We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for the second time!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Porsgrunn, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back for the second time!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We highly recommend Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa. It`s a wonderful hotel for relaxation and having quality time. We travelled back for the second time in three months, and our second stay was even better than the first. The staff is very serviceminded, check in was the quickest ever, we were driven in a golf car from the reception to our room, and well taken care of from the very first moment.. Even our luggage was carried to our room by the staff!
Although the hotel had far more visitors in August than in May, it was still the same calm atmosphere. The pools are large and beautiful with both sea -and fresh water. Despite the absence of waterslides our kids enjoyed the pools as much as we did. New pool-towels were provided from the minimarket every day free of charge.
The large breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic. We never had problem finding a table, the food was marvellous and the staff were nice and observant.
For training we used the tenniscourt several times and the fitness room in the spa area. Gym equipment could be upgraded to better quality, it didn`t work properly. An option to the treadmill was running on the beach. Bring along good shoes since most of the beach is stones and not sand.
The animation team were friendly yet unobtrusive, but they should not do the evening shows since all of them are not qualified to work on stage.
Kolimbari is a quiet place, perfect for a family holiday. Few but nice restaurants, both in the hotel and the local area. Hotel area/ buildings and rooms are beautifully and tastefully constructed and gives you the feeling of luxury. We had a wonderful time and we definitely want to go back for a third time as soon as possible!!! Thank you all at Avra and especially thanks to the relation manager for giving us nice memories!!! Greetings from Norway!!

Room Tip: Close to the beach or nearby the church is quiet, with a beautiful view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your comments are the greatest award we can receive and, of course, we are honored that you chose to spend your vacation for the second time with us!
Hoping to see you soon again in our premises and our team will do its best to reassure that your vacation is unique!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    299
    78
    30
    12
See reviews for
481
394
19
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reda, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent hotel in Cretian slums. Looks like somebody placed a nicely design building in remote outpost of Crete. There is completely nothing outside the hotel that is worth to see. Take a bus to Xania if you like some old city tour and sea food restaurant. Hotel was build in hurry and there is a lot of details unfinished. Another thing is number of kids which is massive and noisy at the restaurant and at the pool as well where there is no sunbeds available after breakfast.A breakfast was a total disaster for waiters and guests due to lack of coordination. I would not class this hotel as a 5 star in my opinion. However the good things are: food, restaurant, spa, swimming pools , rooms ( design ), stuff very helpful. The beach is rocky but water clarity is awesome. Don1t spoil your time walking down the street to the left or to the right because you may find deserted and demolished buildings and there is no pavement for pedestrians.

Room Tip: We have stayed in family room with pool view which was great. Room was quiet and comfortable with sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Marek,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services, staff and facilities were pleasant to you.
Our brand new hotel, operating for the first time in 2011, is indeed well placed in the quite village of Kolimbari, offering luxury in a great location.
We sincerely appreciate your recommendation in order to improve our services and facilities since your feedback is what matters the most to us!
If there is any assistance that you may require with any future booking, please do not hesitate to contacting us directly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa in the near future!


Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This particular unit is new, luxurious, well equipped and enjoyable. We visited in the first months of the opening in Summer 2011. We had one of the many rooms with private pool. One of the advantages of the first opening season was that the spa section was accessible by our kid who enjoyed the Jacuzzi and other waterfalls very much. We suggested the hotel to numerous friends who informed us that this year the spa section is limited to adults over 15 years old. Still it is a great unit with large rooms, many amenities and as the last friends who visited this year told us - even better food than last year. Best quality to price ratio. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear John,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay and gave us the opportunity to make your vacation unique.

We are delighted to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We are grateful for your personal recommendation as a place to stay for a holiday or for business purposes.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Positives first: the rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. All rooms have also a very spacious balcony and many of the rooms have private pools that look amazing. We stayed at a standard room, but if you can afford the extra cost, go for the private pool. Also the pool is very nice, both for adults can for the kids. If you are travelling with small children they will also love the lollo& bernie kids club + activities. Also staff is very friendly and polite. So, all in all lot's of positives things to day about the hotel.

How ever i would like to mention a couple of watch-out's. The beach isnt very nice, so if you are looking for soft sandy beach, this isnt the place for you. For us this wasnt a problem as we prefer the pool. The biggest drawback for us was (and still is, as we are still staying at the hotel) the nightly performances ( bands, cabare singers, karaoke etc.) that take place every night at the main restaurant. This is very annoying as they play so loud that it's very difficult to sleep in this noice. For those that are travelling without children this night not be a problem, but as we were travelling with a small baby we felt this was quite unpolite and frankly quite disturbing. I would strongly recommend to ask for a room as far from the main restaurant as possible, when booking for the hotel.

Dispite these few things, i still think the hotel is very nice and would recommend it especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolasfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Nicolas,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our services and activities. Thank you as well for your kind comments about our staff, we will share this with our team.

Regarding the nightly performances, they take place in the frames of making our guests’ experience unique and provide the best we can from Greek culture, high quality music and entertaining options. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused!

All in all, we are happy that we contributed in making your 2012 holidays a period to remember and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Chania again!

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

All the reviews of this hotel on trip advisor say it all. In a nut shell this hotel has enormous potential....the Spa, Pool and finally the full board food offer are fantastic....BUT at the moment if the Owner and Managemeny DON'T listen to the feedback they are getting then I'm afraid this hotel could be a flash in the pan simply due to economies of scale and eventual draw back of guests.
There are ONLY 3 main draw backs at the hotel which could be its downfall.
I just hope the owner can fix the faults;
read and listen to his guests feedback and improve so that the hotel
kicks into the gear it should be in.
Here are the issues:
1. If your a family with young kids (ours are 3 and 5) then unless your prepared to get up at 7am every day then if the hotel is about 80% full you will not get a sun lounger. The hotel is getting complaint after complaint and unfortunately the issue boils down to the architectural planning in that there is a ratio allocation issue of accommodation to relaxation areas that simply cannot cater for the numbers of guests. there is no management policy in place to sort this out- they try but fail big time! Purely on this basis I would not stay here again as its a big stress with the kids and a family headache for anyone. it will definately cause you some family
stresses. we saw guests argue each day with each other and people resort to moving other guests towels. It's a big issue and annoying for any young family. I hope VING operations staff in Scandinavia read this and the hotel owner and you fix the problem.
2. Staff: there are a few staff who are quite simply fantastic...but this is purely down to their own beautiful Greek personality. However there is a problem overall as there are many untrained staff on temporary placement in Greece; coming from Romania----which is fine---/but the staff level of training is in general poor and in some cases the staff are down right arrogant.
3. Prices: buying food or drinks at the hotel is an absolute rip off. Many customers complain about this openly; even customers from Norway. €9 for a vodka tonic, €14 for a salad; €3.5 for a can of coke etc.

I would defiantly stay again as long as seating around pool is improved.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan72Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are more than happy to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and services and your complimenting comments on our rooms, pool and areas!
Your comments are indeed very helpful and honest, much appreciated; we are doing our best to offer our guests unique experience, being motivated and guided by your opinion.
We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We place great value on your opinion and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Greece.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were luckily upgraded to this resort at no extra charge as our near-by hotel room's AC broke down. The staff was extremely hospitable, showing care and concern as we arrived very late and helped us book a car at the last minute without much availability. It was our honeymoon and we were welcomed to a spacious room, with a bowl of fruit, complimentary wine and bottle of water. The water pressure in the shower is exceptional. The greatest treat though was the buffet breakfast, which is highly recommended. Fresh juice, frappes, fruit, crepes, omelette station, many cheeses, cakes and really anything you can think of. The buffet dinner looked great as well, and was 25 euro but we did not do it. The pools are amazingly designed and the amenities in general are wonderful to enjoy. The spa area (sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and cool water pool) are wonderful and free. The beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel as well. The Italian restaurant on the grounds has wonderful food, but definitely overpriced. A simple salad (tomato/cucumber) was not on the menu and when asked for one, I was told they would have to charge 12-14 euro like the other fancier salads which was definitely off putting. Service at the restaurant was also extremely slow. The only problem is that this hotel is far from the Chania airport, about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our premises and services; we take great pride in our USPA and food quality.
Our Executive Chef was indeed pleased with your recognition and we all look forward to welcoming you again for your next vacation!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel overall design and setup in terms of smart space planning, great rooms and baths, integration with the small village its located in and fun / pool area's is really done well with a lot of clever planning. On top of the really nice rooms and outstanding pool the real highlight is the food, in terms of verity and quality - 6 stars to the chef.
Things to improve - I agree that the cleaning is far from being perfect but it was good enough to my opinion, children and evening activities - needs to be upgraded, the artistes that performed where not at the level you expect at this type of location.

Things to consider when booking your vacation
1 - Hotel location, a rental car is a most have if you plan on someday travel and Crete is well worth it
2 - Like any other high class hotel it better to do your small snacks and mineral water shopping in the nearby grocery store (5 min walk), the prices in the hotel are in a factor of X5

Explore by foot the area and the nearby port, its really nice especially at night time

Over all highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
What gives us great pleasure and satisfaction are positive people and comments on our services and staff, which of course we share with everybody!
Kolimbari is indeed a beautiful area to explore with different aspects and views, as it combines sea and mountain. We are very glad you took the time to enjoy Chania!
We sincerely appreciate your high recommendation of us to other travelers and also look forward to welcoming you as our guest once again.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
855 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Property: Avra Imperial Hotel
Address: KOLYMVARI, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing