We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Chryssana Beach Hotel.

Initially, we had booked to stay half board but were not impressed with the standard of the food in the restaurant and were told that we would only have to pay for what we ate at the hotel - so that was the last we had to endure of it! We felt that the restaurant was trying too hard to be something that it wasn't and would have been much better had they served traditional Greek food, which they rarely did. A bowl of coleslaw as a starter and bland pasta dishes for main courses were the general options. As in the previous review, there was no house wine which was also disappointing and made it expensive to drink in the hotel.

However, if you take away the evening meals, the hotel is absolutely idyllic. We had such a great time and the room, pool and restaurant area were all beautiful and kept spotlessly clean. The staff are really great - friendly and helpful. The beach over the road from the hotel is not the greatest but the sea is lovely. The pool at the hotel is really fantastic!

It is definitely worth hiring a car and seeing the beautiful sights that are very near to the hotel.

The restaurants in Kolymbari are magnificent and serve beautiful fresh seafood and traditional Cretan cuisine. They are very reasonably priced and the people are so friendly and really value your custom.

Overall, we had such a fantastic holiday that was made all the better for staying the beautiful Chryssana Beach Hotel. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view balcony but expect the usual Greek twin beds - they are very comfortable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beatrice1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    129
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
43
171
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the place is great! Nice, quiet, just for a prefect, relaxing holiday. Staff do all their best to make your stay pleasant.
We had a great evening welcome by the night staff who offered us a complimentary drink and booked us in with a great professionalism making sure we will enjoy our stay here. He was very friendly and responded to all our requests and queries with very good manners. He is just made for this job!
We also had a great waitress during our meals who looked after us very well, making sure that we have everything we need.
The only problem was that we couldn't get the wine we wanted as we really love Crete house wine and there was nothing left for us. It was quite upsetting.
I hope that the hotel management are checking reviews regularly and make sure that they have plenty of house wine available for their precious clients. The abundance of this little treat will just make the stay at Chrysanna even more pleasurable!
Apart from that you will enjoy to the fullest!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been meaning to write this for ages :

We booked through Groupon to stay in Oct - if i'm honest we were not expecting anything brilliant, just a few days away. The Chryssana Beach Hotel exceeded all our expectations. Breakfast each morning was varied and very generous! The staff were helpful and polite and we had a lovely room with a balcony facing the sea making for wonderful pre - evening drinks (my understanding is that all balconies face the sea). There is a bus (air conditioned coach) service which regularly runs into Chania and there are many places on the way which are worth a stop. I would have paid double what we did. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Foodie91602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent a week in the Lovely Chryssana Beach hotel, with my partner and we had the most amazing time. Started of a bit shaky as my partner suffered from food poison (NOT FROM THE HOTEL) but from food in one of the restaurants in the local area. Massive massive thanks to the lovely Manager who drove us all the way to the local hospital with was almost an hour away. You certainly can NEVER get such hospitality within the UK, and he ensured that my partner was well looked after. He even paid the initial hospital deposit as we were in such a hurry I ddint had any chance to take change my pounds into euro.

After three days in the hospital our holiday finally started, needless to say we only had food from the hotel for the rest of our holiday duration. You have got to try the eggs, mini bacon and freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast!! Though there is a massive selection of both English and continental available. Evening meals were equally as lovely with very generous portion/presentation

The location of this hotel is absolutely spot on, beautiful sea view, spotless rooms and pool areas.

If you are looking for a quiet week away this is just the place to be, no screaming kids or drunken teenagers around. This hotel is a beautiful little gem.

There are lots of activities and you can book via the hotel. I will highly recommend you visit Kolymbia beach, beautiful scenery. Surrounding areas next to the hotel is equally as nice with pebbly beach and quiet village/town around walking distance.

Photos here are very generic and do NOT justify this BEAUTIFUL hotel. Was pleasantly surprised as to how stunning it was.

Thanks Chryssana we will be back!! :D

Room Tip: Top level with a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here Last August and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was Clean and not over crowded. The Staff were friendly and helpful. We went for half board and the breackfast was nice and supper lovely ond occassions and nice on other nights , but all in all ,when booking through a discount web site it was good value.
Rooms were clean and simple but we were a party of 3 and once they put the z bed in there was not much room to move , but as we were only sleeping in the room it didn't really matter much.
You Will need a car - although you can walk to town there is not muh to do here. The beach by the hotel is pebbles and nigh on impossible to get out of the sea without causing yourself an injury. The Beach by the town is much nicer but I would recomend a 10 minute drive to a lovely beach.
Our Air con died on the 5th night and although they tried their best they couldn't get it working again - this was a bit of a pain (Greece August) but they did try their best but they had no spare rooms and so we had to live with it.
Be warned that they do let people smoke in the dining room - and they do with a vengeance . They also let the Hotel dog wonder amongst the tables .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BethAngell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasby, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband & I stayed here from 20 - 27 September & had a wonderful, relaxing time. We had booked using a Groupon voucher, which we have never done before but apart from the difficulty getting onto the national highway had no problems at all, our booking was made & confirmed via email. The Chyssana is in a lovely quiet location near to a pebble, sandy beach, a short walk to the nearest village & harbour, where you can walk along the coast for a long way. Crete is a lovely Island with great beaches. You really do have to hire a car to see the rest, particularly the south beaches which are not too far to drive. Even though the weather was not too good for 3/4 days the hotel staff, the lady manager & Sofia & Elena in the restaurant made the stay very pleasant indeed, they were really friendly and a great help, a big thanks to you all. When the hotel became a bit quieter they even gave us a room with a double bed & bath. There was plenty of hot water & heating when it got a bit chilly at night. The rooms were bright, clean, with seaview balcony & thoroughly cleaned with fresh towels if you wanted (every day) and a change of bedding 3/4 times during our stay which we appreciated. We found throughout the hotel the same high standard of cleaniness & the pool a delight, gardens well looked after. The food was really nice and healthy with an enormous breakfast buffet with a wide range of fresh hot and cold selection which kept us going most of the day. The three course evening meal was excellent too with good service in pleasant surroundings. We would definately recomment this hotel & hope to 'escape' to the Chryssana beach hotel again next year. Good luck you all work very hard to ensure your guests have a wonderful, relaxing break. Gill & Brian, Lincolnshire.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have an excellent seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TreetopsCottages-Spa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place was beautiful, and incredibley close to the beach. We went with a groupon deal and it was well worth it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, dinner was great and breakfast every morning was brilliant (and also at a reasonable holiday time!) It was outside of the main town of Hania, but very close to the bus and Kolymbari is just lovely. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think the rooms may all be the same, but they all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimidrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
1.2 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#3 of 13 in Kolymbari
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#5 of 13 in Kolymbari
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alonia Apartments
Alonia Apartments
#6 of 13 in Kolymbari
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
10.2 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
411 reviews
7.0 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chryssana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chryssana Beach Hotel

Property: Chryssana Beach Hotel
Address: Skoutelonas Kolimbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chryssana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chryssana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chryssana Beach Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing