We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop your research: Book Hotel Porto Loutro on the hill now”
Review of Hotel Porto Loutro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Porto Loutro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stop your research: Book Hotel Porto Loutro on the hill now”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from a lovely trip to Greece and a great stay at the Hotel Porto Loutro on the hill. What a gem! Not only is the place lovely -- set up on the hill overlooking a beautiful bay, with an inviting covered deck where you can dream the hours away -- but the staff is so welcoming. We were already planning on staying at the Hotel Porto Loutro for one night, but after a bad experience in Chora Sfakion decided to try our luck by going a day earlier to Loutro. The man at the desk (unfortunately I did not catch his name) was immediately friendly and open, which was the opposite of our experience in Chora (do NOT stay at the Hotel Sfakion, the owner is rude and brash). They actually did not have any of their regular rooms open but they offered us to stay in a room they generally do not rent, since it lacks a view. The room was clean and perfectly adequate, and with the deck we did not miss having a private balcony for a night. The next day we switched to our regular room with a balcony, which was great. The hotel is set on one side of the bay, so it is quiet and tranquil (most of Loutro is, but it was nice to be a bit out of the fray). Loutro was a highlight of our trip and I cant speak highly enough about Sophia and the others who work at Hotel Porto Loutro.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    37
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 'on the hill'. A great one week stay which exceeded expectations. Clean rooms with plenty of towel and sheet changes: a very effective air conditioner though we did not make use of it much. Sophia with fluent English was an attentive hostess and great at sorting taxis to and from airport at discounted rates. For the prices charged a great deal. I have had to add review of pool and fitness centre but there are none.

Room Tip: 'On the Hill' is off the beach up some steps, not good if you have mobility problems or wnat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Symbister, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This must have been our 6th or 7th stay here. It is one of our favourite holiday places.

As ever, no problem booking ... direct by email with phone call to check all o.k. We have got to the point we like a particular room in Porto Loutro I, upstairs at the end of the hotel with a wall that has a large rock sticking out.

This year we arrived to find our choice room already occupied but ... no problem .. first night in another excellent room and then move next day.

When our room had an air-conditioner fault that was fixed with little fuss.

Alison, the owner, was as welcoming as ever, organised our taxi from the airport at Chania to Choro Sfakia and our flight delay out that meant we missed the last ferry was no problem, our taxi driver had phoned ahead and a small boat was on standby for us and others in the same situation. All staff made us feel very much at home and breakfast was as relaxing as previous years. Freshly squeezed orange juice is now our weekend treat at home, from oranges, not bought ready squeezed.

Relaxing on our own balcony, this year with Kindles instead of paperbacks, the week flew past.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaydee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

...After returning from trip number 4, I can still say with the greatest of confidence we will be back again next year. Alison and Sofia are the perfect hostesses. I've been to Loutro as a solo traveller and with my partner and can highly recommend both. If you're after adventures involving clubs and raves look elsewhere but if you're looking for adventures (or total relaxation) in a secluded village surrounded by breathtaking mountains, turqouise coloured water, scumptious restaurants and lovely people then look no further. I wait and daydream all year round till the next time I can be perched up in Hotel Porto Loutros bar after a day of exploring, sipping on a glass of bubbly, taking in Loutros splenour!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It had been 10 years since we last set foot in Loutro, so we decided to take our girls (aged 9 and 10) to our favourite Cretan village. The fact that it can only be accessed by boat makes it even more appealing, and there's little room for diggers and any expansion. We were thrilled to see that Loutro had hardly changed in the last 10 years - even down to the checked tablecloths at the little tavernas round the harbour.
A day trip turned into an overnight stay once we had seen the lovely room that Alison (the owner) showed us right on the beach. The room is simply decorated in blue and white and immaculately presented. A table and chairs outside to watch the sunset completed the dream hotel.
When our youngest came out of the sea with a jellyfish sting ( jellyfish are very rare here) Alison jumped to the rescue, smearing bicarbonate of soda paste all over the stings. Within 20 minutes Bella was back in the water again and we were able to relax and enjoy our complimentary glass of Cava that Alison brought out to us.
An amazing trip and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

new showers wow and they are the trendy type that have lots of spray heads and also tv in the rooms too. Am sitting on the terrace writing this its been another lovely holiday. Great place and have rebooked for next year already

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blarblarblar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Loutro is a place where you can really disconnect and relax. And the hotel fits the place perfectly.The hotel is on the beach and you can hear the waves in the night if you have your window open. The lady taking care of the hotel, Alison was very helpful and nice.
The best part of the day was when we were having breakfast (which was very natural and tasty) and you could enjoy the piano music and just read a book or look at the sea. Just beautiful !

The rooms are big enough and have everything you need in a place like this. The price is very good for this conditions and for sure I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simona_Ciocinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutro
0.1 mi away
Daskalogiannis Hotel
Daskalogiannis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Loutro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 1 in Agia Roumeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
32.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro on the Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Loutro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Loutro

Property: Hotel Porto Loutro
Address: Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 730 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Porto Loutro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Loutro Hotel
Porto Loutro Crete
Hotel Porto Loutro Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing