We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad marketing and PR destroys good impression of Avra Imperial...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at a family room pool view from 02/07/12 till 09/07/12, payed 1750 euros to travel planet 24 for the same room and half board with most tenants that made the reservation same period of time, instead of 650 that all others paid through Manessis and Herodotos travel agencies, so that makes as total jerks!!!!
The level of cleaness was totally disapointing in the room, balcony, bathroom and corridors.My son who is 2.5 years old peed at the balkony and although I asked the cleaning lady to clean it the stamp was there for the whole of our stay.Sheets were not changred for the total of 6 days and when I complained about it Mrs Helena who is the PR person of the hotel told me that I should have read the booklet the receptionist gave us during the checking in, in which it says that sheets are changed after asking for it!!!!! I did not know that I have to read in my vacation in order to have my sheets changed!!!!
Last, but not least, day 6th I was chasing a huge cochroach aroung the room, which finally disappeared behind the wooden headrest of the bed. When I asked for disinfection Mrs Helena said not to worry about, since they will take care of it. They did absolutely nothing about it, hoping that the cochroach will not appear again, but, unfortunately we end up chasing her AGAIN at 3.30 in the morning of our last day. The cold and accusing behavior of Mrs Helena was inexplicable. They did absolutely nothing to please us after: 1) having paid so much money, 2) never cleaned the room properly, 3) did nothing for the cocrouch. They just said sorry for the inconvenience when we were leaving.
Such a beatifull hotel without PR proper standing.
Congratulations to Mateo and Julianno from the animation team.
Food was excellent and the people working at the resteurant like Despina were great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Zoe,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

We reviewed all your points in detail with the concerned head of departments and have taken your comments and matters mentioned above into a further investigation point.
We do apologize that your experience with us was not up to your expectations but we would be more than happy to welcome you back to our premises, meet you and win back your trust!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Food was excellent with wide range in choice. hotel very modern with lovely big rooms. location is downside as very little in village and hire car required but local bus can be taken into Chania but does take about 1 hour.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SootyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!

Your kind words and positive comments on our food quality are much appreciated! We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to stay for leisure, and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back should you visit Crete again in a not too distant future!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel.. the infrastructure is there but the training of the staff is poor. The Spa holds a 5 star, but the restaurants are far from it due to the service, the food was well prepared; how ever that does not compensate when the service is lacking. Lacking not due tho the effort but due to lack of training and availeability.
Bad and unconsistent cleaning. the complete lack of Pool attendants left the childrens pool with floating submarines more than once...

Room Tip: None of the private pools has sun all day - be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ragnar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.

Your remarks and suggestions are taken into serious consideration and shared with all Heads of Departments in order to reassure every customer’s satisfaction.
We would be more than happy to welcome you to our hotel on your next visit in Crete, meet you and win back your trust.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

loved this resort because its so beautiful place with many pools, restaurants and bars. I loved my room, and the modern style of the hotel. Next time i will get a room with my own pool. The SPA - USPA was one of the best i have ever visited, and the Staff were very professional. I loved my treatments done by Kiryaki and Michael. I travelled all by myself for a week, but never felt lonely.... Everyone will definately love this paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsTraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities, services and food and delighted to be considered to be a “paradise”! We have also shared your comments with Kiriaki, Michael and the staff and they are all happy for your appreciation.
We would be honored to have you back to our hotel some time soon and contribute once again into making your vacation unique.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went last year for the first time and we were really amazed by the service and the surroundings of the hotel, as well as the amenities in the room. That's why we visited it again this year for a marvellous weekend. To be more specific, the staff is polite and it seems to be a genuine attitude, not the fake one we usually experience in hotels. The pools are very clean and really big, so you don't bumb into another while swimming. The beach is also nice and very clean. Last but not least, the food tastes really good and it's nothing like the "plastic" one you find in all inclusive hotels. Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank so_simple_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us last year, during your visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experiences at our restaurants and pools. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest. We will do all we can to ensure that you leave with many happy, wonderful memories once again!!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Many thanks to the management and the staff in Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa in which spent a wonderful three days (June 2nd till 4th) with my two children.
We were warmly greeted upon arrival and were given a wonderful upgrade to a beautiful room with a sharing pool, where a large fruit bowl and bottle of wine awaited.
The buffet breakfast and dinner was delicious and extensive.
In sum, a wonderful hotel with outstanding service and many enertainment choises.
We recommend it highly and would certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment

We are very happy to read that you found our welcome warm and enjoyed our rooms and facilities! We do show extra care to our little guests so that they can fill their luggage with beautiful experiences!
We are grateful for your personal recommendation as a place to spend your holidays, relax and enjoy summer!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I went with my wife for a weekend and we enjoyed the hotel very much.
The hotel was amazing. the beach was beutiful and quiet. the pool were so big and amazingly designed. the rooms were very convenient. the food was pretty good, offering a big variety of dishes for dinner. I am definetely going bacj there on my next vacation.
the only minus was the beds being separated. all the rest was superb!

Room Tip: I ordered the most basic room, and we got an amazing room facing the pool and close to the beach. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words, comments and recommendation and are indeed happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and food!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
110.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
111.6 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
110.9 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Address: Kolymvari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range: $121 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Splitty, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing