We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brilliant experience at a friendly oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Loutro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loutro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Porto Loutro
Save
You added Hotel Porto Loutro to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant experience at a friendly oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Loutro is a wonderful pearl on the Crete south coast and Hotel Porto is a premier choice. Not only because it is the very first spot you find after you step off the ferry but also because it is probably the most atmospheric and tasteful place in this little car free village.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigursteinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    34
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here as part of a two centre package with Sunville with this as our second week.

The start could have been a disaster with bad weather preventing our ferry transfer but Sunville got us to the nearest port by road and Allison, the hotel's owner fixed, the rest with taxi boat to get our luggage to the hotel (too rough for normal mortals but our cases didn't mind) and jeep plus a short hike in (Allison sent a party over to make sure we found our way) to get us there! We were welcomed heartily and the friendly nature of the experience just got better from there. All the staff looked after us and the place's atmosphere means all the guests seemed sociable too - there were some many time returners here and we can understand why!

Allison has done a great job with the hotel rooms - they're simple, Greek style but comfortable, all very clean and well fitted out with white walls and marble floors. Our room (#8) was on the top floor and looked out over the bay with the mountains on either side. We're not beach fiends - preferring the sunny balcony - but sunbeds, umbrellas and beach towels are available. Rooms face east (the whole village does!) so you won't get afternoon sun or a sunset but its beautiful enough even without that. There's no pool but with the sea 5 metres from the front door, who needs one? The included breakfast (on B&B rates) is simple and we thought it was good value although there aren't any cooked options which some might regret. Still with the restaurants and cafes around going hungry isn't going to be your problem. Some reviews have pointed out that the hotel charges for Internet (although there bars and tavernas where its free) but on the other hand use of the safe and aircon is included in the room rate -something we've been charged for in plenty of places.

Room Tip: We think the rooms on the upper floor have the (slightly) better view. #8 was just beside the bar wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Budleigh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Louro is the place for a quiet relaxing holiday - nothing to do except walk, eat, swim and wind down and the Hotel Porto Loutro is just the place to stay. The place is laid back and homely, no rush, no bother and the view from the balcony is wonderful. Everyone is helful and welcoming and all they want is for you to enjoy their gem as much as they do..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerani, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Decided on a girlie few days away from the humdrum of everyday life and ended up in Porto Loutro with two friends. Loutro has no cars....it's just a scenic bay of beach and sea.... lined with tavernas and hotels ....the waters edge was all but a few metres from our Porto Loutro front door! What more can a girl ask for? Hotel was perfect in every way ... Great staff, full of information...clean and quiet ....thoroughly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a laid back retreat in a tranquil jaw dropping setting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerani30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Sophia and Manolis and not forgetting Harry(the Labrador)make this the best Hotel in Loutro.
Views,Restaurant and staff are some of the best that we have come across having been traveling to all corners of the world.
Rooms are large and airy with small balconies,air conditioning,refrigerators flat screen tv together with wifi.
If you want peace without cars and loads of people and funfairs you must come to Hotel Porto Loutro On The Hill Anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We tried to stay here twice during a 3-month trip to Crete. The first time I e-mailed inquiring about several different dates in mid-September that we could come, it took 3-4 days to get a reply from the owner saying none of the possible dates were available. I tried e-mailing again about possible availability during October, but the owner never responded at all. So beware if you're trying to plan a trip to Loutro. There are lots of other places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherylxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our third stay at Porto Loutro 2 and it was as relaxing as ever. Great views, friendly staff and very clean.
The mattresses are uncomfortable and they need more staff so the rooms are cleaned in the morning. The cleaning took place during the afternoon siesta period on most days during our stay which is fine if you are going to spend the full day at the beach but was inconvenient if not. Also more shade on the bar terrace, particularly for breakfast would be welcome. Probably less of an issue earlier in the year as the sun will be higher but in September there were only 4 tables in the shade without rearranging the furniture or putting umbrellas up

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutro
0.0 mi away
Daskalogiannis Hotel
Daskalogiannis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Loutro
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
7.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 1 in Agia Roumeli
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro on the Hill
0.1 mi away
Oasis Hotel Loutro
Oasis Hotel Loutro
#5 of 9 in Loutro
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Loutro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Loutro

Property: Hotel Porto Loutro
Address: Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 730 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Porto Loutro Hotel
Porto Loutro Crete
Hotel Porto Loutro Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing