We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avra Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dream Hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is our first time in Crete . and thanks to this hotel I am sure not the last time, this new hotel and gives a great feeling to guests. I want to express gratitude receptionist Marina gives visitors an excellent relationship. I'm sure this Hotel Full of guests

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tamirbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    307
    83
    31
    12
See reviews for
515
401
20
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is by far the best hotel in Create near Chania! greate hotel for a family that wants to stay one week at a relaxing place. Pool is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have been to a lot of 5 star hotel, and the Avra Imperial is one of them, we would rate a 3 star.

Brand new hotel, nice, overall good.

We read all the very good reviews and we must say that we are very disappointed.

We arrived – got the key, no one to show us around, no one to show us the room, no welcome paper, no water in the room, no welcome fruit, no wine as promised, nothing in the refrigerator, no towels in the room, all most everything was wrong.
Went to the reception and asked for water, meet by a very unfriendly manager, told me that they was very busy, told me that I should stop calling, told me a lot of other things, I tried to explain that this was the first time I have talked to the reception and him, but nothing went in, completely unfriendly manager, never I my entire life have I been talked to liked this, in any hotel. What a joke for a manager…

The water and the fruit basket came to our room 11.00 pm --- so the manager is more than right, when he said that they are busy ----

In the evening went to the restaurant 7.45 pm. No food was left, and nothing more came in. So if you want to eat, come in good time, 6.00 pm. The food is far from a 5 star quality. More like a ordinary buffet - every night...

We even saw a cleaning lady take spaghetti left over, from the table and put it back in the storage, that is not okay, maybe in a 1 star hotel, but not in a what, they call a 5 star hotel

So my compliant is not to the hotel, but to the manger, especially the manger, and the staff, they really have a lot to learn, I don’t give a S…. if they are busy, if they can’t handle the place, they in my opinion have to find a job which is very far from a 5 star hotel…

No boiler in the room, tried to get one from the reception, there is no boiler in the room, and it is not possible to lean one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank getsemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarhus, denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one week in july 2011.
We have stayed in Kolymbari several times at Grand Bay Beach Resort and we like the area very much. This time we thought we would try a different hotel so we found the new-opened Avra Imperial. Everything looked very good so we booked. It is always interesting when you try a new hotel if the standard is as promissed at the web sites and if it really is so fantastic as it appears in the photos!
For this hotel there is nothing else to say than : IT IS !
Everything is just a little bit better than you wouæd expect. The food is excellent, the service is perfect, the pool and the surroundings are fantastic and the rooms are very modern and very comfortable. The room is cleaned every single day and you find pool towels, slippers and bathrobes ready to use when you arrive. The pool towels are changed when you want.
The poolbar is a little bit expensive but there are waiters around the pool all the time so you don't even have to walk to the poolbar yourself.
There are nice sunbeds and umbrellas by the pool as well as on the beach.
So go ahead... Book this hotel and don't forget to visit the fantastic Gialos Taverna with
excellent homemade Greek Food downtown. ( Read review for "Gialos, Kolymbari")

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LotteAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We visited the hotel for a week and arrived yesterday back home.

I want to say for beginning that this hotel is amazing, it has a big and beautiful area with tons of small decorations which makes the hotel feel very unique, true eye catcher is in the center of the hotel, a huge pool with middle of it like an island, pool bar...and with huge pool i really mean it, you allways find a peaceful spot in there if you want to swim continuously or just hang out in the pool. Sun beds are free to use and most of them are near pool area, we allways found a spot there even with more crowded day/time.

Also in the beach you find a spot allways, but beach is rocky, not a sand beach so you may want to go on another beach if thats important to you, but there is plenty of those in this location.
About 200 meters from hotel is a small fishing village with good restaurants, and also it's not a long trip to platanis with taxi or even chania with your own car

We had a car rented for 2 days price and third day free, and that was pretty much enough for us to visit most of the landmarks and sights on the island+have a whole day on beautiful Elafonisi beach...dont miss that, you can drive there through a mountain road which is amazing.

But back to the hotel..Hotel has very good food buffet for breakfast with yogurts, fruits and also with bacon,sausage etc if you prefer those. Also Crete specialties were served.

We had also dinner buffet included to room which was much more better than normally in hotels, it had a lot of variations from salads to cold dishes and to warm ones.
Example pork,chicken,goat,rabbit,calamari etc in different forms, it got boring like all buffet food at later state of our trip but much more later than normally..also the deserts are very variable.

Also if you are too lazy to walk couple of hundred meters for food, there is italian in hotel+fast food just on the first corner outside the hotel.

Staff is very helpful and nice, best service you get from pool bar on the evening from black haired young miss who allways make sure you have all ok and if not what you need...Extremely good service. THANK YOU! Give her a raise.

Also staff of spa is very helpful and they provide a bit expensive but extremely good service, spa itself is very nice and in there free to use is jacuzzi, inside swimming pool(salt water), sauna and shovers with locker boxes. Also a gym is free, but in our visit it didn't have a lot of equipments so i guess it didn't get ready for grand opening, thats a minus.

Cleaning is also spotless and the whole hotel area, not only rooms are very clean.
Rooms itself are very nice and modern, they are furnished with taste.
Our room was also very spacious.

Also hotel remembers it quests, if example somebody in room has birthday you are sure to have as surprise cake waiting on the evening when you get back to room, also welcome fruits etc are found from rooms on arrival..very nice touch which gives even more 5 star feeling.

PROS
+Location is perfect for relaxing= peaceful
+Not too much tourism
+Rooms+air-condition fully adjustable+great balcony+private pools if you have that kind of room.
+Hotel area and HUGE pool with bar
+Nice and helpful staff
+Hotel has mini market,italian restaurant.

CONS
-Somethings are unfinished, like spa's gym, and some lamps etc, also in showers and bathrooms may have only 4 of 5 sinks working...but im sure this is repaired atleast for next holiday season and its not a big deal.

-Didn't have locked room for luggage on check out day( we left late from the hotel, but check out is at 12), but also these were unfinished and it looked like they are building a service for quests for that need.

-Some might feel the hotel area and village near doesn't have much activity which is true..no other night life in here than local restaurant and cafe which greece style are open late, NO discos..they are near tourist areas.

-Hotel is basically closed after 23 o clock, no swimming allowed after that in pool, but pool bar, italian restaurant and hotel bar is serving either to midnight or hour from that.

Room Tip: pool side is better because the beach side doesn't really give much of a view from anywhere+area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJRA_FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is one of the few five star hotels near Xhania. Great for kids, nice food, spa and pool area

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a new resort hotel with a huge swimming pool (and several water areas and private pools) and gardens, a real spa area with variety (jets in the pool, hydromassages, large sauna and steamroom with aromatheraph and chromotherapy, all these free for hotel guests and also treatments in normal prices), luxury everywhere... The rooms are large and with expensive materials (wood, marble, granite, laka). We had a seaview deluxe, 32sq.m., with a sofa bed in the living area, nice bathroom with separate bathtub and shower with jets. Linen new and fresh (so fluffy towels), perfect mattress, pool towels, robes and slippers, welcome bowl of fruits and bottle of wine (such a nice touch).
We enjoyed very much the resort! Food both at breakfast (with freshly squeezed orange juice) and dinner buffets was amazing and kind of different every night. Lots of seafood sometimes: mussels, prawns, scallops, squid, octopus, trout, cod, halibut, salmon... Many traditional Cretan items too: cheeses, olives, dakos, kaltsounia with cheese or with spinach&other greens, marathopites, diples, oven cooked lamb... There was a cooking station for freshly bbq meats (lamb chops, pork chops, veal fillets, kebabs). Variety in vegetable dishes too, many fresh fruits and the desserts to die for! Icecream and pizza&pasta every night (for kids and "big kids"). Restaurant overlooks the main swimming pool and it's lovely to eat there. But even if we were on an HB basis, we went out for dinner 3 nights to visit other areas and restaurants...
We were impressed by the cleanliness and good service almost everywhere at the hotel Only one complaint: the maid didn't leave toiletries daily and I had to write notes to ask for certain items. They should fix that! Many people work at the hotel and I liked the fact that lots of them were Greeks (from Crete and other parts of Greece). I like companies who give work to locals.....
Kolymbari is a quiet fishing village (real one, not just "rooms to let" area), just what we wanted (away from busy&touristy Platanias). 23km from Chania, but closer than Chania to Falassarna,Elafonisi and Balos beaches, the most amazing in Crete! We drove around a lot. I recommend renting a car if you don't bring your own there. Parking space is not big enough for such a big hotel though! In August there will be a problem.
The beach is nice, but nothing special. The hotel provides very comfy sun beds and straw umbrellas (beautiful), there is a beach bar for drinks and ice creams, they offer cold towels and water sometimes... The beach is OK when it's calm, but ...unreachable when it's windy (that goes for many places in North Crete).
Cocktails at the pool bar were very good (we asked for different than the ones in standard menu and NO PROBLEM!). There is also a large seawater pool with an a la cart restaurant for lunch. A kids club, tennis court, free wi-fi... I think that they have everything! It's a bit expensive, but we got an incredibly low price (package from a Greek agency) so we thought we got more than perfect value for money. Rates are very high in August though...
We checked almost all the hotels from Chania to Kolymbari and we think it was by far THE BEST!

*tips for dinner outside the hotel: we tried "Mylos tou kerata" in Platanias, touristic but with good food and they were very polite offering flowers to all ladies and an impressive fruit platter with a fire in the middle, raki of course (all restaurants we visited offered raki and fruits), "Taverna Gero-Tsegka" a fish tavern by a fishing harbor in Kissamos offering fresh fish and seafood and the best of all "Grambousa" in Kalyviani village (outside Kissamos, on the way to Balos beach), for real traditional Cretan cuisine and environment (live music, low prices, local meats cooked at a wood-oven).

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank AthanasiaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
44.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
7.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
91.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
21.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Imperial Hotel

Property: Avra Imperial Hotel
Address: KOLYMVARI, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avra Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avra Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Imperial Beach Resort And Spa
Avra Imperial Beach Hotel Chania Town
Avra Imperial Hotel Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing