We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alonia Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alonia Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I went second year in the row to Alonia Appartaments and it was better than I expected. I have asked Mike, the host, where is the best place to hire a car and which beaches are the best to go to. within a minutes I knew how much I need for a car and I had a map from mike in my hands with locations shown. 2days later I finally have decided to take a car so during the breakfast I asked Mike where I need to go exactly to get car for the price he told me... he said wait wait and went... car came to alonia appts :) with a driver of course and everything was dealt with there and then. no fuss no stress, child seat included.
if you decide to visit Alonia, and mike of course, please be prepared for a lot of raki :D
I love that place and I will be back next year :D 2 rooms booked already

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

To start with these apartments and all its amenities were spotlessly clean. Mike and his staff just couldnt do enough for you and were always nice and polite. When you sat and had a drink at the bar he and his staff keep fetching snacks salads fish and chips bits of lamb and bread out to you
Apartments are in a quiet location but a couple of bars and supermarkets just over road with Kolymbari town 15-20 mins walk away

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Alonia apartments where very clean and well looked after,Mike and irena are very good hosts and are very generous people .not only at the apartments but every where we went,We had the BBQ on the sat nite it was 19 euros each it sounds alot but it was well worth it we were overwhelmed with food and drink!!! red wine /white wine/ and raki ,would love to go again but i think i would try and get a different room ours was number 16 on the ground floor ,ok but i felt like i was in a fish bowl we had to have the curtains shut most of the time, also the pool bar was about 5 yards from the room window, also a speaker playing music from 8.30 in the morning till whenever everyone went to bed this was sometimes 2 in the morning was just underneath the window as well ,the pool ,and area around was kept very clean and tidy, overall a good holiday and for what we paid we really cannot complain .Take a walk into Kolymbari you wont be disappointed ,there are some lovely restaurants and bars .

Room Tip: try and avoid room 16 but if your a nite owl you will be ok !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I took my 6 years old daughter for first proper holiday end of may 2013. booked through travel agent as it was first time. we are coming back end of may 2014. mike is great host and I can't wait for another breakfast!! car hire is advised but not essential... if you can walk to the bus stop lol
Alonia apartments - my holiday destination for next few years <3

Room Tip: sea view rooms are good but if you want to sun bath on the balcony, pool view is recommended. midday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We travelled to Crete at the beginning of September, The Alonia Apartments were just as we'd hoped. The rooms were really big, clean and bright. The self catering equipment was limited but this didnt bother us as we normally eat out any way. Although the complex was relatively fully occupied we found most afternoons we had the pool to ourselves which was heavenly. The owner Mickey was lovely, welcoming and friendly but not in your face. It was a good walk into town (but that kept us fit!) however there are bars and a couple of tavernas nearer to the complex. Kolombari was quiet but there are enough tavernas to go at. All in all it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had, I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and quiet. Not a party location although the owner goes out of his way to make you feel at home. I am told this is typical of people who live in crete, they are extremely hospitable. We were invited to eat with the family and offered LOTS of Raki :)

Please note, directly opposite the hotel is a FANTASTIC organic butcher. He sells amazing Raki and Feta which was Delicious.

The hotel is located in a remote area so a car is recommend if not essential. A great location for exploring the west side of the island. One of the best nearby beaches is Falasarna a small drive approximately 30 mins away by car. The local beach is pebbly water is not a clear as Falasarna.

There is a bus stop 2-3 min walk from the hotel which is serviced in summer 20- 30 min intervals, until midnight. The bus goes to Chania via the old road which runs along the edge of the island which is a 40- 50 min journey air conditioned buses and approximately 2.50 euros. Chania is a quick 15 - 20 min drive on the motorway.

There are two local supermarkets nearby turn left out of the hotel and walk about 15 mins.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the sea if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCrawfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N yorks
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfy rooms. Fantastic host, great pool. Fantastic value and atmosphere in weekly bar b q. Nothing too much trouble. Slightly further to walk to harbour than expected, 25 mins. Wasnt expecting the wind and waves on the beach, but have since discovered normal in july, august. A great base for hiring a car. Try the travel agency over the road. Decent value trips from there too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
0.5 mi away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#2 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#6 of 13 in Kolymbari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#4 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karmi Studios & Apartments
Karmi Studios & Apartments
#9 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selini Suites
Selini Suites
#1 of 1 in Rapaniana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alonia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alonia Apartments

Property: Alonia Apartments
Address: Skoutelonas | Chania Kolympari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alonia apartments allocates swimming-pool and reception while the personnel speaks fluently the English and Italian language. Twelve from the apartments they have view the sea while four from them they have view in the swimming-pool. Alonia apartments is a familial enterprise and your accommodation there, you will make to feel as at home. In small distance from the apartments they are Bars, Cafe, restaurants and Supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alonia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alonia Apartments Kolymbari
Alonia Apartments Hotel Kolymbari
Alonia Apartments Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing