We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avra Imperial-Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avra Imperial-Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been in this hotel in August 2012. Hotel has a fantastic location - separate clean and nice beach in the immediate vicinity. Modern and large rooms (we had Double Superior without pool), very good service. Very clean, delicious and variable food. We have been there 2 weeks and did not have time to try everything. Advise: if you have the opportunity to purchase the full board in advance - do it, it worth money. But what's best about this hotel is the service. Staff is friendly. In a few days we felt like a family visit. We want to thank everyone who works there for fantastic holiday. Especially Spa team: Alyona, Athena and Michael, and restaurant manager Alex. The only notice: training room is not suitable for a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your kind words on our team members and premises are shared with everyone and, of course, well appreciated.
We are doing our best to keep the quality of our services excellent and your feedback is more than welcome!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    280
    77
    26
    11
See reviews for
459
366
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family & I have stayed for a week end August 2012. We have visited other 5 star resorts in the Far East and Maurities. We have had the most perfect vacation here. The resort is beautiful and new with so many special details such as the private pools. All the different pools in public areas suits all agegroups and taste. All pools are different and the largest pool has glass walls on one side.
Food is absolutely delicious, we must have gained several kilos. Breakfast has everything you can imagine....and even more.
Service in restaurants are not the same as the far east, but we don`t mind that service is different in each country. It´s a huge resort, we didn`t expect personal service in such a huge place. Cleaning could be better, I agree with the other posts, however after complaining it was redone. You have pool towels chaged everyday which we didn´t have anywhere else.
I happened to have my birthday during my stay, and the hotel staff arranged for a cake after our dinner, which was very nice and unexpected.
The animation team is doing a great job and during the week we have had so many laughs and smiles with the entertainment and especially with the "Macacao" song/dance. Really enjoyed it!
I can definately recommend this resort and we hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amida16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are more than happy to read all your kind words on how much you enjoyed your vacation and gained some beautiful experiences in Crete.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and let us invite you to spend your special moments, such as your birthday, back with us!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The internet shows this as a really good looking hotel with amazing big pool.

Is so. But wonder and joy at this soon waves off at rude and unhelpful stuff.

Also must say I am a Russian who lives in Israel. I do not know if it is cultural deference's but I found this hotel even more noisy and bothersome then kid-oriented hotels is Israel. Cause for this was apparently a whole lot of Greece people apparently not staying at the hotel even! Why they were there I do not know. Atmosphere of an average Greek's city swimming pool.


This hotel pride itself with a 5 star level to its name . service is just not good enough. things i would expect and accept at 3 tar hotel. definitely not 4.

what made it worse i took a shared pool room. everyone can walk past your room and porch and look inside. room is at the hotel/pool promenade to the sea. very noisy and bothersome. also kids for next room of the shared pool swim all around the shared pool shouting all the time. cant sleep at noon because of that. cant enjoy the pool because it is in the Shade and it is cold this time of year. spend more time at the usual pool. then asked for a better/ quieter room. got a private-pool room with terrific sea view. this room was kind of ok. at evening sleep can be only after 10 pm because shows of entertainment is outside room 40 meters at a amphitheater. joy of life !

food was not bas but just to drab and annoying to eat. to cooked or just un appetizing. went to eat more times outside in near and very cheap ! restaurants at evening then at the hotel restaurant.

when we left this hotel my mom asked about this hotel and if i recommend it. i said sure ! if it was half the price...

also this hotel problem is it is stuck in a little village that looks like slums. nothing todo around. disgusting broken paivment and abandoned houses around. hmmmm.

and spa is very very nice but so expensive it is actually laughable prices. who will pay this rates ?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank palinaya e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We appreciate your comments on our premises, staff and services. We do offer 9 different room types, hoping to cover all guests’ wishes according to their needs. Since you were changed to a private pool room type, and found that it covered your needs more sufficiently, maybe next time that should be your choice for pleasant vacation!
We will work harder and do our best to gain back your trust during your next visit!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is the best place for relaxation. Spacious rooms, with sharing or private pool, well designed, clean and quite. Friendly and polite staff. There is an *amazing* swimming pool, a very good spa, sauna & hamam area.
They need to fix the central air condition (water drops wet the floor of the room).
The food is nice but the sweets should be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are more than happy to receive your kind feedback which we have shared with the Team. Our USPA and main pool are some of the gems of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa and we are glad you enjoyed it to the fullest.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Chania, we remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We highly recommend Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa. It`s a wonderful hotel for relaxation and having quality time. We travelled back for the second time in three months, and our second stay was even better than the first. The staff is very serviceminded, check in was the quickest ever, we were driven in a golf car from the reception to our room, and well taken care of from the very first moment.. Even our luggage was carried to our room by the staff!
Although the hotel had far more visitors in August than in May, it was still the same calm atmosphere. The pools are large and beautiful with both sea -and fresh water. Despite the absence of waterslides our kids enjoyed the pools as much as we did. New pool-towels were provided from the minimarket every day free of charge.
The large breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic. We never had problem finding a table, the food was marvellous and the staff were nice and observant.
For training we used the tenniscourt several times and the fitness room in the spa area. Gym equipment could be upgraded to better quality, it didn`t work properly. An option to the treadmill was running on the beach. Bring along good shoes since most of the beach is stones and not sand.
The animation team were friendly yet unobtrusive, but they should not do the evening shows since all of them are not qualified to work on stage.
Kolimbari is a quiet place, perfect for a family holiday. Few but nice restaurants, both in the hotel and the local area. Hotel area/ buildings and rooms are beautifully and tastefully constructed and gives you the feeling of luxury. We had a wonderful time and we definitely want to go back for a third time as soon as possible!!! Thank you all at Avra and especially thanks to the relation manager for giving us nice memories!!! Greetings from Norway!!

Room Tip: Close to the beach or nearby the church is quiet, with a beautiful view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your comments are the greatest award we can receive and, of course, we are honored that you chose to spend your vacation for the second time with us!
Hoping to see you soon again in our premises and our team will do its best to reassure that your vacation is unique!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reda, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent hotel in Cretian slums. Looks like somebody placed a nicely design building in remote outpost of Crete. There is completely nothing outside the hotel that is worth to see. Take a bus to Xania if you like some old city tour and sea food restaurant. Hotel was build in hurry and there is a lot of details unfinished. Another thing is number of kids which is massive and noisy at the restaurant and at the pool as well where there is no sunbeds available after breakfast.A breakfast was a total disaster for waiters and guests due to lack of coordination. I would not class this hotel as a 5 star in my opinion. However the good things are: food, restaurant, spa, swimming pools , rooms ( design ), stuff very helpful. The beach is rocky but water clarity is awesome. Don1t spoil your time walking down the street to the left or to the right because you may find deserted and demolished buildings and there is no pavement for pedestrians.

Room Tip: We have stayed in family room with pool view which was great. Room was quiet and comfortable with sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Marek,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services, staff and facilities were pleasant to you.
Our brand new hotel, operating for the first time in 2011, is indeed well placed in the quite village of Kolimbari, offering luxury in a great location.
We sincerely appreciate your recommendation in order to improve our services and facilities since your feedback is what matters the most to us!
If there is any assistance that you may require with any future booking, please do not hesitate to contacting us directly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa in the near future!


Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This particular unit is new, luxurious, well equipped and enjoyable. We visited in the first months of the opening in Summer 2011. We had one of the many rooms with private pool. One of the advantages of the first opening season was that the spa section was accessible by our kid who enjoyed the Jacuzzi and other waterfalls very much. We suggested the hotel to numerous friends who informed us that this year the spa section is limited to adults over 15 years old. Still it is a great unit with large rooms, many amenities and as the last friends who visited this year told us - even better food than last year. Best quality to price ratio. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear John,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay and gave us the opportunity to make your vacation unique.

We are delighted to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We are grateful for your personal recommendation as a place to stay for a holiday or for business purposes.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
30.5 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Kolymbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing