We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,626)
Filter reviews
1,626 results
Traveler rating
1,054
408
104
44
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,054
408
104
44
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool asian restaurant cretan breakfast pool bar main restaurant al fresco piano player animation team star hotel hotel area beautiful hotel main pool small children special thanks kids club dress code half board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,626 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Great hotel, Nice room, Pools are at this time of the year very cold, food in the main restaurant was every the same and even cold. If you want to eat in the Other restaurants you have to pay extra. This is for me nog a 5 star hotel. The wil never see me again hete.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DirkH1539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We spent wonderful holidays in this 5 stars hotel near Chania. The personnel is very nice. The buffet of the main restaurant is very good. We only took the breakfasts in the cretan restaurant because it was too delicious not to choose it. Our room was just in front of it too. Very large hotel split in two but it does not matter. The rooms are big and there are several swimming pools spread all over.

Room tip: We were at the back of the hotel, on the other side of the road and it was quiet and with sea and pool view.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FatimaM2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Dear Fatima,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay among us. We much appreciate your kind words regarding our rooms, our pool areas, our buffet food and Cretan breakfast of “Xatheri” restaurant. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Also, thank you for your kind words about our committed staff who always tries to satisfy our guests.
We will be so pleased to welcoming you back for another fabulous time with us!

Yours sincerely,

Konstantina Ais
Administration Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

It was amazing time in Avra! 4 restaurants, great food, 2 swimming pool areas (one quiet, second not so much because of the kids), but the hotel spa area and people working there - really great. Big thanks to Concierge Monika (and her friend!) for really nice surprise. We got engaged and one day, when we came back from one day trip off the hotel, we received a bottle of prosseco and fresh fruits with a letter from Avra - with best wishes and good luck to our mariage. It was really nice and we even didn't expect anything like it. Also pianist Panos does great job there. We enjoyed our stay a lot and it was not our last, I think.

If we talk about strenghts and weaknesses:
+ great hotel: food, spa area, rooms,
+ great people: Pianist Panos, Concierge Monika, bartenders, waiters
+ evenings with classical music: piano, saxophone and violin
+ supermarket nearby

- area near hotel is quite "poor" with attractions. Maybe season didn't start for good, but it was quite empty everywhere around. There was not many souvenir shops all around

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Dear Michal,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to know that the facilities, our food and spa area provided such an added value for you. Also, we thank you for your nice words about our dedicated staff. We have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team. Kolymbari is 24km from the city of Chania and there is a bus station opposite the hotel. In the city of Chania you can find a variety of souvenirs and other shops.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again in the future and offer our best services!

Yours sincerely,

Konstantina Ais
Administration Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

I really liked how this hotel looked to the eye and we had a fantastic time but a few things was a bit disappointing.

During certain meals coffee was included in the holiday inclusive but not tea? A bit strange. Also I would expect soft drinks to be included in the bars?

Food was mostly fantastic but the Asian restaurant was a disappointment, at best average. At our hotel room there was no cold water in the shower but that was fixed pretty fast. Also the cleaning of the room was not so good all days.

Service was fantastic otherwise especially in the reception and at the restaurants.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank David_86a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avra_Management, Administration Executive at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about our food and our staff of course. Each guest enjoy everything which is included in the package he has bought from his travel agent. In any case, drinks at bars are not included in any package, since we are not an "All inclusive" hotel. Regarding your Blue Dong experience we feel a bit sad because you were not pleased with your dinner. We have to inform you that we are continually trying to improve our food quality and variety in order to satisfy our guests. All the details you have mentioned will be look into.
We will be so pleased to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,

Konstantina Ais
Administration Executive


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews