We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms being mis sold”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loutro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sifis Hotel & Cafe Bistro
Ranked #1 of 8 Loutro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rooms being mis sold”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a spacious double room with sea view free wi-fi and air conditioning (hotels description not mine)

We got what would have been a small but adequate double had it not been for an extra bed making the room a tiny family room
We had no hot water during are 4 day stay except for the one day the owner turned on the water heater
We had no air conditioning, We had to ask for the remote to operate the air conditioning which was begrudgingly handed over but then did not work anyway.
We had no Wi-fi (which was supposed to be available through out the hotel) at any time any where during are stay
We had no facility to be able to make ourselves a cup of tea or coffee in the morning.

Rooms can be quite noisy into the early hours from the bar below the rooms, shower rooms are dated and poorly constructed though clean linen and towels are provided daily.
The owners description of her hotel and facilities seem to come with a good amount of artistic licence and she has at best a lackadaisical approach to her guests well being has standards that were common place in Greece 30 years ago and for many part of its charm, but in 2013 is no longer acceptable not for me in any case

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
65
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford Cheshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights, small family hotel, very hospitable, greeted by my name. Room was on the small side, to be fair I was travelling alone. As with most Loutro accommodation the room had a fabulous view, the downside a little noisy at night. Bathroom a little dated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sifis is a decent place, simpel and clean. The interior is of the older kind but the view from the balcony compensates. Your located at one end of town and see the whole town/bay.

The hosts and staff are very friendly and helpful. The terrace is very nice, a good place to eat, drink or just hang out and enjoy the view and look over the bay, see the ferry arive etc. Their food is a bit more bistro style with sandwiches etc, which can be a nice timeout from your regular tradinional greek dishes.

The only minus we experienced is that the place is not too convenient for small kids. we har our 8 months old daughter with us and the old furniture/doors were noisy and woke her up a lot. The baby cod they provided was old and not really clean and they don't have a chair for kids at the restaurant. Sifis can also attract guest later in the evening which can give some noise. We experienced though only only one late night (3am) in 6 nights.

Well, Loutro is fantastic, period. So you don't really bother with the details so much. So overall we had an awesome stay.

Room Tip: 3 of their rooms share one huge balcony, we liked the space there. The balconies of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
140 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were a group of four, comprising my friend and me in one room whilst my son and his wife had another room. The location of the hotel is excellent, set immediately next to the clear waters of the bay and just steps away from where the ferry pulls in three times each day. One of the reasons for our holiday was to have a quiet, relaxing break, where we could unwind, away from the stresses of home life and work. Waking up to the sound of silence, along with the breathtaking view of the water gently lapping against the decking of the cafe each morning, ensured that we got exactly that. We could sit on our terrace, morning or evening, with a cup of coffee (as well as the occasional slice of Christina’s cake!) and enjoy the view and stillness of the place without a care in the world.

After making the initial booking, I subsequently became slightly apprehensive when a particularly negative review appeared on Trip Advisor just days before we were due to stay. However, I needn’t have worried. Whilst the accommodation is fairly basic, we found the rooms were small but clean, the beds were adequate in terms of comfort, the sheets were clean, the towels were changed regularly and there was sufficient hot water. I would say that the accommodation is traditional and quite typical of its type and, although there are a number of stairs to climb to the top floor, which is where we were situated, the abundance of flowers and pot plants on the steps, as well as the view from the rooms, made the climb worthwhile. The hotel is not pretentious, rather it oozes character and comes with a quirkiness and charm all of its own. If you want the niceties, luxury and chic feel that come with the ubiquitous chain owned beach hotels that all follow the same repetitive formula, then Sifis is not the place for you. However, if you are happy with a basic budget hotel, in an interesting, individual way rather than a bad way, and appreciate a great location with a laid back feel, Sifis comes highly recommended. Anything it lacks in terms of comfort is more than compensated for by its priceless location, relaxed ambience and friendly attitude of Christina and her staff who are extremely welcoming and hospitable and who do their utmost to make your stay an enjoyable one.

In summary, I would say that most of the time, I think you get what you pay for and, considering the reasonable cost of the rooms at Sifis, I thought this place offered excellent value for money and a great location. Whilst Loutro is the perfect placed to chill out from the rat race that many of us face at home, Sifis is truly delightful and we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After spending two nights in Chania recovering from jet lag, we were ready for the R&R of Loutro. Sifis Hotel was perfect! It is the closest hotel to the boat dock which has its pros and cons. I was thrilled since I was the one with the largest and heaviest suitcases and would have been so embarrassed to drag it all through the small walkways to any other hotel! Christina was the perfect hostess and immediately sent two young men to assist my husband and I with the luggage all the way to the top floor, corner room. I'm not sure of the room number now, but it was the corner room with two windows for a cross breeze. Pure Heaven!! The room was clean and had all of the essentials to make our stay comfortable. Christina and the staff were so very helpful and kind, even when the unexpected thunderstorm moved in! The lobby at Sifis is as charming as it gets and the food is very good. Would definitely stay again, God willing!

Room Tip: Get the top corner room. The view and breeze are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been to Sifis on a number of occasions (always asking for Room 10) Yes I agree the bedding & towels could be better and the bathrooms aren't luxurious, by any stretch of the imagination, but the whole atmosphere of Loutro is amazing and we have viewed other rooms in the village and they haven't been any different. Christina & her staff are very polite & kind & we have never had any prolems in that direction. Holidays are what you make them and although I often have a little moan when we arrive and find the same old towels we soon make the room our own and enjoy the lovely surroundings of Loutro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svaneke, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Why this ? Because I would like that Sifis Hotel and Christina still will be there next time We intend to go relaxed from daily living up-North.
Lovely Hotel with the needed facilities for staying in good weather conditions. Not too big but situated so nicely at the end of the waterfront.
Homemade cakes and excellent coffe, but still the most worthfull for us was the discrete and lovely atmospfere brought by the owner and staff.
If You need logistic helps (whichare important) be sure that Christina will be on the spot for You.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlausB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutro
0.0 mi away
Daskalogiannis Hotel
Daskalogiannis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Loutro
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro
Hotel Porto Loutro
#1 of 2 in Loutro
189 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taverna Akrogiali
Taverna Akrogiali
#2 of 8 in Loutro
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro on the Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifis Hotel & Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifis Hotel & Cafe Bistro

Property: Sifis Hotel & Cafe Bistro
Address: Loutro Sfakion Chania Crete, Loutro, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Loutro
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sifis Hotel has been renovated into small complex of 10 spacious rooms, just above the sea………All are front rooms with panoramic view of the bay. The rooms are designed to be airy & light, equipped with all required necessities, including refrigerator, safe deposit box and of course private balcony. All rooms have air conditioning, providing cooling for the hot summer months and heating for the cooler early spring and late autumn months The decor is purity and quality itself…and most importantly, quality at a modest prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sifis Hotel & Cafe Bistro Loutro, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing