We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great vacation in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great vacation in this hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I went with my wife for a weekend and we enjoyed the hotel very much.
The hotel was amazing. the beach was beutiful and quiet. the pool were so big and amazingly designed. the rooms were very convenient. the food was pretty good, offering a big variety of dishes for dinner. I am definetely going bacj there on my next vacation.
the only minus was the beds being separated. all the rest was superb!

Room Tip: I ordered the most basic room, and we got an amazing room facing the pool and close to the beach. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avraimperial, General Manager at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words, comments and recommendation and are indeed happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and food!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
The Management of Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    315
    83
    32
    12
See reviews for
539
410
20
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sint-katelijne-waver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is great, the pool fantastic, rooms really nice and clean. The staff is not so great, not efficient, not friendly, couldn't cope. Spa was really good, food ok but every day more or less the same.
Our arrival was not fantastic, we arrived by bus at around 11 pm, we were about 15 people, nobody welcomed us or helped us with our luguage. Maybe it is the way greek people look at us now but there were several around to help u but nobody did anything. Overall our stay was really nice but watch out when you order drinks by the pool, they are outrageously expensive.
We went in august and almost everybody was french (Paris), jewish or russian.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank an c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for a week in august 2011. The hotel was brand new, design features were stunning. Somehow it showed that it was challenge for the management to open during the greece recession and it seemed that money lacked for the final adjustments, which is really a shame.
Poolarea(s) were all fantastic with both a glass-walled freshwater pool and a decent sized salt-water pool (unsufficient number of sunbeds though). The hotel had a spa area in the basement which was mostly "self service" and a found it relaxing and calm. However, the gym was rather basic. Hopefully more equipment has been bought later.

We were on halfboard and breakfast and dinner buffets had a decent variation. Vegetable och sallad offerings where fabulous some days, some days Ok but nothing to write home about. There were always a selection of local Crete specialities on offer. Lamb and steak were made to order, pancakes and waffles during breakfast hours. I think the restaurant was slightly undersized, it was crowded and noisy during rush hours.

We arrivied in the middle ot he night and we were greated with a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and sandwiches. The fitting of the room was excellent and the bathroom was of high standard. We also had a very large balcony with a nice view of the mountains and evening sun and sunset vies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karinj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is definitely a very nice hotel for family holidays.

(+) Nice food, especially the italian restaurant by the beach makes great pizza.
The buffet restaurant is very good.
It has very nice rooms especially the ones with private pools (shared pool).
The spa is one of the best I've been.
The price of the room was very good.
Nice amenities and soft beds.
(-) The beach is rocky, which means that you need shoes to get to the sea. That's why the hotel has built a big swimming pool.
There is a public road you have to cross carefully between the hotel and the beach. That is dangerous for kids.
Long waiting time by the concierge services for you luggage's (pick up &drop off), however he is very polite.
Is far from Chania if you want to go out for walk and dinner in the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank antonios1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stay in Avra Imperial in July 2011. The hotel is fantastic. My family and specially my children loved the great pool. The junior suite with private pool is perfect for spending holidays. The food in restaurant is great, as well the service. Only sometimes it was necessary to wait when was dinner time as the restaurant has not so many places. Staff in the restaurant nice, smiling, helpfull. Only the minus I see is the beach. Sea is fantastic and clean, but the pebble beach is not suitable for children at all, it is difficult not only to entry to the sea but as well to leave from it. The choice of refreshment in beach bar is not too large. As well the refreshment in Snack bar is not very special and expensive.

Room Tip: Junior suite private pool, close to the snack bar and pool with salty water. Amazing place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

the worst holiday of my life period! the satff were helpful when i needed a doctor but that was it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank natty1984uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Staying with my family of 5 in two swim out rooms with pools....unbelievable venue....something I would not have expected to find in Greece let alone Crete.... Would I stay there again? Damn right I would!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family5Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,957 reviews
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
111.6 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Property: Avra Imperial Hotel
Address: KOLYMVARI, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing