We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally good value”

Diosmarini's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Katapola
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In Diosmarini's Restaurant you can enjoy Traditional Cuisine of the Cycladic Islands , with pure and biological local products, given in a creative way with care and love, by the sea.You can visit us for Lunch and Dinner, having a nice panoramic view at the port of Katapola. Diosmarini's is found in a naturally protected place by the summer north winds (meltemi) of the Aegean Sea. Enjoy our seafood and our delicious handmade pasta fresca together with our excellent wines. Finish your meal with a pleasant surprise, our fresh homemade sweets and liqueurs!
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good value”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you like good food and greek cuisine and if you are not just a quick bite, here you will find inventive variations on local traditions and quality food, that is (as we were told) whenever possible coming from local grounds and local fishermen. You'll be blown away by their greek wines too (try the Platanon Oros Shyraz, if there's still any left), which add in my opinion to the overall experience.

I read some comments on cats in previous reviews, but if you mind cats, you shouldn't come to Amrogos at all. In fact, the owners themselves explained they had started a local campaign that resulted in sterilization of around 90% of all cats in the Katapola region.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    42
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“aegean flavours with an unusual touch”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Dinner here is a MUST for anyone visiting Amorgos.A warm,tastefully decorated restaurant with exceptionally welcoming hosts!The owners engage in interesting conversations with their clients who leave satisfied and truly impressed by the quality of the food.I have visited this restaurant on several occasions,with friends form different countries who were all equally impressed!The wine is very reasonably priced,the tasty food(I particularly like the succulent grilled chicken)is well presented,the salads (roka/parmesan especially)are huge,and the fresh local ingredients used make all the difference,and make it really worth the wait,if the restaurant is packed.(It usually is in high season!)The best thing about this place is the warm ambiance created by the charming owners,Rania and Yianni ,whose friendly yet professional approach made every visit so special!I'm British but have eaten in countless tavernas on Greek islands,usually surrounded by starving sick cats but not at Diosmarini!It is so rare to see such healthy looking"stray"cats sitting around tables ,which is another plus at this restaurant!It just shows what caring,kind hearted people this couple is,as the left overs obviously dont end up in the waste bins but in the bellies of these content looking creatures!It is so refreshing to see a "live and let live" attitude to cats,which are native to these islands! I'll definitely be back,for more delicious food whilst looking across the bay,in this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lamia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need to sort out the cats, and their attitude!!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited Diosmarini whilst on our honeymoon in the Greek islands by which time we had been there for around 2 weeks. The waiter was friendly and our food started coming quickly after we ordered. We started with a Dakos salad which was great.

The problem came when our plate of small fried fish arrived. We were immediately surrounded by around 10 cats which were fighting with each other for the best position. Shortly after our other 2 dishes arrived the half eaten fish was put towards the side of the table to fit the other plates in as we were sharing. The next thing we knew one of the cats had jumped onto the table and started eating our fish! In the end we took the half eaten plate of fish inside as we could not stand being surrounded by all the fighting, horrible cats and of course could no longer eat it. We were not given any apology or offered any replacement fish.

When we then asked for the bill brought this issue up again with the waiter who merely said it was not his problem and he could not do anything about it. His attitude was horrible! As I said above we had been in Greece for 2 weeks by now and had seen the cats at nearly every restaurant. We also spent another week in Greece after this. Not once did we see any where near as many cats in one restaurant or have one attempt to jump onto our table!

In summary the food was good but we had a horrible experience and would never return. The cat I could have forgiven, the waiter's attitude I cannot! We left feeling truly disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickywhiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth tasting it~!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I visited this resaturant a couple of times during my stay in Amorgos. I tried two special salads (one with bitrute and one with melon) - both exceptional! Fish was well grilled. However, if u visit the place don't miss the traditional homemade pasta (παραδοσιακές μακαρόύνες) with amorgian cheese and baby tomatoes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YANIS_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food. Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our four night stay on Amorgos.

The food is delicious and very reasonably priced.

The owner and staff are very friendly-taking the time to explain their menu and the day's specials.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diosmarini's Restaurant also viewed

 
Katapola, Amorgos
 

Been to Diosmarini's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing