We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4 star with a 5 star mentality...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
crete rethymnon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A 4 star with a 5 star mentality...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights , we are a family with a child and an infant.Dont expect something luxurious, don't expect something big and fancy like the Avra imperial ( 2steps away) but expect a descent hotel in a better location than its 5star neighbour..Firstly of all the food is fantastic for families and is a hotel tha all inclusive does not mean poor food quality on the contrary..Everybody in the hotel is polite smiling and ready to give you tips that will make your stay comfortable.The main pool area is nothing big but it's clean and apart from the pool it offers you a wonderful sea.Our room was located in front of the main pool ( junior suite instant pool access) and we strictly recommend it fr families with small children because everything is close from the pool and sea to the min restaurant.The gym I didn't try it but I checked it and its mediocre, they can do more for the quality of sleep because I found the mattresses rather hard, but you forget everything in front of the cleaness of the rooms and the smile of the personnel...So for us this hotel must be a family's first choice in the area..

Room Tip: Choose rooms from 108-115 junior suites instant pool access sharing pool rooms cost more without off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear steo

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Regarding your comment about the food, we would like to inform that the quality of food and beverage is one of the main priorities of our Resort.

According your notice of the mattress, you should ask to the front desk to change it. All of our guests have this option.

Thank you very much once again for all your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    106
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
95
226
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Tip: Get up 07.30 am to get a sun bed,if you are lucky you get a sunbed with a umbrella near the pool..Often you will only find sun beds,no umbrellas,since there is a lack of umbrellas. Wind is blowing often in on the hotel beach,making it imposible to lay on the beach since the waves drowns the beach/sunbeds. Fitness room has 1 working machine,the treadmill. The 1 spinning bike and 1 weightlifting machine is broken.

Wifi does not work in the hotell rooms,only outside.

All meals were great,big selection. Staff is polite. Service in pool bar can be a bit slov at times,since the bartender often was not in the bar.

Local kids came often to play in the pool,making a lot of noise,not what you expect when you pay to stay in an hotell like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellernorway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear travellernorway2013

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Regarding your comment about the wind, we would like to inform you that there are some days mainly in August that the weather can be windy at the Aegean Sea. We call this kind of wind the ‘Meltemia’. On these particular days the sea can be wavy as a consequence of the wind.

As our Grand Bay is a Beach Resort we are forced to remove all the sun beds from the beach towards the grass area just to avoid the waves and the little accidents that can happen as there is a great risk of loosing all the sun beds and sun umbrellas into the sea.

In relation to the spinning bike at the gym, we have already checked it and it works perfectly, and the weightlifting machine has been fixed.

The wi-fi signal is strong in all of the rooms of the property. If there was a problem at your room you could have reported it at the reception so as to give us a chance to fix it by sending our technician. However, we have never had such a report during your stay.

The access of people in our Grand Bay Beach Resort is not permitted to everyone except from our guests. The Greek kids you saw at the pool, was kids from our Greek guests.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our food and our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I take great value in reading Tripadvisor comments from other travellers. I booked this hotel after reading some wonderful reviews and from the very brief stay at the hotel - I think the comments are true... HOWEVER, on our arrival, we were told the hotel was fully booked and our room was no longer available for us. We were transferred to a 'grotty' hotel in a very busy town (quite the opposite to the tranquil Grand Bay). Tried to contact Grand Bay to get moved again but were unwilling to help. We were not their problem anymore. We are now having to fly back to the UK tomorrow, having lost a weeks holiday, a lot of money and have had to pay for flights back home...
I'm sure the hotel is in fact a lovely place to stay but I recommend caution when booking! - Apparently travel insurance does not cover you for events like this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 22Tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear 22Tilly,

Thank you very much for your comment.

Firstly, we would like to notice that on arrival we informed you that we had an un-expectable illness issue with the previous guest of your room and that was the real reason of its unavailability.

We tried our best to find the best possible solution for you under the circumstances and that is why we re-allocated and offered some upgrades to your booking in another 4 star hotel in the area of Aghia Marina. The area of Aghia Marina is located 8 km from the city center of Chania and is considered to be a cosmopolitan area with a fantastic sandy beach and plenty of shops and restaurants around. It is not as crowded and busy as other places such as Platanias and we would characterize it a rather alive area.

Regarding your efforts to communicate with the Manager of our Grand Bay Beach resort, we would like to state that we had more than 5-6 conversations explaining the reasons so as to why it was impossible to re-allocate you back at Grand Bay beach resort.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused as it was not in our intention and we are looking forward to give us a second chance to welcoming you in our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best Regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went there quite accidentally - I was supposed to go to Egypt, but I've changed my mind and instead I landed in Kolymbari. The hotel is really wonderfully located in a very small, peaceful village, right in front of it was the beach. Nearby there's a bus stop, from where you can go to Chania, Rethymno or Kissamos at quite low prices (6,60 euro to Chania). Rooms are comfortable and clean, whole building was recently renovated. It's not one of the huge, chaotic, full of guests hotel, but very mood and cosy. The food was absolutely fantastic - every day whole variety of dishes, hot and cold, makes that you really do not know what to choose! Jams, marmalades, chocolate creames, cereals, fruits, cakes for those who like sweet breakfast and bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, many kind of bread and always something hot for those who are fond of hearty meals. Every dinner was full of pastas, tarts, omlets, meats, vegetables and always desserts, the same was for supper. There was also a day when restaurant served amazing, truly tasty traditional Cretan dishes. After every meal I was genuinely stuffed - but if someone would feel that it's not enough, he could order snacks between meals. The staff also is a forte of this place - most helpful, nice, heartfelt, always in place to assist you in anything you ask for.
Really a most recommendable place to go to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KokoSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Koko Sz

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

According your comment about our food, we would like to inform you that it is based on Greek and international cuisine, just to satisfy all of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

today is our last day at Grand Bay beach, and I'm gutted to be leaving for Manchester in a few hours. The hotel is in a quiet location which is ideal if you're wanting a chilled out holiday. The views from the hotel are superb! The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels. The food is a buffet served three times a day which is amazing! All you can drink too!! All the staff are very friendly and are always too pleased to speak to you!
Please don't take any notice of any bad remarks about Grand Bay Beach! It's a beautiful place to come, and I'd recommend it to anyone! 10 out of 10! Defo be coming back! :) xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenlou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear helenlou87

Thanks very mach for your time to comment on Tripadvisor

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best Regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when We arrived at this hotel. The hotel is a cute furnished place with extraordinary staff that makes You feel sincirely welcomed as a very close friend. The cleanliness,the frank care of the staff, the location of the hotel and the carefully arranged and maintained park are crucial. It is really nice place for holiday spending. I would recommend it to anyone. I would come back again for sure.
Thank You for the charming holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Si P

Thank you very much for your excellent review and scoring on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort.

Best Regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and me, visited Grand Bay Resort for 3 days in June 2013.
It was actually our 5th time that we chose this hotel for our vacation in Crete!
And the reason is simple:
It is a peaceful 4 star hotel, at an excellent location with amazing staff!

The layout and the swimming pool are great but the overall view is just unique!
We always pick up the room 231 (the rooms 230 to 227 are of the same view) the view from the balcony of which is unforgettable: the infinite blue of the Aegean Sea...

The hotel is within 30 minutes drive from the famous beach of Falasarna but the beach of the hotel is pretty good.
It is a quite and relaxing hotel which is ideal both for couples and for families with young children.

The amazing asset of the hotel is the staff: they are very friendly with an authentic smile. After so many years visiting this hotel we know most of them and we really feel "at home"...

We will definitely come back!
Thank you,
Makis & Sofia

Room Tip: Pick up rooms 227 to 231
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakisAthens1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear MakisAthens 1970

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are honored to hear that you feel our Grand Bay Beach Resort as your home.

The management and the staff, always doing their best to provide our customers a pleasant stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#2 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.8 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bay Beach Resort

Property: Grand Bay Beach Resort
Address: Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 73006, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like an island within an island, this is GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT. Understated design, attention to detail, instinctive hospitality, tasteful food and a personalised approach are only a few of the ingredients which make our small "island" a very special getaway, ideal for those who seek tranquillity and calmness, excellent cuisine, and upgraded spaces and services.GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT is located directly on the 3 km long beach of the scenic fishing village of Kolymbari, amongst scenery of unparalleled beauty, and near settlements that retain their traditional Cretan character, just 23 km west of the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 35km away from its international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Bay Beach Hotel Chania Town
Grand Bay Beach Resort Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing