We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 years in a row”
Review of Palio Arhontiko

Palio Arhontiko
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Never disappointed come every June to Maleme for a month and always treat ourselves to this unique restaurant. Staff are always friendly and food delicious. I had the lamb chops and my husband the chicken dish They offer a desert after you finish your meal and tonight it was creme caramel. I happen to love this sweet and often have it so was delighted when it was light creamy and melt in the mouth. Well done all. We may we’ll be back for a second treat before we return to SCOTLAND.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 586lynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

View is great, loved the complimentary champagne it was amazing! Loved the complimentary dessert. Service was very good. However the food was just ok and nothing special in my eyes. It’s a cool spot though with a good atmosphere!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

Very attractive place by the bay, if you like the Greek fusion style, rather than traditional taverna. For me, it felt a little pretentious, with a wine-waiter who might have been in Hampstead rather than Kolymvari. Having said that, the house white wine from Chania, though marginally more expensive than the local brews, was very good. The food itself was less memorable, but more expensive than the norm for Kolymvari. I guess we were paying for the very stylish decor. We probably won't go again, sorry.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PandYUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palioarhontiko, Ιδιοκτήτης at Palio Arhontiko, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear PandYUk,

I think that a wine-waiter at a restaurant is not a bad thing its actually a very good thing that you have someone who can suggest to you a fine wine to drink with you dinner. Maybe you thought that the price is very high from the majority at the Kolymbari because we want to offer to our guests a good wine and not a medium variety of a simple house wine. As for paying for the stylish decor it was your choice to dinne to the restaurant, we have always at the two entrances of the restaurant our menu so everybody can see it and decide if they want to procide with the dinner at the restaurant or not. Unfortunately, we have notice the past years it doesnt matter the quality and the freshness of the first ingredients of what you are going to eat but only just to eat and it doesnt matter if its fresh or frozen. That is dissapointing in every way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Have been going here for many years with friends who live locally. Always a treat. This year took family for their first experience. They were not dissapointed stating it was the best seafood dish they had ever eaten! Complimentary sparkling wine on arrival, attentive staff, great location, amazing food. What else could you want. A must visit!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TremChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We went yesterday with my wife and my parents. The decoration, the location and the atmosphere of the restaurant are outstanding. Very warm stuff, had knowledge of the menu and the wine, their recommendations were spot on. Among others we tried local rabit, bbq spare ribs, salad, red house wine (excellent!) and desert. Not only very well prepared and presented, but also great value for the money. Last but not least, the wc: super clean, paintings on walls, speakers for the music, towels for the environment. Looking forward to visit again so we can try the seafood plates. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iakovos_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio Arhontiko also viewed

 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Kolymbari, Platanias
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Kolymbari, Platanias
 

Been to Palio Arhontiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing