We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All inclusive to avoid”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was staying at friends place in the Cretan village, Vasilopoulou, in the mountains. A beautiful house with swimming pool. And one day, quite early in the morning, I decided to visit Avra in Kolimbari, in case I would like to come back to Crete end of July - August. I have visited a standard room, which was apparently correct, as well as a suite, with private swimming pool which appeared correct as well. While walking along the outside corridors, I thought myself in a military caserna. A lake of green is sure ! On my last day in Crete, June 23, I went back for having lunch, checking the food, since in Crete, they have excellent basic products and very tasty. My first disappointment was to notice the kind of clientele, all inclusive apparently. Many families with jelling children. Since I'm not appointed by a gastronomical magazine, I just gave it a try at the pool bar and ordered a club sandwich. No taste, industrial french fries, a real shame, if you know that outside the hotel, tavernas have fresh potatoes. Beer in plastic glasses, as well as the café frappé ! According my standards it was just disgusting. Not to mention mayonnaise and ketchup in little plastic sacs. To make a long story short, this hotel, if given more warmth and green, could have success with upper class clientele. But therefore, lots of work must be done and surely not sacrifice to all inclusive clientele. Its a shame, I would have loved to come back on my own for a fortnight ! I will make it to Elouda Bay or Beach, hoping they haven't sacrifice to all inclusive !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vonhessenamrhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your comment.
In your comment, you present several issues that need to be clarified, as your words depict an unreal presentation of AVRA reality. Please note:
1. Avra Imperial has never been and is currently not an All Inclusive hotel. We offer, very selectively, some packages that guests may book prior to their arrival through, which offer to the guests very specific options in our restaurants and bars, all of excellent quality & service.

2. The hotel is built within 65000 square meters of gardens and pools, obvious from all pictures and presented by all guests, therefore your comment on lack of green is unrealistic.

3. The snacks offered in our bars are prepared upon guest’s request (nothing is pre-cooked) and we use the best and freshest ingredients in all dishes. This is how we always receive compliments on our food quality in all departments.

4. The plastic glasses and plates used in our bars, which are of the highest possible quality, are obligatory by law, as using glass in areas where people walk barefoot, like pool areas or the beach, can cause serious damage in case some glass breaks.

5. Mayonnaise & ketchup is delivered in individual plastic bags as well, for the above mentioned health & safety reasons and due to the strict instructions of our HACCP certificate. Also, this way, all sauces are always fresh, never reused and come out of the fridge, when requested.

To conclude, you have been personally approached by the F&B Manager of the hotel during your very short visit and invited to dinner, that you never attended. We would still be happy to welcome you in our premises, as a guest or as a visitor, so that you realize yourself the excellent quality of services & facilities offered in Avra Imperial.

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    300
    78
    30
    12
See reviews for
482
395
19
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hebertshausen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is really a Dream. A Lot of Pools, a very nice beach and a Perfect Animation staff. They are discreet and they Love there jobs. We ha da Lot of Fun with them. Food is Great. The beach just 2 min. Away and clean. Rooms are very modern. In sum a Perfect Week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasGermany2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We do appreciate your kind words on our facilities and staff. OurAnimation Team make guests' evenings supreme with their shows in the open air amphitheater, including Mini Disco every night for our little guests.

Thanking you for your warm words, we woud be delighted to welcome you and your family back in our premises!

Yours sincerely,
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We are here with the family and really enjoyed every minute from check in until late night. It seems the hotel was built to serve us. Food is of great choice and quality at any time. A lot of place in the garden, great pools, underground parking for our car - nice beach restaurant. You do not feel that the hotel has around 300 rooms. The area is big and nicely built for all. All good for the 5* Rating!!!

Room Tip: Family room in Building 18 has great Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are delighted to read your comments on our premises and services, your words are wonderful. Our staff indeed does a great job during day and night time, while our great variety of choices in all our buffets is an excellent introduction to Cretan & Greek cuisine.

We truly look forward to welcoming you once again in Chania!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were at the Avra for the fifth time and it was again perfect.
We had a great time at the hotel , enjoying the sun , swimming and entertainend by the animation team of pink wave. Roberto, Steven and the girls did their very best to entertain each one of the guests , with table tennis, darts games, aqua gym, fitness, waterpolo, cocktail games and also their evening shows.
Also a special thank to Bana , the lady who cleaned our room and made it every day very special with the flowers! And we may not forget Nola , this year she was at the Asian restaurant, she is always so friendly and kind!!!
We hope to come again next year and meet you all again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraH2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
The whole team of Avra Imperial is indeed pleased to read that you have enjoyed our premises and services, we look forward to welcoming you back during your next vacation!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in Avra Imperial in early June 2014 with a baby of 10 months in a room with private pool. We were amazed by the design of the resort and most of all by the hospitality and friendliness of the personnel.

ROOM:
The rooms look exquise and are very spatious. Even with a baby cot in the room, there was still room for a desk and a couch with table. Opening the sliding windows let us enjoy a stunning view over the resort, looking at our private pool and the big panoramic pool. The bath room was spatious too with a shower and bath tub and was cleaned every day. The bed had 2 single matrasses but this did not bother us. We really enjoyed our room as the baby could sleep while we were sipping cocktails on our terrace next to our private pool... This is the definition of vacation if you ask me!

FOOD:
We stayed in ALL-IN formula and I think less than 20% of the guests use this. We enjoyed it as the buffet and à-la-carte restaurants are very good. The cocktails with international drinks (Gordon's gin, J&B, Belgian Beer!) were great and the bar personnel was very friendly. In all bars (pool, pub, beach) some items were only available with extra charge (Carlsberg, Magnum ice cream, Corona beer) which is not the case in an exclusive ultra-all-in resort. However this did not bother us as the gin-tonic was superb! The Asian restaurant was really great, while the Italian restaurant was a bit of a downer. The food was good, but you can't select everything on the menu and the waiter was the only one in Crete which was a bit arrogant. Conclusion: top food, also for the baby!

LOCATION/CHANIA/ELAFONISSI:
The bus trip from the airport during the night was tough. 1 hour and a half is too long when you're exhausted of travelling with a baby. For our return we paid for a cab, which took us to the airport in 35 minutes and costs €60. One dat we took the same cab which drive us to Chania in 30-minutes. Chania is great to walk, enjoy the view of the harbour and Venetian buildings and has some great local places to eat! Tip: the restaurants in the small alleys are far better than the ones next to the water. The cosy streets with shops (leather, wines, olive oil, and other goods) were nice and the friendliness of the people of Crete was even better. Nobody bothering or begging you to buy something but just friendly people with interesting stories!
One day we rented a car in the hotel (€67/day) and drove through the mountains to the beatiful beach of Elafonissi (1h 30min). A magnificent drive overlooking mountains, olive trees, chapels with heaven-blue roofs. Elafonissi is a bit crowdy but really stunning. The Carribean feeling! For our way back we chose the coastal road which was a more twisty, steep and populated by mountain goats :)

CONCLUSION:
An amazing hotel with good price-quality balance and a great service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwauters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your kind words and positive comments on our food quality, facilities & staff are much appreciated! We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to stay for leisure.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you and your wonderful family back, should you visit Crete again in a not too distant future!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a fantastic holiday at Avra.The hotel had everything we wanted.
The food was very good.our kids enjoyed them selves with lollo og bernie.great family hotel. Many funactivities that we appreciated.we thank especially the people who worked at the theater at Avra.They made us all feel welcome and we quickly became fond of them all.they are doing a fantastisk job.Our girl miss mini disco and the staff very much.we will definitely be back.Regards Beate & Ronny Johansen from Norway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities and pool! The animation team does indeed pay extra attention to all children and the Mini Disco makes children's vacation unforgettable!
Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in our hotel, once again!

Yours sincerely
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, we were upgraded to a private pool room opposite to childrens club. This was great for us, as our 2 year old spent most of the day in the play room or kids pool. We liked the room a lot, it was new, and especially lightning was nice. Our balcony had sun only in the early morning but it was good as the weather was hot and we had to spend some hours during the day time there. We had family all inclusive and were happy with the food as well. It isn't anything you expect from a city 5-star hotel but really good for a beach vacation with kids. Food varied quite well so that we could really eat all the 5 lunches and 5 dinners in the inclusive buffet during our 7-night stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a family holiday in the sun.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peentri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are very happy to read that you and your family found our welcome warm and enjoyed our rooms and facilities!
We are grateful for your recommendation as a place to spend your beach holidays, relax and enjoy summer!
We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits.

Yours sincerely,
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
856 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Property: Avra Imperial Hotel
Address: KOLYMVARI, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing