We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

loved this resort because its so beautiful place with many pools, restaurants and bars. I loved my room, and the modern style of the hotel. Next time i will get a room with my own pool. The SPA - USPA was one of the best i have ever visited, and the Staff were very professional. I loved my treatments done by Kiryaki and Michael. I travelled all by myself for a week, but never felt lonely.... Everyone will definately love this paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities, services and food and delighted to be considered to be a “paradise”! We have also shared your comments with Kiriaki, Michael and the staff and they are all happy for your appreciation.
We would be honored to have you back to our hotel some time soon and contribute once again into making your vacation unique.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    280
    77
    26
    11
See reviews for
459
366
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went last year for the first time and we were really amazed by the service and the surroundings of the hotel, as well as the amenities in the room. That's why we visited it again this year for a marvellous weekend. To be more specific, the staff is polite and it seems to be a genuine attitude, not the fake one we usually experience in hotels. The pools are very clean and really big, so you don't bumb into another while swimming. The beach is also nice and very clean. Last but not least, the food tastes really good and it's nothing like the "plastic" one you find in all inclusive hotels. Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank so_simple_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us last year, during your visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experiences at our restaurants and pools. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest. We will do all we can to ensure that you leave with many happy, wonderful memories once again!!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Many thanks to the management and the staff in Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa in which spent a wonderful three days (June 2nd till 4th) with my two children.
We were warmly greeted upon arrival and were given a wonderful upgrade to a beautiful room with a sharing pool, where a large fruit bowl and bottle of wine awaited.
The buffet breakfast and dinner was delicious and extensive.
In sum, a wonderful hotel with outstanding service and many enertainment choises.
We recommend it highly and would certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment

We are very happy to read that you found our welcome warm and enjoyed our rooms and facilities! We do show extra care to our little guests so that they can fill their luggage with beautiful experiences!
We are grateful for your personal recommendation as a place to spend your holidays, relax and enjoy summer!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits.

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I went with my wife for a weekend and we enjoyed the hotel very much.
The hotel was amazing. the beach was beutiful and quiet. the pool were so big and amazingly designed. the rooms were very convenient. the food was pretty good, offering a big variety of dishes for dinner. I am definetely going bacj there on my next vacation.
the only minus was the beds being separated. all the rest was superb!

Room Tip: I ordered the most basic room, and we got an amazing room facing the pool and close to the beach. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words, comments and recommendation and are indeed happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and food!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sint-katelijne-waver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is great, the pool fantastic, rooms really nice and clean. The staff is not so great, not efficient, not friendly, couldn't cope. Spa was really good, food ok but every day more or less the same.
Our arrival was not fantastic, we arrived by bus at around 11 pm, we were about 15 people, nobody welcomed us or helped us with our luguage. Maybe it is the way greek people look at us now but there were several around to help u but nobody did anything. Overall our stay was really nice but watch out when you order drinks by the pool, they are outrageously expensive.
We went in august and almost everybody was french (Paris), jewish or russian.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank an c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for a week in august 2011. The hotel was brand new, design features were stunning. Somehow it showed that it was challenge for the management to open during the greece recession and it seemed that money lacked for the final adjustments, which is really a shame.
Poolarea(s) were all fantastic with both a glass-walled freshwater pool and a decent sized salt-water pool (unsufficient number of sunbeds though). The hotel had a spa area in the basement which was mostly "self service" and a found it relaxing and calm. However, the gym was rather basic. Hopefully more equipment has been bought later.

We were on halfboard and breakfast and dinner buffets had a decent variation. Vegetable och sallad offerings where fabulous some days, some days Ok but nothing to write home about. There were always a selection of local Crete specialities on offer. Lamb and steak were made to order, pancakes and waffles during breakfast hours. I think the restaurant was slightly undersized, it was crowded and noisy during rush hours.

We arrivied in the middle ot he night and we were greated with a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and sandwiches. The fitting of the room was excellent and the bathroom was of high standard. We also had a very large balcony with a nice view of the mountains and evening sun and sunset vies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karinj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is definitely a very nice hotel for family holidays.

(+) Nice food, especially the italian restaurant by the beach makes great pizza.
The buffet restaurant is very good.
It has very nice rooms especially the ones with private pools (shared pool).
The spa is one of the best I've been.
The price of the room was very good.
Nice amenities and soft beds.
(-) The beach is rocky, which means that you need shoes to get to the sea. That's why the hotel has built a big swimming pool.
There is a public road you have to cross carefully between the hotel and the beach. That is dangerous for kids.
Long waiting time by the concierge services for you luggage's (pick up &drop off), however he is very polite.
Is far from Chania if you want to go out for walk and dinner in the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank antonios1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
30.5 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Kolymbari, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing