We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magiclife yet again another magic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Houmt Souk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magiclife yet again another magic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the 4th magiclife I have been too, and yet again fantastic . We flew out on 2nd of October for two weeks anything less leaves you,wishing not to go home! The check in was very quick flight on time arrived at djerba early was directed to coach no luggage helpers pestering for bags ( like on mainland ) we were given your Visa cards to fill in on coach by rep casey very helpful young man and yes he does look like Chris Evans . There were two coach loads all going to magic life 100 guests which was a surprise as when we have been before to magiclife only usually a handful of Brits , when we arrived we were ushered to main lobby area and given cold fruit drink and exchanged cards for hotel keys no long wait the staff took bags to room we were in main building room 1160 second floor room was cleaned spotlessly every day and always clean towels and of course towels made to look like swans etc and flowers on bed as usual in tunisia minibar was topped up with water daily large bottles ,soft drinks in fridge on arrival but you only had to ask bar staff and they would give you litres bottles of soft drinks for your room I was also told by other holiday makers that they would give you bottles of wine too! If you asked . The staff were always friendly and polite , pool areas spotless plenty of sun beds , beach white sands plenty of beds. Raked over everyday sea not too deep you could go out quite far and still touch the bottom beach bar that also did snacks . Toilets close to beach too . There was an around the world snack bar where you can get a wide range of snacks pizza chicken fish and chips was always busy or you can go to main resturant for lunch the choice is yours.there was themed nights in resturant a different one every night for two weeks. The food was excellent lots Of choice even for me a non fish eater I never had a problem finding something to eat. The a la carte resturants were ok the best one was the Bala Mediterranean the food was excellent there the Tunisian and Thai was ok but menu limited. Entertainment was also good staff work very hard to make holiday enjoyable the shows in amphitheatre were also entertaining the Tunisian singing and dancing one was particularly good, went on just djerba trip museum was very interesting . There were a lot of children here ( more than I thought being school time ) if you don't like kids and are planning a quite couples holiday this is not for you ,the nationality mix here was good French German and British no Russians (thankfully) Weather beautiful 30s + everyday what can I say.? If you are looking for a reasonably priced holiday all inclusive ,with very clean facilities ,good food, excellent entertainment .great weather clean beaches,water sports free, nice friendly staff, No Russians you can't do better than this ,I would definitely go back again.

I have also holidayed at the magiclife Africana in hammamet/ Yasmine
Magiclife sharm el sheik
Magiclife imperial seven seas (side turkey)

Room Tip: Choose main block not to far from everywhere , not ground floor near lobby as it would be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catrinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    221
    69
    26
    14
See reviews for
399
292
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
New Romney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just had a weeks holiday in the Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial in Djerba and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were always spotless, being cleaned everyday and the entertainment during the day and in the evenings was very good. Anything you could really want for a holiday was at readily available and trips outside the complex were available at extra cost. We visited a local street market and that was the only time we ventured out. If you don't enjoy a holiday here then I don't really know what you are looking for. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were away from the main building and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APDUELL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being used to staying at Hilton hotels, on arrival, we were pleasantly suprised with the hotel, reception, friendly staff, and quick check in. No wristbands ! Our room was clean, modern and comfy. The complex itself is spotlessly clean, well tended gardens, 3 fantastic pools, aqua park for the kids, and even an indoor pool. The animation team are second to none, entertaining the kids from 8am to 8pm. The little ones have even got their own restaurant, where they chose their own food and ate with the other kids, so mums and dads can dine in peace. Evening entertainment was different every night, great comedy shows too. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Daily water aerobics, zumba and other really funny games etc. By far, the best feature is the fabulous food. Such a vast array, with a different theme, country etc every evening, and all cooked fresh in front of you. This is the best food we have ever experienced in an all inclusive holiday. The alcoholic bevs were top class also, no watered down stuff, and the wine was spot on. Ice creams and snacks on offer all day. 4pm every afternoon, a selection of pastries, crepes, and speciality teas and coffees to die for. The private beach is paradise. Fine white sand, all the way into crystal clear and clean water. When standing up to your neck in it, you can still see your feet and the sand beneath. Fantastic beach bar, with toasties, hot dogs and chilled drinks on tap. Beach cleaned and raked on a daily basis. Lots of water sports on offer, at a cost, but reasonable prices. Exceptionally well looked after horses and camels for rides, but no pressure. The odd lookie, lookie man, but not allowed on to the private part of the beach, so no bugging. We went for 7 days, Oct 9th to 16th, and was very sad to leave, wish we had booked 2 weeks. It was mid 30's everyday, and there was no shortage or struggle to get beds by the pools or the beach. Other guests were mainly very polite Germans and french, but no rowdy families, and no russians. This is a great family hotel, so much for the kids to do, crafts, face painting, pottery etc. Myself and my husband are mid fifties, but we found it to be a very peaceful, relaxing holiday, and came back totaly recharged. When you leave, one member of every staff dept comes out to wave you off with a white hankie ! ahhh, sweet. The Thompson rep, Casey, was also very professional and informative. Just 30 min transfer time, and what a dream Djerba airport is, so fast, efficient, clean, cool and spacious. Djerba is a magic place, and magic life penelope beach imperial is a magic holiday !

Room Tip: They are all good, including bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just got back today, went with my hubby not knowing what to expect.Had a fantastic holiday, Hotel is lovely and clean, lots of great entertainment, plenty of food varieties, all staff very friendly,weather was perfect, will definitely be going back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linmumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

we don't normally go to the same place twice but were looking for a last minute holiday where we could relax.having been there before we knew that you can do as much or as little as you wanted. the hotel is lovely food is good and the service excellent. the pools are very clean as is the beach and always sunbeds available. for end of September/beginning October weather very hot. rain for a couple of hours on one evening only. entertainment staff very friendly.lots of games and activities if you want to join.only negative was Thomson rep casey who was not proactive. the most we saw of him, was drinking with one set of guests in the bar in the evening. he wasn't there at times stated

Room Tip: upgrade worthwhile.loads more room and 2 bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I went with my partner, when we got there we was greeted by our host. Wesley, he was brilliant, very informative. The food was lovely especially the lunches and dinners. Due to the country there wasn't any pig products which wasn't a problem but would have been nice. During our stay we also tried the al a carte restaurant, we loved learning about the culture and trying custom foods. In the hotel it does state that trousers should be worn not shorts! Each meal we was given an unopened bottle of water also when sunbathing it was easy enough to grab a new bottle. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious, the cleaners also put our towels into swans and doplhin shapes which was nice. In the evening the entertainment was good. Each night was something different. I went to the spa, a bit basic and didn't really have much choice in nail treatments but was good none the less. Overall we had a good time at the resort. Wouldn't recommend going outside the resort. There were plenty of sun loungers and the beach is very close. Lovely

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

yet again having promised ourselves that we would never return to the same place twice , this hotel has a magnetic draw to it , and we were not disappointed. Just 3 hours from the uk to the hotel , we were met with drinks to cool us down , uk temp 17 djerba temp 29,our week started straight away , with smiles and welcome from the bar manager ,who remembered me ,cant think why !!!! We had an upper suite with 2 bathrooms , no arguments for the sink, straight down to the beach ,sea very warm , beach was clean ,with beach bar and food , comfortable beds with parasols, for those that don't like the beach there are ample pools around with slides for the kids . and adults , or were the adults the kids that day !! very relaxed dress code without being to casual, and great food all week , No complaints ,this hotel is great for families and couples , with the opportunity to get out to see all the sights , we will be back i9n September ,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houmt Souk
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.5 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
1.3 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
0.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#6 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach

Property: TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
Address: Zone Touristique B.P. 257, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia (Formerly Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial)
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Spa Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Houmt Souk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial Hotel Houmt Souk
Magic Life Hotel Djerba
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing