We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travelers have booked this property
Robins Nest with views of the Sea and  Mountains, this is suitable for family's and friends
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robins Nest with views of the Sea and  Mountains, this is suitable for family's and friends
The Large Lounge and Balcony in this Apartment are Ideal for Familys Souda Bay from the East
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Robins Nest with views of the Sea and  Mountains, this is suitable for family's and friends
The Large Lounge and Balcony in this Apartment are Ideal for Familys
Souda Bay from the East
Fancy a midnight dip?
Booking the complete Villa for Early morning Tai Chi Group
Body and mind in harmony
A Comfy Sofa Bed for the larger family
View The White Mountains in December from the apartments
Chania, Leather Lane Market for all those bargains
Quiet and Peaceful Streets of Chania, time too explore in April
Part of Fortress Chania
Spring Flowers in Afrata
Try a Pedalo at Lake kornas
Booking the complete Villa for Large Family Gatherings
Fresh Locally Produced Cheese at Kolimbari Market
All Fruit and Vegetables Locally Grown at the Friday market in kolimbari. 10 minutes away.
Walking down to afrata beach fifteen minutes. 
 Small boy enjoys Afrata Bay.
Lunch at Lake Kornas
The Bar-b area
Families returning every year
New Gardens on the Terrace
Relaxing on the New Terrace with Sea and Mountain Views
Comfy Seating on the Terrace
Home made bread on the premises for Breakfast
Sun set in the village
Deer at kolimpari monastery
Overlooking souda bay
Kissamoss beaches.  15 minutes drive away
Catching up with friends
Aptera ancient village.  45 minutes from afrata
Castle at aptera ancient village
Ancient aptera
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kolymbari, Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike H
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 25, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We have recently returned from a lovely week in Robin’s Nest. It was clean and comfortable and Robin and Sue went out of their way to meet our every need.
Of the two tavernas in the village we preferred the lower one. The “supermarket” seems to cater for two tourist “trains” that come up from Columvari every day and has very little produce.
It’s a lovely walk down to the beach. Don’t worry about the walk back as I hitched/blagged a lift back up each time.
Our favourite trip was to Wave on the Rock restaurant at Ravdoucha. Fabulous okra!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2018
Good Morning Mike,
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure having you and your wife here. And hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.
Best wishes
Susan and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva R
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I keep coming back!”
Reviewed August 11, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We came here last year for the first time and it was love at first sight! This year we decided to come back and we're pleased nothing's changed. This is the perfect spot if you want to enjoy a beautiful, peaceful Cretan holiday. Afrata is an hour drive to the beautiful beaches in Balos and Falasarna, twenty minutes from the lively Platanias (if you like watersports, cocktails and loud music), ten minutes from Kolymvari where you find some supermarkets, cafes, restaurants, shops and cash points (don't miss the market on Fridays!). However, Afrata has also two eccellent restaurants, a mini market, excellent views and its own small beach with a diving centre (check the Honey Festival if you're in Afrata in early August). The accommodation itself is cosy, clean, well equipped and roomy. The swimming-pool is fantastic! The owners can also provide great breakfasts and a laundry service. I love it because it feels like you're a thousand miles away from everything but it's actually close to anywhere you want to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
Good Evening Eva,
Thank you very much for your review, its always a pleasure to welcome you and the family to stay with us.
And also a big thank you for leaving your apartment clean and tidy, and hopefully we will see you again next year.
Kind regards
Susan and Robin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campocraz...
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bigger splash”
Reviewed July 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Fantastic location, comfortable and welcoming. Robin and Sue were pragmatic when I fell in the pool looking at the stars when we arrived, the pool was warm. We loved the cotton sheets, fluffy towels, the beach is 10 mins by car and two great tavernas a short walk up the road. Robin and Sue are available and helpful.
It is a tenquil base to explore the west of the island, Chania 50 mins, Kissamos for a sandy beach, and the botanical gardens. Ticked all boxes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2018
Hello Gaynor,
Thanks for your review, you were both great and we are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and the surround area. Also thank you for leaving your apartment the way you found it. And hopefully we will see you sometime in the future. Best wishes
Sue and Robin xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesaint1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely pool, carefully tended.”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

150 metres from the village which has two tavernas and a shop, Robin's Nest is about 1km from a small beach. The beach is secluded and is popular with locals especially at weekends in high summer. Never overcrowded there is a small taverna but we doubt you'd want to walk back to the villa up the steep hill! Robin's Nest is run by Robin and Sue, a mature English couple who will look after you very well, with local knowledge, recommendations and light hearted conversation at the poolside bar. Robin maintains the swimming pool to a very high standard and the poolside breakfast is excellent. From dawn to dusk, in season, the cicadas are a constant symphony. Our only suggestion would be a modest welcome pack, bottle of the taverna's wine, some fruit, a few tea bags, a little coffee and sugar to greet the weary arrivals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you Douglas for your review, we are very pleased you had a good holiday with us. Welcome packs have always been available at client request and we have many clients who take advantage of this service we will endeavor to make this more obvious on our websites.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, beautiful pool, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much we will be returning, the apartment met our needs, comfy beds, although a double would have been nice. Robin and Sue are extremely friendly helpful hosts, they know their business well, and have a beautiful place. Afrata is everything we thought it would be, unspoiled by tourism, full of culture and Cretan history. There are local taverna's offering wonderful food for the full Crete experience.
The beach at kolumbari was a delight, and lots of beautiful sights to see. A must for nature lovers, as there is an abundance of wildlife to enjoy, in addition to the wonderful flora in abundance.
We will be returning at some time, and will aim to spend more time around the pool, thank you Robin and Sue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Good afternoon to you both,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon, Don't forget we only have 4 apartments with double beds and the other apartment has twins, so it is best to book early to avoid disappointment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina3
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The room was spotlessly clean and tidy - we missed the tv at the beginning but got quickly used to not watching anything for a week - and the owners Robin & Susan were very polite and helpful. Afrata is a cosy little vilage 5 km north of Kolymbari, so you defilitely need a car, it's very quiet & relaxing atmosphere, but do not miss the western Chania famous beaches Falasarmna, Balos & Elafonisi. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Robin's nest!

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Good afternoon Katerina ,

Thank you very much for your review, and it was a pleasure having you stay with us, also thank you for leaving the apartment the way that you found it.
Hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Susan and Robin Southern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishita Du...
1 review
“Beautiful apartment in calm and peaceful environment”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The apartment is spacious and the sea and mountain view from the balcony in the morning is great. We liked the breakfast with almost everything homemade. The owners are very nice people almost taking care of everything. The only problem with us was the WiFi. The internet connection was bad. However, this is a perfect place for holiday. This place is actually far from the centre of Kolymbari and near the beautiful beach Afrata.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, and it was nice to meet you both, and hope we will meet you some time in the future.
Kind regards
Susan and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing