We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Porto Loutro 2 - staffing and more shade for rating of 5”
Review of Hotel Porto Loutro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Porto Loutro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Porto Loutro 2 - staffing and more shade for rating of 5”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our third stay at Porto Loutro 2 and it was as relaxing as ever. Great views, friendly staff and very clean.
The mattresses are uncomfortable and they need more staff so the rooms are cleaned in the morning. The cleaning took place during the afternoon siesta period on most days during our stay which is fine if you are going to spend the full day at the beach but was inconvenient if not. Also more shade on the bar terrace, particularly for breakfast would be welcome. Probably less of an issue earlier in the year as the sun will be higher but in September there were only 4 tables in the shade without rearranging the furniture or putting umbrellas up

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    37
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel with magnificent view and friendly stuff. We had a great time over there. Very relaxed. The rooms are comfortable with fridge and aircondition. and a big balcony. We took our breakfast in the bar area with a beautiful view. This place was like heaven! We will return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton of Campsie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Porto Loutro Hotel on the hill is an almost perfect hotel in a perfect location.
Rooms are large, bathrooms and showers are good and the top floor balcony is wonderfull.
One of the plusses for this hotel are the 2 girls who serve breakfast, serve drinks all day, clean the rooms, etc, etc. A real asset to the hotel.
Breakfast are good especially the OJ and coffee.
Now the problem I have, not with the hotel but with Loutro itself. It is all so fake. It is as though everything was dropped in place in April and will be removed in October. Not a great problem but to me it is not a real Greek village, though most people obviously disagree with me, including my wife.
We did really enjoy ourselves and the restaurants are many and all serve the same food.

Room Tip: Walk over the hill to Phenix for a quiet beach and good bar then get the boat back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alanhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled to many beautiful places, but Loutro is the best place yet. I have stayed at the porto loutro hotel many times and it always feels like your coming home to friends. Alison the owner is lovely and all her staff will do anything for you. The breakfast is upstairs in the bar area with a magnificent panoramic view of the bay where you can watch the little boats come and go and take in the breathtaking scenery. The breakfast is freshly squeezed chilled sweet orange juice. Tea or filter coffee. Two different sorts of bread toasted, croissants and a moist piece of cake served with butter and various different jams/ honey. The rooms are very clean with air conditioning at no extra cost. In the room is a fridge for your beer/wine. Alison now provides beach towels and there are hairdryers in the room. Which helps you with your luggage allowance. Almost every room has a balcony with a beautiful sea view. Some rooms have cooking facilities (breakfast is not included in these rooms but can be paid for). You can purchase wifi at the hotel and this works very well. In loutro there are no roads so to get around you can walk the many beautiful walks usually finding a taverna on your travels in the middle of nowhere. Or you can get one of the boats that comes in at 11 to take you to the remote beaches. The sea around loutro is a beautiful turquoise colour and the sea is clear. There are underground springs in the sea. Because of the underground springs it is safe to drink the tap water saving you a fortune on bottled water. There are many tavernas in loutro serving local produce and some will give you jugs of tap water. This year again I was fortunate to see the turtle swimming around the bay. If you want to go to paradise off the beaten track then the porto loutro hotel is where you should stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed twice at Porto Loutro two on the hill. This time for two weeks. The hotel is good value and very relaxed. Sophie, Manoli and the staff are great hosts. The rooms are comfortable with all that you need, including air con and a fridge. The food is also of a high standard and good value. I particularly recommend the salads. Loutro itself is a haven of relaxation with several beautiful beaches near by and good walking in the hills and the Aradenna gorge.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having spent some days at the Hotel Porto Loutro I feel like telling a big secret by revealing this beautiful place, but I want to give somebody else a chance to visit it. It is situated by the Southcoast of Crete and you will have to go to the city of Chora Sfakian by car or by buss, crossing the Island.(this is some experience by itself!).After that you must take the boat to Loutro, several departures in the summertime, and in less than half an hour you will see this charming,small village of white houses by crystalclear water along a small stonebeach.
We had a very nice room with a large veranda and a beutifull view over the sea.Everything was top with the room, good madresses,good aircondition and a modern, well equipped bathroom.
The service was excellent and helpfull. Breakfast was delicious with toasted bread,croissants and cake, new pressed orangejuice and a good choice of belongings.Furthermore it was quiet at nights and the prices were really moderate.I sure want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalodberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent a few days in the beautiful little village of Loutro, unfortunately we have not stumbled upon the right hotel. Located on the beach front prices are too high for a very poor quality. When the boss of this place, horrible rude and hateful woman. We are witnessing everyday racism, I am ashamed to be English and have kneaded compatriots stupidity grime. Here we like or families or children. Last time at this hotel but certainly not in this charming village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutro
0.1 mi away
Daskalogiannis Hotel
Daskalogiannis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Loutro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 1 in Agia Roumeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
32.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro on the Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Loutro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Loutro

Property: Hotel Porto Loutro
Address: Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 730 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Porto Loutro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Loutro Hotel
Porto Loutro Crete
Hotel Porto Loutro Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing