We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Avra Imperial has great pool areas, excellent buffet food and stylish premises. All in all, we enjoyed our week-long stay there. It is a very good hotel, but for the reasons expressed below, describing it as five-star is in my opinion misleading.

The fact is, all of the criticisms expressed in earlier reviews still hold true. The showers overflow, the poolview rooms have poor sound insulation and lots of noise from live music/other rooms, the towel system is counterintuitive and there was a complete lack of written instructions or signposts at the hotel - the only text I discovered around the premises was in ancient Minoan, engraved on the walls!

However, our main peeve was the service at the buffet, or rather lack thereof. We regularly had to wait fifteen+ minutes for our tea/coffee or drinks, and in general found the service unenthusiastic and slow. The buffet also resembled a canteen: a big, impersonal hall full of noise and children running around. Notably, on Wednesday when the hotel was much emptier, the service at the buffet was decent. This seems to indicate that their buffet normally has too few/too inefficient table staff.

The service at the minimarket and the spa was very good. I cannot help feeling that we got good service because we were paying customers there, but the table staff at the buffet perhaps had no incentive to provide good service, as we had already paid for an inclusive package at the buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arttu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We reviewed all your points in detail with the concerned heads of departments and have taken your comments and matters mentioned above into a further investigation point during your stay.

We hope that your next experience with us will be up to your expectations and we would be more than happy to welcome you back to our premises.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Firstly I must say that the hotel, grounds and pools are excellent.

Whilst it is a very big hotel there is a sense of calm and although there were many people staying during our visit service was always quick and efficient.

The room was spacious a very clean. My only slight grumble is one day the cleaners forgot to clean our room and I had to call reception a couple of times to get someone to come and do it.

Overall we had a lovely time, very nice hotel in a very nice area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBmth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just got back from a very relaxing week at this hotel. The majority of the hotel is excellent. We had a minor issue at the start as we had booked a room with a private pool but had not got one. However the issue was resolved within the hour and we got a room on the other side of the hotel. This was much better as it was so quiet! One day it was that nice that there was only us and two other groups around the pool. I would definitely recommend a room with a private pool, however on our side we had no sun after about 11 am. This was unfortunate. The rooms are definitely five star! Very clean and very modern.

The dining experience wasn't brilliant. It was very busy and one night we had to wait forty minutes for a table. Every other night we made sure we went for dinner early. Staff are very friendly and work hard but there was a lack of them in the restaurant. Sometimes we waited ages to order drinks. The food was good.

The biggest downfall was the area. We were expecting there to be little to do however it was much quieter than we expected. Therefore we found the evenings a little boring. We did go to the bar in the hotel a couple of times but that was dead. Along with other people who have wrote reviews I don't know where everybody goes at night.

Overall we had an enjoyable week here but wouldn't return again. The spa and the rooms are definitely five star. The area lets the hotel down so we will go somewhere a bit more livelier next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay and gave us the opportunity to make your vacation unique.

We are delighted to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel and facilities were simply excellent, we had a room with a private pool in block 17 which had both sun and shade from morning until night. The little pool was about 4 or 5 meters square and was excellent. The staff were also excellent and friendly and everyone spoke English.

The rating would be 5 star except for the huge number of children and considering that we had specifically chosen a time when all the British and Western European children would be at school. The presence of literally hundreds of children were not expected. I would estimate that 40-50% of all the people at the hotel/resort would have been under 10 years of age. This made eating in the main restaurant a messy, irritating and extremely noisy affair with children running around everywhere. Poolside was not much better with ear piercing squeals a regular occurance.

If you have a young family it would be perfect, if not it's less than ideal, hence the less than perfect rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angrydba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay at this luxorious and well-designed hotel. The pool is incredible even though it was a little cold (may 2013). Very was the animation by Steven, Roberto and Ania, who did a great job in motivating the guests to play funny games like darts, waterpolo or boule ;) j

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliankp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I had a deluxe room with own private pool. Totally exceeded our expectations. King Size bed (it was like sleeping on a cloud). Private pool and veranda which was out of this world. Food amazing, had no grumbles at all. Would 100% go back tomorrow!

All these people who have given bad reviews need to get a life!!

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe room with private pool, you will not be disappointed. I have travelled many places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words, comments and recommendation and are indeed happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and food!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel on a family holiday in late May. We had a 5 year old child and were expecting the usual mini club for children so she could enjoy some time with kids and play.
we were surprised to see that the mini club is ran pretty much exclusively for Scandinavian children and no one really speaks English. Even the board games in the mini club do not have an English translation. This made it pretty much impossible to motivate the young one to be involved in children's activities.
It was low season so the evening entertainment had not started yet but the hotel entertainment team did offer some activities during the day such as darts and water polo. Steven, Ania and Roberto were amazing, as they really made an effort to cheer people up and got our daughter's attention quite often.
The rooms are well designed and the food is OK, although there was a limited variety.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backandforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are delighted to read your review, along with the thoughtful observations made, which we take into great consideration for further amelioration of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa on a next visit of yours in Crete!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,193 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
111.6 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
110.9 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Address: Kolymvari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range: $117 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing