We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really made to feel 'at home'.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Zina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houmt Souk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Zina
Ranked #1 of 10 Houmt Souk B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really made to feel 'at home'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Dar Zina is a beautiful home with 4 delightfully decorated rooms of a gorgeous white-washed courtyard. The hostess and her family are very welcoming. The home-cooking each morning is delicious with plenty of variety. The atmosphere is relaxed, but the hosts are very happy to talk about Tunisia, it's culture, it's history, and even take you around the town, pointing out the architecture and traditions. The hostess helpfully speaks numerous languages.
We would definately go back!

Can be difficult to find initially. We would recommend arranging with the hosts to be collected from airport/bus terminus, as only a few taxi drivers know where Dar Zina is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
271 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The first thing to say is that of your idea of holiday heaven is sitting on the beach at Djerba's tourist zone, lathered in oil and cooking like a lobster , then Hamt Souk and Dar Zina probably aren’t for you. If however you want to experience life in a nice little Tunisian seaside town, in a restored traditional home, then look no further.

Dar Zina is situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town but isn’t easy to find. Make sure you get directions from Eric, the Belgian owner. We got to within 100 yards of the house with the directions he sent us but we then had to call him to come and find us. Some signs on the road would be useful to help with navigation.

You enter the house up a dusty backstreet.surrounded by locals houses and through a large wooden door. This takes you into the kitchen and then through to the peaceful, whitewashed courtyard which is where the 3 rooms are. All are traditionally and simply decorated with large wood framed beds and shuttered windows with good insect screens. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was hot and had good water pressure. Theres a nice roof terrace with a fruit tree providing shade to sit and relax at the end of a hot day. I can’t remember whether our room had A\C but we didn’t need it and we stayed in June when the daytime temperatures were in the high 30’s.

You really feel like you’re staying in a real Tunisian home staying at Dar Zina, and that’s because you are! Eric and his Tunisian partner Hamina made us welcome like old friends. They spent time advising us where to go and what to see, which roads to take etc. They also provided a delicious home made breakfast which they sat and ate with us each day. Expect to be joined by other members of their family - 2 dogs, a cat and a tortoise!

Eric and Hamina offered to cook dinner for us on an evening but we prefer to experience the local nightlife so went into Hamt Souk town. We found a nice restaurant near the Souk called L’isle and I can recommend the food, and wine!

In summary, if you want to visit Djerba but stay away from the tourist zone and stay in a comfortable,clean, traditional house then Dar Zina is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darzina, Propriétaire at Dar Zina, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
thanks a lot for your comment on our house. Unfortunately it is not allowed to have sign on the road for a B&B but we will make it as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very nice house, quiet, well decorated, furnished with care and taste.
Warm and friendly hosts, very available and full of knowledge & good tips about the Tunisian experience.
More than anything, the food was the best in all Tunisia : delicate spicies, full of taste and character, a discovery of very different meals (the way Halima is preparing the tajine is superb).
If coming back to Tunisia, this will .be the first place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACandSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darzina, Propriétaire at Dar Zina, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Sven,
Thanks a lot for this article on our house
Best regards

Eric & Halima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houmt Souk
1.1 mi away
Villa Azur
Villa Azur
#55 of 108 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
#1 of 1 in Mezraia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
TUI Magic Life Penelope Beach
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Quatre Saisons
Hotel Les Quatre Saisons
#53 of 108 in Djerba Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zina

Property: Dar Zina
Address: Quartier Taourit | Taourit, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Houmt Souk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast in Djerba in a typical house (riad) near of the city center and 500m far from the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Zina Djerba Island, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing