We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avra Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chryssana Beach Hotel(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Rose(Kolymbari)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrispy World(Kolymbari)
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aphea Village(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Euphoria Resort(Kolymbari)
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Karmi Studios & Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alonia Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,311)
Filter reviews
1,311 results
Traveler rating
834
342
87
36
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
834
342
87
36
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolasian restaurantanimation teamal frescoresort spamain restaurantstar hotelmodern designcretan breakfasthotel areapool barbeautiful hotelmain poolkids clubdinner buffetdress codesmall kids
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,311 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Such a beautiful hotel and the staff are very friendly and always smiling. The hotel is very well kept and beautiful to look at. Some stunning picture perfect areas.

There is a stone beach right next to the hotel but do not let that put you off as it is a very beautiful beach. Fantastic for sunbathing during the day and relaxing walks watching the sun set in the evening.

This hotel caters to all ages wih activies for everyone. As young adults we would have liked abit more adventure for example quad bikes or water sports availble. Theres 3 lovely restaurants to choose from all providing amazing food.

If you get a chance, rent a car i the lobby and drive to elafonisi beach. dont be put off the reviews on the drive as its not that far. The stunning views pass the time and youre there before you know it. The beach is heaven on earth!

Big thank you to Roberto at Avra who was always smiling and happy to help. Hes a credit to the team! Thank you to everyone at Avra for making our stay unforgettable and hope to see Crete again soon =)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your exceptional comments, your warm words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities and animation! Your recommendation to other travellers is sincere and we thank you for this.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel very very soon, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We can only agree with all the positive reviews posted on trip adviser. The staff in every department were exceptional, always helpful, cheerful and efficient. The pool bar staff make the best tea outside of the British Isles, well done Alex and team. The food variety and freshness can't be faulted. The two criticisms from a personal perspective are that we were not told it was a family hotel and were one couple of four that didn't have children, the dining experience was very noisy and the awful "wallpaper" music was everywhere. Very poor evening entertainment, probably as suggested because of the age of most of the children. On four evenings of fourteen there were three piano players( one of whom was superb) and a violinist, which we enjoyed, but, not to everybodys taste. Thank you all for a great holiday. Cazmick

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We do appreciate your kind words on our facilities and staff. Our evening entairtenment was indeed enriched a lot after the weather got better and our Animation Team got able to do their evening shows in the open air amphitheater, including Mini Disco every night for our little guests.

Thanking you for your warm words, we woud be delighted to welcome you and your family back in our premises!

Yours sincerely,
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here end of May 2014, for a friends wedding for one week.
Was not a cheap visit, for crete this is expensive hotel.

The hotel was really clean, and the rooms were really lovely and also big, I went with my husband and 3 year old daughter. we had an amazing view of the pool.
We did not have much luck with the weather, raining, cloudy and very windy, so not much to do.

I will start of with a few bad points:
The food was the same every day....lunch or dinner, became very boring and i felt was not much to choose, I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this hotel was very simple, so we had lunch there and in the evening went to the local places to eat which were lovely, facing the beach front, the staff were very friendly and not pricey at all.

2nd: the weather was very bad so was not able to use the outdoor pool, so asked to use the indoor pool and was not allowed as kids need to be 15 years or older so was turned away!!!
so was a very boring day for a 3 year old walking around the lobby all day long.
only when the weather is really bad open the indoor pool to everyone between 10-12, but on the one day they did this, we didn't see the small little sign which is in the lobby desk until 11.30am so was no point going!! the indoor pool is part of the spa, which we didn't no.


good points:

The pool is stunning, one of the best pools i have ever seen...BUT the water is like a freezer, i am not sure if this was becuz the weather was bad or it is always like this....not even my 3 year old would go in and she loves swimming.

the children's centre: this was a really nice area, small children's pool, indoor play area for drawing ( which was handy when the weather was bad) outdoor play area.
you can't leave kids there alone even tho has staff there, I overheard one of the staff telling a parent " leave your child here, but she has to look after herself, if she walks out we won't go after her" the child was 4 years old, i was shocked to hear this, but I would never leave my child there anyway.

I took beach towels with us, but you can get fresh towels each day by the pool which was very handy.
also the rooms had towels, a kettel, a empty fridge, a hair dryer, and a amazing shower, also a free safe.

Make sure you go to the local places to eat, the food is so much nicer, and also try the old town, which we went on our last day and was gutted as was so lovely, had lots of little shops, and lovely places to eat and lovely view.

the taxi's in crete we found very expensive, was 35 euro just to go to the old town one way, a few of our friends hired a car which was 20 euro a day so if your not scared to drive in a different country, its worth it.

also buy some mountain tea from the local little shops.

overall i would stay here again, the hotel is really new so everything is clean and lovely. but has not got much shops around the hotel so have to travel out.
the rooms are really lovely, you can also get a room with a small pool.
if the weather was better would have been fab.
for sure worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are sorry that the weather was not as expected, it was indeed a very cold May for Crete, which we are not even used to.
Nevertheless, there were plenty of activities taking place indoors by our animation team and the indoor heated pool was indeed open for children when the days did not allow outdoor swimming.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay, after all, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Arrived here after extensive investigation of hotels in Crete. Hotel is minimalist in design with clean lines and easily navigated. We were originally given a garden facing room with twin beds which we specifically did not request from our travel agent. Once we explained this to the front office manager we were upgraded to a wonderful room with a private pool. Feeling very decadent. We are here on half board which we can change from breakfast and lunch to breakfast and dinner . It is also possible to eat at the Italian Al la carte restaurant. Very hard working staff, very pleasant with a cheery hello whenever they pass one by. Rooms are spotless and maintained that way. The village has quite a few little coffee shops and Chania is a 25minute car ride away. Recommend a hired car as the location is quite secluded but there are all the necessities from the local shops INKA and others. Many children but not too noisy. Not much to do here in the evenings, that is where a car is useful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities and pool! Our staff is also grateful on your recognition of their hard and customer oriented work.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit in Crete!

Yours sincerely,

Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed there for a meeting for 10 days. It is a complete resort. It s very suitable for families and for meetings too. The meeting room was good and suitable for the meeting
It has great pools and spa. It was full of families with cute babies and toddlers. They were all enjoying the pools. I liked more to swim in the spa indoor pool as it's water was warmer than the pools. The beach is nice; however, water was so cold to swim in during my stay.
We ate at the main restaurant most of the time. The food is of great quality and mostly Greek. The restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room is good and kept clean. When I asked for a kittle to have my tea, they got me one immediately. The resort has a mini market for essential stuffs as tea , coffee or water etc.
the hotel itself is about 45 minutes away from Chania and it's in a quite neighborhood.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Amany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We were glad to learn that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us and you find our hotel a great place to stay and our conference Center well equipped. It’s also nice to know that you loved the breakfast in our Basilico Restaurant and have enjoyed the food and service in our premises.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chania very very soon!

Yours sincerely,
Athina Chaniotaki
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews