wonderful stay which we will remember for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariepThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    65
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a five night stay in this lovely family owned and run hotel on Karpathos. The hotel is beautiful, modern and spotless throughout and our room was spacious and very comfortable with a large balcony and glorious sea views. Breakfast buffet was very good with a great deal of choice and dining was also very good and very reasonably priced. Especial thanks are due to Evi and Eleni for their warmth, ever smiling help and hospitality. You made our stay very memorable and we hope you are having a well deserved rest through the winter!
For amazing value for money, wonderful location and great staff this hotel would be difficult to beat - very highly recommended .
PS they are changing the booking procedure next year which should make it much easier for brits to book. Go on - you deserve it!

Room Tip: I think all have a sea view - as always more dosh gets you more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice and friendly people giving top service. Excellent food. Only about 34 rooms = a cosy atmosphere. Marvellous view, very short walk along the cliff also to the very nice sandy beach by the bus stop. Short way to Pigadia, cheap bus ride and only 10 euros for 2 persons in a taxi home at night. Hire a car, drive 100km and see the whole southern part of the island (don't miss Mesachori!). Go to Olympos by bus and boat. Beds are not much better here than elsewhere in southern Europe, but everything else is :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms have fantastic view of the ocean. If you ask for / get room 204, you get a living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were guests of Apolis hotel from 10/08 to 22/08 2012, and if I could say one word about our stay - just heaven place :)) Best hotel on Karpathos. We had very nice designed double room with terase and breathtaking seview. Room was clean every day and new clean towels was available as well. We asked for dvd player and there were no problem to pluged into our room. Servis on hotel was really on high level, they fulfilled all our wishes and requirments. This family hotel is best place to spend wonderfull holiday incluiding nice beaches, clean sea or relaxing "chillout" pool and of course greek cusine. Breakfast was varied everyday, they changed only few things - most popular stayed, we could recomend "greek bruschetta" with red onions, tomatos, feta cheese and olive oil :)) During day they served delicious snacks, salads or specials of mediterranean cusine. Dinner was unique experience, we could choosed from regul menu or from specials of the day, which were made everyday fresh (thankx to Andy). My secret advise is chicken souvlaki, chicken from own farm and it was really tasty :)) During day you can enjoy realaxing music to chilling by the pool, for dinner time unique traditional greek music to amplify atmosphere. We loved this music and Manolis made special cd for us, so now we can listen greek music all year and it reminds us amazing moments on Apolis hotel. We would like to thank you to all stuff - specially to Eleny, Marcel, Alina, Evy, Andy and of course Manolis. We spent really great time, so it is not surprising that we have engaged there :)) We will definately come once again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetrBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were excited about this hotel given the stellar reviews it got from other websites only to be very disappointed.
- Our room was not clean, and we could constantly hear chairs moving in our rooms of all hours of the day and night. The room had many dust bunnies on the shelf above the bed. Towels were stained, and the tissues in the bathroom were soggy and old. The room overall had a stuffy scent to it, and a more harsh smell was in the room at various times.
- Breakfast was not appetizing at all. There was constantly flies on all of the food. Foods like cold cuts and milk for cereal was kept hot, where other foods that were supposed to be hot were cold like their sunny side up eggs and bacon. The food does not change day to day.
- Dinner, same comments as breakfast.
- Service was snobby. Woman at the front desk was pushy with rent a car, and other items like renting beach towels day to day. She always made us feel like we were bothering her if we had any questions. One waitress who served breakfast was constantly coughing and sneezing- sick people should not be working, especially in an environment where they are near food and near where people eat.

Overall, I am unimpressed with this hotel- it is definitely not a 4 star hotel. I would say 3 is pushing it. Do not waste your money or time at this place- you are only viewed as a cash cow, not as a guest trying to enjoy vacation. Upside is it is near other nice restaurants and beaches

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis M, General Manager at Apolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize you had such a poor experience at our hotel. Feedback is very important to us and helps us improve our service and possible flaws guests might have encountered. I regret to hear that the service you received by the Front Desk, the cleaning and Restaurant staff did not meet your expectations. The Front Desk, Cleaning and restaurant Staff often get compliments on how efficient, friendly and helpful they are so I apologize that the same quality service was not extended to you during your stay.

However it is in best interest for both parties to let us know of all things that make your vacation unpleasant during your stay at the hotel so we can immediately take action of matters that might be unpleasant to you. Feel free to contact me personally at info@apolis.eu to discuss some of the matters that made you regret your stay at Apolis Hotel.


Sincerely,
Manolis Magriplis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassleholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We lived here for holiday, 7 days, in the spring 2011. We had two double rooms with a seaview. the room was clean, simple design, bathtub, large terasse. It was big enough to have an extrabed. At my opinioin The standard in Greece is generally low for european standard. And we always find it hard to find good and dicent hotels. This hotel in Karpathos is really a jewell! Not a five star, but better than a three star - we all liked it very much.
The staff very friendly and serviceminded. One nigth we ate at the hotel and that was good enough. My daghter loved the Gnoccies - try it! The poolside is quite great for swimming and there is also a small childrenpool. Clean and dicent with a wonderful seaview.

The hotel is placed a little bit "off" the activities on the island. We hired a car (cant remember how much we paid but it wasnt expensive - do try to make a bargin, the car-renter was more than willing to lower the original price) and went around the whole island by car. visited beutiful beaches and small villiges. In the evening there is about 4 restaurants nearby to chose between. But we also went in to the bigger village for a couple of nights. Eating in the small harbour was absolutely great - and is recommended! Here you can also find a bigger supermarcet and small shops on the small "walkingroads" above the harbour.

Just down the hill/cliff from the hotel there is a small stone beach with a couple of sunchairs. Its steep down and i didnt feel comfortable to take my 5 year old girl with me. But the water was beautiful and my father often went down in the morning to jump in.
Instead we took a short walk, about 5-10 minutes, to a nice sandy beach that was shallow and perfect for snorkelning and playing with my daughter. To reach the beach you just go out the backside of the hotel, with the pool in your back facing the oscean you take left and start walking. On this sandy beach you can rent a sunchair and there is also 2-3 small restaurant for lunch and icecream.

If we go to Karpathos again we will not look after other hotelchoises.
Apolis is far the best this Island can offer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank linda045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karpathos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is very clean, the staff wonderful people. Nice rooms with fantastic view. The area is very calm and quiet, and if you want to party take the local bus to Pigadia, only 10 minutes. Return by taxi.
We stayed for one week and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
3 Thank Vigdis0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammopi
2.6 mi away
Alimounda Mare
Alimounda Mare
#1 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
889 reviews
4.4 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
76 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Arkassa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#10 of 10 in Ammopi
98 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
109 reviews
2.5 mi away
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
#9 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apolis Hotel

Property: Apolis Hotel
Address: Amoopi | Karpathos, Ammopi, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Ammopi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ammopi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apolis Hotel Ammopi
Apolis Hotel Karpathos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing