We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great Modern hotel, clean Rooms, Food in the main restaurant was very good with plenty of choice for both Breakfast, Lunch and Diner.
Great entertainment for kids.

On the down side, Service was poor my the pool and in the Main restaurant...just seemed that they didn't have a clue.

Family room was noisy as it was located above the garbage bins.


Overall very expensive and not a 5 star service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Διευθυντής at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

Your comments are indeed very helpful and honest, much appreciated; we are doing our best to offer our guests unique experience, being motivated and guided by your opinion.

We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We place great value on your opinion and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Greece.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Avra Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here first week in September and after an initial disappointment regarding the position and outlook from our room the reservation team very swiftly allocated us another room with a pool view. The rooms are very nice, modern and met all our expectations for comfort and cleanliness.

We ate mainly from the Buffett restraunt and were more than satisfied with the quality and choice on offer. My only slight criticism would be that the hot food on offer tended to be nit as hot as should be but please do not be put off by this comment, if there is a better buffet of choice and quality We have yet to experience it.Tthis hotel whils not perfection is a very nice place to stay whether couples (like us) or with a family who are very well catered for by an enthusiastic and talented entertainment team.

The surrounding village is very nice with plenty of choice of bars and Tavernas and we would most definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the extreme left position which overlook waste ground
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunmMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are very happy to read that you found our welcome warm and enjoyed our rooms and facilities!
We are grateful for your recommendation as a place to spend your holidays, relax and enjoy summer!
We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with very nice stuff. Restaurants are good but a bit expensive, excellent SPA. Take a car to go to nice beaches as the one next to the hotel has stones and hard entrance. But buying shoes it will be ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us last year, during your visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experiences at our USPA and pools. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest. We will do all we can to ensure that you leave with many happy, wonderful memories once again!!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent a lazy week at this hotel our room was one with a small pool.

We enjoyed everything about the hotel, the room was nice and the quality of food was on the main very good.

Kolymbari itself is very pretty with a good selection of restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay and gave us the opportunity to make your vacation unique.
We are delighted to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this resort mainly because of it was not in a center of party but little bit further in a small village. We didn´t know that it was so great place!
Location: in a small village of Kolumbari. No other hotels/resorts nearby, but still great restaurants nearby. Walking (5 min) distance to the harbour and there you will find 6-8 great seafood restaurnts, of course with a best view! In the village there was few shops, no big shopping possible.
Resort: Beautiful, new 4* resort. Nice architecture, especially lightning in the evening. Lot of families, but so were we travelling with our baby (9m) as well. Great area for the pools, also one with seawater. From the bigger pool there was separated are for the children's. Another pool for children's next to the playground and children's club. Another pool area for the people who stayed at annex building (which we did) and pool bar. 200 meters walk to the sea, but there was own area for the resort guest with a beach bar.
Room: We had a standard double room. It was located in the annex building, connected to the main resort with a bridge over the street. First we thought that it is not nice to stay there, but then we loved that it was little bit in its own peace and with own pool area. It takes 2 minutes to walk to the breakfast, so it is not far. Also there was a nice view from the room to the sea. From the main building the view is mainly to the pool.
Restaurants: We did only the Italian for the dinner once, all other evenings we went to the seafront restaurants in the village. For the lunch we had something from the pool bar and once very good pizzas from the Italian (nice location on "top" off the seawater pool). There was also the buffet (we had only breakfast) and Asian style restaurant by the pool. Breakfast was quite crowded between 9:30-10:30 but didn't had to wait for the table never.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex building are quieter and with a own pool area and pool bar.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay and gave us the opportunity to make your vacation unique.

We are delighted to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this 5 star hotel the second week in September not expecting so many families with really young children, from just a few months upwards. This resulted in lots of prams in the restaurant and even i-pads showing cartoons on the tables to keep the children amused while parents were eating. Both these points we found trying at times.
The variey of food was generally good both at breakfast and dinner and the service was good.
The pool area was excellent and it was just a short walk to the clean pebbled beach where there were free sunbeds. These were all taken early so more were needed.
We had a room on the side with a view towards the harbour. This suited us as it was cooler than those overlooking the pool area. This hotel does offer rooms with their own pool which I can imagine would be an advantage during the high season when the pool area must become very crowded

Room Tip: Want something different have your own pool but the standard double was roomy and very good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
The whole team of Avra Imperial is indeed pleased to read that you have enjoyed our premises and services, we look forward to welcoming you back in Summer 2014!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband, 23 month old son and I were shipped off to this hotel to celebrate our 7 year wedding anniversary for two nights, we had booked Porto Platanias Plaza and were told that due to being fully booked we could go to Avra for two nights and spend the remainder 5 nights at Porto Platanias.
We agreed upon as Avral looked amazing online and in brochures.
We were welcomed with open arms, a lovely spacious room with wine and fruit and a complimentary anniversary chocolate cake was presented to us when we had dinner which was wonderful. My son had a lovely cot to sleep in and our bed was perfect big and comfortable.
We were under Full Board so we had breakfast, lunch and dinner which was buffet style, varied fresh and very tasty, my son even enjoyed picking and trying different foods. I have to add the cakes were delicious! Chefs were also on hand openly cooking if one wished.
The pool was amazing, child friendly and there was no need to race early in the morning for a lounger.
When our two nights were up we were transported like VIPs back to Porto Platanias - much to our dismay :-( We had a look around at the pool, holidaymakers and location and decided it was not for us so we asked if we could pay the difference and go back to Avra Imperial,

Thankfully, Avra agreed and we were able to have our old room back again and enjoy the remainder of our holiday at this beautiful hotel! The team of people who were at our service were amazing, all very friendly especially Stella and George!

My son loved them as did they him, it made such a difference - we felt as though we had known of this place before and been before - very very very pleased with everything Avra and the people had to offer us and we will most definitely be back next year.

As a few people have mentioned this place is not lively in the sense that its not for those who like hustle and bustle or nightlife. This was our first holiday with our little one and it was perfect we have some lovely memories and would recommend highly to others. Great for families and young families who want security, safety and relaxation.

Thank you very much Avra Imperial (in particular Stella and George - we miss you!!!!!!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kulbinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your kind words on our team members and premises are shared with everyone and, of course, well appreciated.
We are doing our best to keep the quality of our services excellent and your feedback is more than welcome and we would be delighted to welcome you back in our premises during your next visit!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
111.6 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
110.9 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Address: KOLYMVARI, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range: $121 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing