We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Robinsnest is a great place to stay to fully...”
other travelers have booked this property
Complete Villa, Apartments suitable for family's and friends holidaying together.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Complete Villa, Apartments suitable for family's and friends holidaying together.
The Pool with a Sea View Through the Gorge. Shower/Wet Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Complete Villa, Apartments suitable for family's and friends holidaying together.
The Pool with a Sea View Through the Gorge.
Shower/Wet Room.
The Pool, with Mountains and Olive groves in the distance.
A Fine Day for Building Sandcastles at Kastelli Beach
Spring rain in Afrata from the Balcony.
A Trip around Chania Harbour.
One of the relaxing, reading areas.
A Generous Lounge and balcony.
Curious goats above Gramvousa look for a free lunch. 20 minute Drive.
walking to the famous Gramvousa beaches 25 minutes drive.
Gramvousa famous Beach
Pool Lights On. time to relax with a G and T.
The Rodopos Peninsular from Polirhinia.
Gramvousa Sun Set
Group Booking.  Early morning Tia Chi
Mind and body in harmony
Bedroom with Patio Doors leading onto the large Balcony
Lunch at the 3000 year old Olive Tree and Museum, Ten Minutes from Robins Nest
Visit the Olive Tree said to be the oldest in the world, aged between 3000 to 5000 years
Local Kolimbari Market, fresh fish,vegetables and Greek linen every friday.
Locally grown vegetables and fruit.
Fresh Fish, ready too Barbecue for your Evening Meal
The Bar-b area
Back again, Really loving there holiday
New Gardens on the Terrace
Plaza Paradise Restaurant, kolimbari harbour. 5 minutes drive
Home made bread on the premises
Sun going down at the end of another day
See you all next year
Picking figs in the gardens
Flying your kite at Naya Beach
Great days round the pool
Lazing round the pool in the morning
Castle at ancient aptera
Views from ancient aptera
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kolymbari, Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bryan c
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Robinsnest is a great place to stay to fully relax and enjoy western Crete”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The views from our apartment were stunning. The pool was wonderful on our return from a days exploring the area greatly helped by Robin and Sues vast knowledge of special places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble and the provision of beach towels were a great help, leaving more room and less weight in the suit cases. Robin also picked us up and returned us to and from the airport at a very fair rate. This was our second stay at this at this wonderful relaxing place were the cicadas are the loudest noise you will hear

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Hello Annette and Brian, It was lovely to see you both again and glad you enjoyed your holiday at Robins' Nest. And thank you so much for leaving the apartment clean and tidy.
We wish you both a happy year and hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.

Best wishes
Susan and Robin xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
Good Afternoon Janet,

Thank you for your review, and it was nice to meet you both.
We are glad you both enjoyed western Crete and hopefully you will return soon.
Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
seannacha...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure Dead Brilliant!”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

For those who want a chill-out holiday in Crete, it would be hard to beat Robin’s Nest. It is a small block of self-catering apartments in the tiny village of Afrata on the Rodopou peninsula in N.W. Crete. Each apartment has a good sized bedroom with air-conditioning, a kitchenette with basic crockery, pots and pans and cutlery, and a fridge, a toilet/shower and a couple of balconies, so it is an ideal location for self-catering travellers. The apartments are clean, comfortable and contain everything you need, and there is a well-maintained swimming-pool and a sitting-out area. The English owners, Robin and Sue, provide an ample breakfast of local produce and home cooking for the bargain price of 6 Euros; it is to die for!

Robin and Sue are very helpful with local information and suggestions if asked, but otherwise are unobtrusive and let you get on with your holiday. The key advantage of Robin’s Nest is that it is very quiet; there are no televisions in the apartments, there is no tourist racket outside, so it really is a place to relax and unwind. There is a stony beach in a cove about 15 minutes’ walk away with beautiful clear water, ideal for swimming and snorkelling. A café on the beach provides cold drinks and simple food, and there are sunbeds and parasols. However, some people might find the stones difficult to navigate so a pair of flip-flops or plastic sandals is recommended. However, there are attractive sandy beaches within a ten to fifteen-minute drive, and Robin and Sue can provide directions.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
Good afternoon Sean,
It was nice to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay too.
Hopefully we will see you again next year.
Have a good Christmas and a happy new year.
Best wishes
Susan and Robin Southern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing summer break”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Superb location in the middle of olive groves with goats passing by. Beautiful drive in from Koylambari. Great pool. The accommodation suited us an ideal base for exploring the west of Crete and to spend a couple of lazy days by the pool. Susan and Robin are lovely hosts willing to help in any way if needed but equally supported us to do our own thing. Flat and pool both spotless.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Hello Karen,
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. And thank for leaving your apartment the way you found it, and hopefully we will see you sometime in the future. Your welcome any time.
Best wishes
Susan and Robin Southern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHACMOW
Highlands, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“RELAXING HOLIDAY”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rob & Sue were excellent hosts that work very hard to ensure their guests have a happy relaxed holiday. The room was absolutely spotless & well equipped. The pool area is very nice & the pool itself is the cleanest we've seen in 25 years of Mediterranean holidays. Afrata is a lovely quiet village with a couple of Tavernas and a fantastic little beach about a kilometre away which has a beachside Taverna. We needed a get away from it all relaxing holiday & that's exactly what we got. Lovely accomodation in a lovely village.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Hello Steve and Hollie,
Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we enjoyed our conversations together. And a big thank you for leaving your apartment immaculate.
Hopefully we will see you sometime in the future and hope everything goes well for your children going to university.
Best wishes
Susan and Robin Southern.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYNDA1502
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second visit to these apartments and they are just as good”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second stay at these great apartments and Robin and Sue made us feel very welcome and like friends. The apartments are lovely and clean, good location for walking in the region. They have added a new terrace area and new sunbeds since our last visit which was lovely to enjoy the pool area and stunning view down the gorge to Afrata Beach, what a view. Hope to stay here again soon. Thank you Robin and Sue

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lovely quiet location and relaxing pool area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Good afternoon to you both. Thank you for your review, its always a pleasure to welcome you both here, and we always enjoy your company.in the evening for a chat. Hope you both have a good summer and look forward to seeing you both again.
Best wishes Susan and Robin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryan c
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for those who want a relaxed , away from it all break”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great hosts ,great accommodation great views , great holiday, We needed to get away and recharge our batteries after a less than wonderful 2015. We could not have found anything better than Robins Nest Robin and Sue Were so helpful in telling us about places to go and things to see. The apartments are very clean with a good wet room and balcony with wonderful mountain views. The pool is a good size. We came home refreshed and ready to face the English winter.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Robin and Sue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
Hello Brian and Annette
thank you for your review, we enjoyed having you here like all of our customers and are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at robins nest, and we both look forward to seeing you both returning in the near future, and hope you keep well through the winter.

Best wishes
Susan and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing