We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine winery”
Review of Karavitakis Winery

Karavitakis Winery
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Keminmaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine winery”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thanks Nikos
Very pleasant visit,and very nice wines.Only bad thing,we were by car,and I vasted almost all,but tasting was nice and pleasant.My wife enjoyed it.It was good,that we found this winery.
Tasting was nice and professionally organized,and wines are very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Eero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    20
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great wine and wonderful guide”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just come back from the excursion in Karavitakis winery. The guy that guided us there was very nice and new really very much about the wine. I can highly recommend him and that family winery. As the guy speaks really very good English nobody who can spaek English can have a problem to understand. :-) I appreciate also tasting various kinds of wine and I am sure that after tasting them nobody can resist to buy at least a bottle or two. :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bilaruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Crete and Wine Fabulous”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have been to this part of Crete several times but this was the first time we have visited Karivatakis Winery. When we arrived we were met by Mrs Karavatakis an elegant lady who made us feel very welcome with far better English than our Greek. Nikos her son looks after visitors and although it was only us two who were visiting Nikos took us through the winery explaining the process form harvest to production. We then had a wine tasting like no other. We sampled no less than 6 wines all very good with their rose desert wine being the star of the show. Luckily Mum was on hand to share a plate of cheese and breads and olives which went down very well with the wines we tasted. We left with 6 bottles of wine and their own distilled Raki which is very smooth indeed. We ended up paying excess baggage to come home but all worth it. We had a lovely afternoon and we will visit again when we next visit Crete.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Essence of Crete”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

While vacationing in Crete this summer and driving past the town of Kolymbari, we came across a sign showing the way to Karavitakis Winery. We decided it would be an interesting detour to try and find it. Our 15 minute drive took us through some of the most beautiful countryside on the island, landscaped by olive groves and vinyards. Once there, we were amazed by the winery’s old world look, coupled with its modern wine making facility.

We where welcomed by Nikos Karavitakis, the 27 year old son of the owner Mr. Manolis Karavitakis, who we met later on in the tour. There were only three of us in our party, yet Nikos spent the good part of two hours treating us to some olives, cheese and crackers, while tasting a variety of fine wines produced by his family. We purchase 4 bottles of wines before leaving, and returned again a week later to purchase addition wine. Our second trip was like visiting old friends.

If you have a free afternoon, I recommend taking this detour, making some new friends, and drinking some really good wines.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“inviting and friendly winery”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

we had rented a car and by accident saw a sign to this winery. When we stepped out of our car we were happily invited to see the winery. We took the tour which was very informative. Tour ended to wine tasting which was a great way to select the wines we would buy.

Tour was given by the familys son who was very friendly and helpfull.

The winery and surrounding were beautiful. I would happily recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank PasiOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karavitakis Winery also viewed

Kolymbari, Platanias
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Vatolakkos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Karavitakis Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing