We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Place”
Review of Hotel Porto Loutro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Porto Loutro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dream Place”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

You know one of these places that you are just asked to relax, watching, listening and smelling the sea. You have all of that in Hotel Porto Loutro. Great place , friendly people, very open and not worried about anything (thanks Alison), wonderful view and fantastic sea. Try the canooing to Marmara for example where you find a really nice beach and a restaurant with great food and hospitality. Will come back sometime.

Room Tip: Definitely the Hotel Porto Loutro I if you are a fan of the sea. You are one step from the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siquenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    37
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

You know when you find somewhere really special and you want to tell everyone but do you really want to let the secret out? Well, Loutro is one of those special places...only accessible by boat and a world away from all the hustle and bustle of a busy lifestyle. The Hotel Porto Loutro is delightful, if a little eccentric. It's simply furnished, very comfortable and relaxed a bit like a favourite sofa. We had a small balcony with a lovely view of the harbour. There are lots of lovely walks, good beaches and crystal clear sea. We stayed for 3 nights but wished we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tykehikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Very nice hotel in a perfect location - just missing that Greek friendliness of the other hotels we stayed at in Greece. We loved Loutro but I would look for a different place to sleep. Very cheap on breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern_Travelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have been a frequent guest at Hotel Porto Loutro for years and can't seem to get enough. Situated in the picturesque village of Loutro, Every stay at this quaint family-run hotel is an absolute pleasure and fantastic get-away. The staff is extremely welcoming and the owner Alison takes the time to make you feel comfortable and completely at home. Drinks in the bar from 4 onwards is a real must during my Loutro stay - the view is amazing and the company even better. Over my years, people I have met at the hotel have always been an interesting mix and some have remained firm friends.
Although only breakfast is available at the hotel (which is great by the way - fresh thick Greek yoghurt with honey/fruit or cheese and ham toasties - YUM), there are more than enough fantastic restaurants only a few minutes in each direction. Afterwards, stroll back to the rooftop bar for a nightcap before you head to your room, leaving the balcony door open to let the waves lull you to sleep.
All in all, Loutro is a lovely place to visit and perfect to de-stress, but staying at hotel Porto Loutro is an absolute must to really ensure you get the full Loutro experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea-views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vgwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at this property for 5 nights in July after descending the Samaria Gorge (highly recommended). Initially we had planned to stay only for two nights, but given the great location we decided to extend our stay. We actually stayed at Hotel Porto Loutro II (sister property of I) which is located above the ferry dock, at the beginning of the village. It's high up on the mountain side requiring the climbing of a few easy steps. The location is excellent - overseeing the bay and quiet, not next to any bars or taverns. The taverns and bars of porto loutro are only a few minutes away.

The manager Sophia was extremely helpful in giving us tips about restaurants, how to access the nearby beaches, etc. Note that the village does not have any cars or car access - accessible only by trails or by boat. The two nearby popular beaches (Marmara and Sweet Water / Glyka Nera) are easily accessible by a taxi boat that departs around 10am and returns in the afternoon. Both of these beaches are also accessible on foot, on the very picturesque E4 trail - both are approx. 45 minutes away - light hiking shoes recommended. The swimming is also great right in front of the hotel and next to the ferry dock - the access is just a bit rocky but the water is super clean and refreshing, with excellent visibility.

The hotel is in excellent condition and the staff extremely friendly. Breakfast was super tasty with many options available to upgrade. The rooms are simple, practical, and clean, with a refrigerator and AC. We stayed in a room higher up in the property which had a large balcony making it a great relaxing location.

The property also offers PCs with internet access, as well as wifi (at a small fee).

The only area that could see some minor improvements is the bathroom/plumbing.

Overall we had an amazing stay at Hotel Porto Loutro II and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the highest level in a room with a large balcony/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have been to the Hotel Porto Loutro every year for the last 11 years (except for one little year) and sometimes twice in the same year. That probably tells you that we absolutely love it. We have been in April, in May, in June, July, August and September and it is gorgeous at all times, although now we're not restricted by school holidays, we prefer it in September, when the climate is perfect.

Loutro is a very special place, probably because you can only reach it by boat, but it has its own sophistication and buzz. And of course is completely stunning. There are great restaurants, the sea is clear, blue and warm - paradise really.

Alison runs the hotel brilliantly, We have recommended many friends to stay with her and none have ever been disappointed.

Can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broadwayVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have been to Crete 5 times and this was our first visit to Porto Loutro - definintely the best hotel we have stayed at in Crete. We stayed at Porto Loutro2 (On the hill) and Sophie and her team were so welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable hotel. Gorgeous views over the bay - every room has a balcony and sea view. It was lovely to sit on the terrace morning and evening listening to the peaceful relaxing music looking at the bay below. We will definitely return should we go back to Loutro which we hope to do!!.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutro
0.1 mi away
Daskalogiannis Hotel
Daskalogiannis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Loutro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 1 in Agia Roumeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
32.1 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro on the Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Loutro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Loutro

Property: Hotel Porto Loutro
Address: Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 730 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loutro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Porto Loutro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Loutro Hotel
Porto Loutro Crete
Hotel Porto Loutro Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing