We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were at the Avra Imperial at the end of September, and had an amazing family holiday with our 3.5 year old and 6 month old. We had half board, and we were so pleased and pleasantly surprised at the amazing food each day in the buffet. Every day something different, for all the family. They have a kids station, usually including chips, but our son had a proper delicious meal each night - steak, casserole, rice, veg... and all the fruit was amazing for him!
Very few British families when we were there, mostly Scandinavian, and even though the hotel was full it didnt ever feel it. With all the different choice of pools, or beach, it never felt crowded.
Would recommended the little taverna right next to the hotel, lovely local food at very good price, with excellent friendly service.
The only negative we could say is that they could do with a tea/coffee maker in your room!
If we were the kind of people to go back to the same hotel or resort, we would definitely return, but we have more places to explore.... .I just hope they live up to Avra!

Room Tip: Pool view was amazing. We were close to restaurant / bar area but it didn't keep us awake (even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8andSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your kind words and positive comments on our food variety are much appreciated! We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to stay for leisure and for adults & children!

We sincerely appreciate your high recommendation of us to other travelers and also look forward to welcoming you as our guest once again.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    280
    77
    27
    11
See reviews for
459
366
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight back to the UK. Reception staff very friendly as was the bell boy who took us to our room. We booked a normal double room & wow it was great with large balcony, modern bathroom & very nice bed.....would have loved to have seen a more superior room as this was very nice indeed & had complimentary fruit, wine & water !!! Dinner in the buffet restaurant was the best we have eaten with a huge choice including Duck Breast, Asparagus, Sautéed Wild Mushrooms & so much more. We had a couple of drinks that where a great price for a 5 star hotel & then hit the room as we wanted to be up early for our last day of sunshine. Breakfast was superb with a huge selection of everything you could imagine. The pool area is amazing with plenty of sun loungers, it also has a fresh water main pool as well as a salt water pool both stunning. We had left a bag to get changed in the spa locker room & had our last hour in the spa using the steam room & heated pool with massage bubble chairs & huge Jacuzzi.....it was perfect !!!
We had been in Crete for 9 days & had a wonderful trip but our last night was a great choice & we are going to book a week next year.
The only slight downside was that the hotel seemed to lack entertainment in the evening after dinner....maybe it would keep the bar more busy if it had.

Room Tip: 11212 is a great room close to the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMiller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your kind words and positive comments on our food quality are much appreciated! We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to stay for leisure!

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back should you visit Crete again in a not too distant future!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel not expecting to see so many kids running on the resort. But I'm glad I did, as I know for the future this is a great place to bring them. Entertainment seemed amazing and everyone was always entertained with the many different activites they had.
Make sure to mention in your booking that you want a main pool view room or else they will place you in a room at the other end of the resort across the street. Lucky enough they moved us to the main building. Nothing wrong if you want a more peaceful area.
Rooms were great, large and modern. The buffet dinner was fantastic. There was a large variety and everyday it was different each time. Restaurants onsite were pretty good. It's nice that they bring a chef from the country the food is from. Italian restaurant = chef from Italy.
The beach is across an empty street, which looks nice, though it is rocky. Spa was beautiful and definitely take advantage as there are a lot of free perks. Komlybari is a great small town with a nice cafe beside the hotel and further down there are cute little shops and restaurants.
The only downside of this hotel is their wi-fi connection. It would always kick you off, maybe due to all the kids playing games on their ipads in the lobby or maybe just due to high volume ;)
Would I stay here again??? Only with my family.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank opasna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
What gives us great pleasure and satisfaction are positive people and comments on our services and staff!
We sincerely appreciate your high recommendation of us to other travelers and also look forward to welcoming you and your family once again.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

HIghlight of this resort is the huge sparkling swimming pool. Ideally suited to families who just want to relax, the location is quite a long way from the airport and the cultural hot spots of Crete. Staff who cleaned rooms, in the shops and hairdresser's were particularly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the bar and main restaurant which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yclept14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are delighted to read your comments on our premises and services as well as your reference to the hairdresser and house keeping staff! We truly look forward to welcoming you for the third time in Chania!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

As close to a real 5 star as you will find in Greece. Rooms and food very good and pools and facilities for children are excellent. We had a 3 year old who loved it but couples beware that it is geared and tends to be dominated by children. We were there last week in September and most residents were Scandinavian.
There is no kettle in your room so take one with you if you want tea/coffee in your room (they want you to use room service).
Car hire in the hotel is much more expensive than in the village (or even pre booked) but the cars are older!!
The Diktina in the village is very good as is the old Olive Mill on the sea front where the after dinner drinks are much cheaper than the hotel.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are delighted to read your comments on our premises and services!
We truly look forward to welcoming you for the third tome in Chania!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Amazing and already planning our next trip.
The service is second to non and the food is equivalent to that of a 5 star hotel.
We would like to thank the reception staff particularly for making our stay a memorable one.
Looking forward to seeing you again next year...thank you

Room Tip: Deluxe with private pool.....special
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calamityx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your kind words on our Reception team are shared with everyone and, of course, well appreciated.
We are doing our best to keep the quality of our services excellent and your feedback is more than welcome!

We would be delighted to welcome you back in our premises during your next visit!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great Modern hotel, clean Rooms, Food in the main restaurant was very good with plenty of choice for both Breakfast, Lunch and Diner.
Great entertainment for kids.

On the down side, Service was poor my the pool and in the Main restaurant...just seemed that they didn't have a clue.

Family room was noisy as it was located above the garbage bins.


Overall very expensive and not a 5 star service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Διευθυντής at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

Your comments are indeed very helpful and honest, much appreciated; we are doing our best to offer our guests unique experience, being motivated and guided by your opinion.

We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We place great value on your opinion and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Greece.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
30.5 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Kolymbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing