We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Porto Loutro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Porto Loutro
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Lourto Hotel (on the hill) for 3 nights. Our room No 1 had a balcony with a side view of the sea and was a good simple hotel in a fantastic location. There were obviously a lot of people who return each year which can make it feel a bit like a club that you are not part of, but on the whole everyone was really friendly and it's a fantasic place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Second visit to the hotel on the hill and we enjoyed it just as much. Loutro is a perfect place to relax - small village,no traffic, clear blue sea, pleasant bars and restaurants. The hotel has comfortable, ensuite rooms with balconies overlooking the stunning bay. Sofia and other staff are delightful -really helpful, friendly and pleasant. It's not surprising that so many people go back every year. Sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine watching the ferry come and go is a great way of forgetting the real world! We will be back next year, can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottishviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A good Cretan friend recommended the tiny resort of Loutro in Southern Crete and the Hotel Porto Loutro specifically when I asked for advice on a great beach destination in Chania. The advice was perfect.
The resort village of Loutro, accessible only by sea or over a demanding hiking trail, is tucked into a small and very protected bay just West of Hora Sfakion. The village is made up of two or three rows of buildings streching from one end of the cove to the other.
The Hotel Porto Loutro II is perched on the southern side of the cove and from most of the rooms guests enjoy fantastic views from their balconies. The room was perfectly clean, very well equipped and had a fantastic bathroom. Service was always polite and friendly.
Sophia was the perfect host. Friendly, attentive and incredibly hospitable. She provided great advice on what do to, where to go and what to eat.
The Hotel Porto Loutro II is the perfect base to use from which to enjoy not only the resort of Loutro but also to set off on excursions either by taxi-boat or even canoe to neighbouring beaches. Dont miss Marmara beach and Chrysostomos' excellent "Marmara Taverna" as well as "Sweet Water Bay" with its "Mermaid Island Taverna" and solar powered beach showers and surreal tame goats which beg for snacks from the beach goers.
We have promised to go back and cannot wait.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caveman_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from a lovely trip to Greece and a great stay at the Hotel Porto Loutro on the hill. What a gem! Not only is the place lovely -- set up on the hill overlooking a beautiful bay, with an inviting covered deck where you can dream the hours away -- but the staff is so welcoming. We were already planning on staying at the Hotel Porto Loutro for one night, but after a bad experience in Chora Sfakion decided to try our luck by going a day earlier to Loutro. The man at the desk (unfortunately I did not catch his name) was immediately friendly and open, which was the opposite of our experience in Chora (do NOT stay at the Hotel Sfakion, the owner is rude and brash). They actually did not have any of their regular rooms open but they offered us to stay in a room they generally do not rent, since it lacks a view. The room was clean and perfectly adequate, and with the deck we did not miss having a private balcony for a night. The next day we switched to our regular room with a balcony, which was great. The hotel is set on one side of the bay, so it is quiet and tranquil (most of Loutro is, but it was nice to be a bit out of the fray). Loutro was a highlight of our trip and I cant speak highly enough about Sophia and the others who work at Hotel Porto Loutro.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 'on the hill'. A great one week stay which exceeded expectations. Clean rooms with plenty of towel and sheet changes: a very effective air conditioner though we did not make use of it much. Sophia with fluent English was an attentive hostess and great at sorting taxis to and from airport at discounted rates. For the prices charged a great deal. I have had to add review of pool and fitness centre but there are none.

Room Tip: 'On the Hill' is off the beach up some steps, not good if you have mobility problems or wnat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This must have been our 6th or 7th stay here. It is one of our favourite holiday places.

As ever, no problem booking ... direct by email with phone call to check all o.k. We have got to the point we like a particular room in Porto Loutro I, upstairs at the end of the hotel with a wall that has a large rock sticking out.

This year we arrived to find our choice room already occupied but ... no problem .. first night in another excellent room and then move next day.

When our room had an air-conditioner fault that was fixed with little fuss.

Alison, the owner, was as welcoming as ever, organised our taxi from the airport at Chania to Choro Sfakia and our flight delay out that meant we missed the last ferry was no problem, our taxi driver had phoned ahead and a small boat was on standby for us and others in the same situation. All staff made us feel very much at home and breakfast was as relaxing as previous years. Freshly squeezed orange juice is now our weekend treat at home, from oranges, not bought ready squeezed.

Relaxing on our own balcony, this year with Kindles instead of paperbacks, the week flew past.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaydee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

...After returning from trip number 4, I can still say with the greatest of confidence we will be back again next year. Alison and Sofia are the perfect hostesses. I've been to Loutro as a solo traveller and with my partner and can highly recommend both. If you're after adventures involving clubs and raves look elsewhere but if you're looking for adventures (or total relaxation) in a secluded village surrounded by breathtaking mountains, turqouise coloured water, scumptious restaurants and lovely people then look no further. I wait and daydream all year round till the next time I can be perched up in Hotel Porto Loutros bar after a day of exploring, sipping on a glass of bubbly, taking in Loutros splenour!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikkiDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutro
0.1 mi away
Daskalogiannis Hotel
Daskalogiannis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Loutro
51 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Stratos Villas
Stratos Villas
#1 of 1 in Melidoni
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro on the Hill
0.7 mi away
Taverna Akrogiali
Taverna Akrogiali
#3 of 8 in Loutro
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Loutro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Loutro

Address: Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 730 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Price Range: $62 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Porto Loutro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Loutro Hotel
Porto Loutro Crete
Hotel Porto Loutro Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing