We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self catering apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alonia Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alonia Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and quiet. Not a party location although the owner goes out of his way to make you feel at home. I am told this is typical of people who live in crete, they are extremely hospitable. We were invited to eat with the family and offered LOTS of Raki :)

Please note, directly opposite the hotel is a FANTASTIC organic butcher. He sells amazing Raki and Feta which was Delicious.

The hotel is located in a remote area so a car is recommend if not essential. A great location for exploring the west side of the island. One of the best nearby beaches is Falasarna a small drive approximately 30 mins away by car. The local beach is pebbly water is not a clear as Falasarna.

There is a bus stop 2-3 min walk from the hotel which is serviced in summer 20- 30 min intervals, until midnight. The bus goes to Chania via the old road which runs along the edge of the island which is a 40- 50 min journey air conditioned buses and approximately 2.50 euros. Chania is a quick 15 - 20 min drive on the motorway.

There are two local supermarkets nearby turn left out of the hotel and walk about 15 mins.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the sea if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCrawfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N yorks
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfy rooms. Fantastic host, great pool. Fantastic value and atmosphere in weekly bar b q. Nothing too much trouble. Slightly further to walk to harbour than expected, 25 mins. Wasnt expecting the wind and waves on the beach, but have since discovered normal in july, august. A great base for hiring a car. Try the travel agency over the road. Decent value trips from there too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Can add nothing further about the wonderful host and the running of the place - it's all been said before. Just wanted to point out that I arrived stressed, fed up and very ready to find fault.
Within a couple of days I was cruising through the pool delighting in the smell of freshly cut grass and watching dragonflies inches from me. Early July was very hot but oh so relaxing.
We.re going back in September! Thank you Mike and staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshmum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at alonia apartments after 8hr delay to be greeted by the host mikey it was my birthday with only 3min remaining mikey kept the bar open what a wonderful man he is the greeting was great and the whole stay was brilliant we where made to feel like we where part of his family so welcoming and friendly nothing was to much trouble the rooms pool and bar area where spotles I will like other people we met be returning thanks mikey for you generosity see you soon john and margarita

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

To stat off I would like to mention are host, mike, a very nice man who is more than happy to help you in anyway possible be this giving you free food as you sit by the pool or bar, sitting down for a meal with his friends and family or driving you out for a look at the worlds oldest olive tree or to Kolymbari to see their fish festival. The room was also great, very clean and spacious. The local area is more than enough to keep you busy throughout your trip, with restaurants and bars only a ten minuet walk away, two convince stores just across the road and two supermarkets just a short walk the other way. The nearest beach is only across the road and while it may be pebbly not sandy still as crystal clear waters. If you want a sandy beach or to visit Chania then just jump on one of the regular buses going either way. This is a really nice place with a great host. 10/10

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really would recommend these apartments to anyone mikey the owner/host makes this holiday we have never stopped anywhere before with such a great host.We went to the pool every morning & he brought us over pastries or melon when you go for a drink he give you a plate of food with lots of different foods on it.we were robbed while we were there our own fault we left our window open mikey was really upset & took my husband down to the police station 3 times to speak to the police luckily they caught the people ( not Greeks but immigrants) .he has a great BBQ on Thursday nights, there is so much food & free drinks you don't need to eat for quite a while the apartments are lovely & clean & all have great views there are some nice places to walk but as the weather was so hot we didn't walk a great deal.this is one of the best holidays we have had for a long time & even though we had the robbery & a 7 hour delay on our flight home we will be back to enjoy the warmth,hospitality,& the beautiful area & apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terri417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were absolutely satisfied with every aspect of the hotel. The room was spacious and the service was more than nice. All in all we certainly suggest to everyone to choose it to spend their holidays on

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElRey1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
0.7 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#2 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#6 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karmi Studios & Apartments
Karmi Studios & Apartments
#9 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#7 of 13 in Kolymbari
3.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selini Suites
Selini Suites
#1 of 1 in Rapaniana
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Adelais
Hotel Adelais
#1 of 3 in Tavronitis
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alonia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alonia Apartments

Property: Alonia Apartments
Address: Skoutelonas | Chania Kolympari, Kolymbari, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alonia apartments allocates swimming-pool and reception while the personnel speaks fluently the English and Italian language. Twelve from the apartments they have view the sea while four from them they have view in the swimming-pool. Alonia apartments is a familial enterprise and your accommodation there, you will make to feel as at home. In small distance from the apartments they are Bars, Cafe, restaurants and Supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alonia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alonia Apartments Kolymbari
Alonia Apartments Hotel Kolymbari
Alonia Apartments Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing