We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varvara Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Damia Hotel(Sidari)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Katsaros(Sidari)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
14
6
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
6
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was on Corfu in August 2012. I booked another accomodation (Marianna appartments -> next door to Varvara). Marianna accomodation was terrible so we were trying to find another place to stay for 5 nights. Luckily, Varvara had one appartment free.
Varvara people were very nice and friendly.
The 4 people appartment had 2 big bedrooms, big kitchen and beautiful bathroom.
Every room has balcony (my room acctualy had two balconies :) ).
The pool is also very nice. And the greek coffee at the bar is excellent.
We were very happy with this accomodation and I would recommend this to anyone.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Neaa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Went to the Varvara in August 2011 for one week. Lovely location nice and quiet, good sized pool, plenty of sun loungers. Bar served reasonably priced food that was really tasty.
We had a studio for the three of us, which was alright maybe a bit small teenagers take up a lot of room! but we had two balconies.
The owners we really friendly even stopped up till 1.45 to see us off.
Going back in August for two weeks this time in a two bedroom apartment, cait wait.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TelfordPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

When we first arrived we werent greeted at all by any of the apts staff. Our apt was not what i expected. It was very dirty. The kitchen was so basic and we couldnt really cook as everything was dirty. We even had to ask for out towels to be changed even though it said they were changed weekly. On the second last day the cleaner had a go at me after i handed my questionaire to the tour rep and he showed the apt staff. I was giving my opinion of the apts and the cleanliness overall. We will never be using Olympic Holidays again and would not reccomend these apts to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane1988186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

When we first saw our apartment our 1st thought was how basic it was, however it was clean and spacious and had what we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay more enjoyable. Sofia kept our apartment clean as well as changing the bedding and towels.The pool area was spotless and there were plenty of sun beds. Jasmine makes delicious homemade food at a reasonable price and even gave me a cooking lessson on a Greek speciality! It was a 5 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and about 20 minutes to get into Sidari where there is a lovely beach, plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to choose from. You can decide if you want a relaxing day by the pool or trips out. Overall a very enjoyable holiday and we are booking to stay at Varvara again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AngieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

POSITIVES: Decent pool especially for the ratio of guests. Quiet rural location. Family & couple centered apartments. Food in snack bar was good. Friendly staff. Raised balconies. Low level two story building.

NOT SO GOOD: The apartments had a basic rustic feel. Bedrooms and bed furniture were reasonable. However, the kitchen area was past its sell by date. Wore and tired units, with flaking surfaces. The cooker was only just usable, with a life of its own, one minute not working the next too hot. The fridge was a historical study in household appliance development, having been white gloss painted. Kettle which didn't quite boil. Altogether the kitchen resembled something from the 1980s. It was tired and dated. Lacking of other basic facilities such as a toaster. Not enough plates or cups plates. Most looked like an odd collection from a charity shop.
Distance from Sidari town 30 min walk = 1hour return + you might go into town twice a day, etc so the distance can have an impact over the duration of the holiday.

NOT GOOD: The 'comedy' shower was a real joke. This consisted of a piece of plastic piping connected to a mixer tap which left you juggling soap in one hand trying to hold the shower head in the other. Whilst avoiding getting stuck to the shower curtain which hung from what can only be described as an umbrella frame. At the same time as water went everywhere. Corfu is hot in August and you need a reasonable shower. Given the suggested 2.5* rating then it's unacceptable to pass this off as a shower. Again like the kitchen, it was also 1980s in appearance, tired and dated, avacado toilet with white seat!
Air conditioning. The temperature in August was mid 30s (40 on two days) its therefore still hot during the evening. As these apartments do not have the option of air conditioning then it's almost unbearable to try and sleep. It we could have opened the windows to let in some air then it might have been survivable, however as soon as you open the window mosquitoes come into the room. We tried a number of different mosquito sprays, both anti-bite and after bit creams. All with limited effect. They bite and you will itch. As I write this 3 days after coming home I still have 11 red bite marks on one arm alone. In short this meant that we were all lacking a decent nights sleep and were left tired. Towards the end of our stay it became an ordeal rather than a holiday. Its a mistake on our part not to have booked accommodation with AC.
Room cleaning: Although the cleaner came in every three days, it could have been cleaned more often and the sheets were not changed that often at all. Not enough towels for the number of guests. Second week no hand towels. She basically only seemed to mop the room. You didn't have to look very far to find areas that had not been cleaned for months such as under the bed or on top of lampshades.

On balance, I'm sad in some respects to say I would not go there again. I feel that it needs a couple of things to turn it around; this is mainly a revamp of the kitchen area and a proper shower. Air conditioning is also needed. If they could make a few changes and invest some cash in the place then it might be worthwhile returning. Like most people we work hard for our cash and two weeks at this place for us as a family of two adults and 3 teenage children cost thousands. In the end it didn't deliver. There should be a minimum standard in any accommodation such as a decent shower and regrettably this fell below it. My opinion of Olympic holidays with whom we booked this has also gone down.
Lastly, best holiday moment; whilst talking to one of the staff at the hotel, the hotel cat walked past in the background with a giant rat in its mouth. In the best faulty towers timing didn't have time to explain what I'd seen. Although personally I was pleased that it was there doing a good job.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews