We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aug 2012 A nightmare”
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Sofia
Ranked #6 of 13 Katapola B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am writing this at 3.30am because of the disco raging down the street, second night in a row - so much for sleepy Amorgos!! Sleepy in the day perhaps. This just tops off a run of disappointments. I am a 2 star traveller and do not ask for too much, but have had 2 rooms here and disappointed with both.
Downstairs garden room had a shower with a hole in the hob to let the water out or in, I couldn't decide which. Room floods because shower curtain stops 6 inches short of the shower hob. No internet access downstairs. Tiny room ok for one perhaps but not two. Does have a fridge.

Upstairs studio with view purported to be double/twin in Booking.com ended up being twin with view of rear garden and mountain at back and baking in summer sun all day, rather than view of the town and water with a breeze and shade (available for the double bed only). There is nothing to put your suitcases on in the room so it's lift it on and off the bed because there's no floor space either. Again the bathroom floods when you have a shower and the hand held shower is definitely hand held - if you put it in the holder on the wall it shoots straight across at the opposite wall, which happens to be above my head! It is confined with windows and doors, which when open make it impossible to walk uninjured through the room. Internet access upstairs is excellent, though and aircon works well..
And then there's the disco!! Starts late and goes all night!
Sofia and her family are lovely, but there are better places to stay - if you're looking for the beach, do yourself a favour and stay closer to Aegiali - the most beautiful beach - but you'll need a car or bike.

Room Tip: Upstairs room facing the harbour would be best, but the disco noise is bad for all.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pension Sofia A, Manager at Pension Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

First of all I want to make clear that the problem with the music of the disco there was in all the hotels and pensions of the port of katapola.
From our side we tried several times to stop this problem by informing police but the manager of this club had teken permission from the mayor of amorgos.
Secondly Mr Jan didn't tell us anything about the problems he described in the rooms and I want to say that it is the first time that somebody said that our rooms have holes ,flood and that there is nothing to put your suitcases on in the room.These are not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Pension Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

There are two Pension Sofias. The one is just a few minutes up from Katapora port which is a new building, and the another is about a 10 minute walk up the hill. We stayed at the new one for a couple nights, and the view from the big balcony was fantastic. We were quite happy about our room until the end of the stay as it was very difficult to get ahold of the owner when we needed to, and they tried to over-charge us due to the lack of communication. So, it left a bad taste in our mouth. Would we stay there again? Don't know but would think twice about it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babe23795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Great no fuss place in a great location. Get the upstairs 'flat' and you'll have awesome views of the town - which is a 2 minute walk down the hill.

Amorgos is sleepy and relaxed and 'Sofia's' place is too. Go and see it before the rest of the world hears about it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S&M72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank romyrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zioblugm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrypasionaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katapola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
155 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
96 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#2 of 13 in Katapola
116 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lakki Village
Lakki Village
#5 of 8 in Aegiali
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apaggio
Apaggio
#11 of 13 in Katapola
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Address: Katapola 840 08, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Katapola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Katapola
Price Range: $58 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ιn Katapola the central port of Amorgos located the Sofia's House. Away from the hustle and bustle, and yet so close, just 150 meters from the port. The Sofia's House has built carefully by stones, with love and respect to traditional architecture that take us in years past. The Sofia's House has 2 fully equipped apartments with balcony and spectacular sea views. It also has a 100sqm house with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a living room and veranda. The Sofia's House is ideal for large groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Sofia Amorgos/Katapola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing