We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Naxos Magic Village
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stelida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel was dirty (we asked to change our room. the new one was a little better, but still dirty!!!), the bathroom was old, with a disgusting shower and toilet.
the room for the breakfast was stinking and dirty . the breakfast was very poor...
The swimmingpool was a mud pool (it was reining 1 day...): 3 days we stayed there and no one was taking care of it!
We booked a 4* hotel, but this hotel is not!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krikri35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Naxos Magic Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

the hotel is 2* and not 4* . The hotel has been renovated in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place is a real dump, the shower is disgusting, the bedroom is small and dirty with rock hard beds! The beach is at least a 30 min walk and the bus stop a 20 min walk. The breakfast was very disappointing, every morning the same, scrambled eggs, joghurt, cereal, canned peaches, bread, juice and tea/coffee. The only fresh fruit were oranges which were old.
Not sure how this dump can be rated a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunny312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

In Greece, we stayed in Athens, Crete, Sifnos, and Mykanos: so, we experienced a wide varity of hotels/settings. Thus, I can honestly say that while Naxos (the island) is lovely (especially the Agios Prokopios and Anna beaches), THIS HOTEL IS TERRIBLE. Where do I start? The most aggravating thing about it, is the FALSE ADVERTISING on the hotel's website. The poolside dining area supposedly features "local island delicacies" (microwaved four cheese pasta?): and our included breakfast "included" a bowl of visibly rotting fruit, plus canned fruit cocktail. Every morning, they ran out of bread, eggs, etcetera, before all guests had arrived. There was none of the delicious fresh plain yogurt and preserved "spoon fruit", that we were served in every other hotel we stayed in in the country. The "elegantly styled studios" advertised, consistent of a cramped bedroom, filled by the (hard) bed, with an undusted headboard, broken lightbulb under the bed, no Kleenex, already used shampoo, 1.5 square foot shower, ancient fixtures, and satellite tv with hundreds of Arab and Italian porn (but two English speaking,news)channels. Biggest lie? The beach, "150 m" away (down an unpaved steep and rocky hill, which would make it completely inaccessible to anyone with a disability or even a cane) was filthy and unusable, with umbrellas and chairs reserved for the (nearby) San Marini Hotel guests only. The "800m" away advertised Agios Prokopios beach was separated from the hotel by (and I'm not kidding) an actual MOUNTAIN -unless you are The Hulk, and can leap mountains, getting there required an 8 euro, 10 minute cab ride. The port town? Another (15 - 20 minute) 8 euro cab ride away, across a mosquito-infested marshland (the netting in your room isn't just for show - you can't go outside after dark, without being eaten alive). DO NOT STAY HERE. It really is in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElbyemToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This hotel is very old and run down and is in the middle of nowehere. The hotel markets itself as being on the beach, however it only over looks the beach (it sits on a huge hill) and the beach you can walk down to is apparently one of the worse beaches on Naxos. It was really windy and an ugly beach. The rooms were old and dirty and the beds were extremely hard. The people at the front desk were very nice and helped us find other accommodations. We simply couldn't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atjohnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

The hotel itself was lovely, the staff were really friendly, the breakfast was delicious, there is a tennis court - which doesn't seem to be mentioned in any of the literature, and was a bonus - and the pool was nice. However, none of what we read before we stayed there, regarding the local area, seemed to be true. It's a fairly decent walk to the closest calm (non-windy) beach, supermarket and bars and restaurants - everything seems to suggest Agios Prokopios is about 800m away, which it definitely isn't - it's downhill and it takes about 20 minutes quick walk.

Naxos town, which we knew was slightly further away, was actually too far to walk (and we're not unfit or afraid of walking ) especially if you have been out at night - the walk is up a dark hill, no street lights, fast occasional cars and it's not too nice. we thought the bus from naxos stopped close to the hotel - it doesnt - this again is about a twenty minute walk up the dark road. this is all fine if you want a hotel with nothing nearby, but we wanted to explore the island a little, which was difficult to do from that hotel - we ended up renting bikes or quads nearly every day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonSMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This hotel is quiet, some rooms have a wonderful view over the town & port but this place is not in the town. Rooms are split in 2 a bedroom & small living with cooking facilities. Breakfast is included. It is about 20 mins easy walk to the most beautiful beach where one can rent 2 lounge chairs & shade for 7 euro daily. Parking is easy so we were happy to be out of Chora town & the local village & loads of restaurants are about 25 mins easy walk.

Thank kiwigirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Naxos seems to be the budget option when it comes to the Greek Islands and as such we couldn't find a true high end hotel. We opted to the Naxos beach 2 because we wanted a beach close to us and they share a beach with a couple of other hotels in the area. The hotel sits on a bluff above a cove or bay. The view is nice and the hotel is adequate. We mostly toured the island in a rented car, visiting other beachs as the beach near the hotel is rocky and being on the windward side of the island, windy.

The staff at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful and the room was ok. I would rate it 3 stars at best. The little shower cabin was barely adequate and the grounds of the hotel, at least on the ocean side where our room was, looked more like a poorly maintained campground that a hotel grounds. Over the fence, it was obvious that they and others simply deposited trash and junk there rather than properly disposing of it.

It is a bit of a jaunt to Xora (or the center) from the hotel, about a 7 euro cab ride, 15 mins or so. There is not much within walking distance.

We would probably go back to this hotel, but only if we were looking for a bargain option, which this was at about 125 euro per night.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stelida
0.4 mi away
Kavos Boutique Hotel Naxos
1.5 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 57 in Naxos Town
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,308 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#6 of 57 in Naxos Town
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naxos Magic Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naxos Magic Village

Address: Stelida 843 00, Greece (Formerly Naxos Beach 2)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Stelida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stelida
Price Range: $66 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Naxos Magic Village 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The endless seaside and the crystal waters is just one of the wonderful sightseeing of Naxos. In one of the amphitheatrically regions of Naxos, on the hill of Stelida, is Naxos Magic Village, with the wonderfull view to the Port of the island, the Venetian Castle which stands on the top of Chora for many centuries, as well as the impressive temple of Apollo, known as Portara. The view during the sunset is really unique. Our Hotel can cover all your needs and is ideal for couples for a romantic gateway and Families since we have a playground for our little guests so they can have their dreamy vacation. All our rooms have a balcony or veranda with pool/Town/Garden or Sea View, Air-Condition, cable TV, telephone, kitchenette, refrigerator,hairdryer,safe, private bathroom with showers and Free Wifi in all the property and rooms. Our professional staff is ready to answer all the queistions regarding the island and our Hotel by providing you maps and suggest the best solutions to make your vacation easy and comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you in our Hotel Naxos Magic Village operating by New Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Naxos Magic Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naxos Beach 2 Hotel Stelida
Naxos Beach 2 Stelida
Naxos Magic Village Stelida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing