We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveler rating
1,057
408
104
44
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,057
408
104
44
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool asian restaurant cretan breakfast pool bar main restaurant al fresco piano player animation team hotel area star hotel beautiful hotel main pool small children special thanks kids club dress code half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

This was one of the worst vacations we ever had! Instead of coming relaxed and happy home, we came totally exhaused and dissapointed back.

The architecture of the hotel is amazing, the food is delicious and the rooms are big and very clean.

However:
- the rooms are very bad isolated; you can hear the neighbours talking, the trilfuntion of the phone and the opening of closets. No rest at the room.
- a waterpomp on the roof which started working at 00:00 till 06:00. No sleep without earplugs.
- the shower changed in less than 10 seconds from a pleasent warm temperature to bloody hot, so you needed to step out of the shower and wait for the temperature to change back.
- the hotel was full of scandinavian families with screeming, yelling, crying and children. The parents did not do anything about the childrens behavior at all due the 'free' nurture and education they maintain in the scandinavian countries. Which led to screaming children at the pool, beach, breakfast, restaurant and in the rooms.
- the hotel should have been booked mainly by couples in May, like most of the websites suggested. However the ratio couples and family was: 80/20.
- the staff of the reception lack of hospitality. Never had this unfriendly, non compassionate and dishonest employees at the reception. The rest of the hotel staff were very friendly.
- in the night we called the reception to complain about the waterpomp. After 3 phonecalls and 1.5 hour later somebody came to check. They were too busy to come earlier...
- on the last day we found out that the phone in our room did not work probably. When we pressed reception or roomservice, the line was the whole time occupied.. but after pressing 0 we were directly connected with the reception...
- also on the last day we had a late checkout. The hotel knew about it. We decided to take a nap because we would have a long trip ahead. However, we were woken up by the housekeeping to clean our room for the 1.5 hours we would have stayed there. Complete nonsens!! Late checkout means cleaning after the checkout!!!

Overall:
If you are a couple who want to rest and have a relaxed vacation -> stay away and choose another hotel.

Sincerly,

Natasha

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank NatNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Dear Natasha,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing with us your holiday feedback!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our premises and our food. Here at Avra Imperial we consider all guests comments to be of utmost importance. Regarding your comment on noisy room, after your initial complaint we gave you immediately another room. Actually, you have shown three rooms in order to choose the most appropriate for you and finally you chose a room which was according to your expectation and satisfaction as you have informed us. Furthermore, we have to inform you that Avra Imperial is a hotel for families and couples, so we do our utmost for both of them. Our hotel is well designed and there are many chill out zones within the hotel where all guests can relax with or without the presence of children. For instance, there are many a la carte restaurants where guests can have a perfect meal. To be more precise, we have our Italian restaurant “Al Fresco”, our Asian restaurant “Blue Dong”, our Cretan restaurant “Xatheri”etc. In addition, there is a cozy lounge bar “Le bar” where you can enjoy magic music nights. Our Apivita spa area is also outstanding where guests can truly relax and choose a unique treatment. Regarding your comment on our reception staff, let me assure you that they always try to give the best impression to our guests and to fulfill their wishes. We always receive exceptional comments on our reception staff and we would not accept your personal unfair and disrespect comments about it. Our staff is dedicated, very friendly and tries to offer to our guests Greek hospitality. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have felt regarding the issue of late check out, due to lack of communication between the cleaning lady who missed the correct room number.
Hopefully, we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future in order, not only to meet, but if possible to exceed your expectations!

Yours sincerely,

Konstantina Ais

Administration Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Great hotel, Nice room, Pools are at this time of the year very cold, food in the main restaurant was every the same and even cold. If you want to eat in the Other restaurants you have to pay extra. This is for me nog a 5 star hotel. The wil never see me again hete.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DirkH1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We spent wonderful holidays in this 5 stars hotel near Chania. The personnel is very nice. The buffet of the main restaurant is very good. We only took the breakfasts in the cretan restaurant because it was too delicious not to choose it. Our room was just in front of it too. Very large hotel split in two but it does not matter. The rooms are big and there are several swimming pools spread all over.

Room tip: We were at the back of the hotel, on the other side of the road and it was quiet and with sea and pool view.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FatimaM2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Dear Fatima,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay among us. We much appreciate your kind words regarding our rooms, our pool areas, our buffet food and Cretan breakfast of “Xatheri” restaurant. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Also, thank you for your kind words about our committed staff who always tries to satisfy our guests.
We will be so pleased to welcoming you back for another fabulous time with us!

Yours sincerely,

Konstantina Ais
Administration Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

It was amazing time in Avra! 4 restaurants, great food, 2 swimming pool areas (one quiet, second not so much because of the kids), but the hotel spa area and people working there - really great. Big thanks to Concierge Monika (and her friend!) for really nice surprise. We got engaged and one day, when we came back from one day trip off the hotel, we received a bottle of prosseco and fresh fruits with a letter from Avra - with best wishes and good luck to our mariage. It was really nice and we even didn't expect anything like it. Also pianist Panos does great job there. We enjoyed our stay a lot and it was not our last, I think.

If we talk about strenghts and weaknesses:
+ great hotel: food, spa area, rooms,
+ great people: Pianist Panos, Concierge Monika, bartenders, waiters
+ evenings with classical music: piano, saxophone and violin
+ supermarket nearby

- area near hotel is quite "poor" with attractions. Maybe season didn't start for good, but it was quite empty everywhere around. There was not many souvenir shops all around

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Dear Michal,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to know that the facilities, our food and spa area provided such an added value for you. Also, we thank you for your nice words about our dedicated staff. We have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team. Kolymbari is 24km from the city of Chania and there is a bus station opposite the hotel. In the city of Chania you can find a variety of souvenirs and other shops.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again in the future and offer our best services!

Yours sincerely,

Konstantina Ais
Administration Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews