We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kolymbari
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveler rating
452
223
76
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
452
223
76
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar italian restaurant main restaurant restaurant manager all inclusive hotel the bus evening buffet direct access to the pool pool side sister hotel tennis courts reception staff per day all inclusive package shared pool lunch and dinner the hotel offers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at Cavo Spada had only positive sides:
- the localization was very good for us. It's quiet, located a couple of minutes' walk from the main road. There aren't any clubs or anything near, but for us it was an advantage because it was peaceful and quiet.
- the food was excellent. A very wide variety in the main restaurant and also a great quality, also in Azzuro and Sea Line tavern.
- the stuff was open and helpful. They were willing to organize a car rental or an excursion for us. If we had any problems or questions we were always helped.
- the rooms were nicely and tasetfully decorated, and, what's most important, very clean.
A wondeful place to relax away from crowds.

Room tip: Rooms that don't face the main swimming pool are more intimate and quieter.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cattoaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Giannoulis - Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear cattoaddict,
Our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is ideal for relaxing and calm vacations combined with Sports activities .
We are extremely happy that you experienced as one of our guest the holidays that you expected.
We will be mostly pleased to welcome you once more in the near future and create many more nice memories with us.

Best Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are staying here at the moment I really think you have got 99% of everything correct ,
But having worked and owned a bar for 28 years I find it very unprofessional to have to wait up to 25. Mins for half a beer because your staff do not serve or even look up to see people waiting at the bar.
I have just walked away after my husband walked to opposite side of the main bar to order his beer after asking and being ignored. And yes I have been and complained to reception.
By the way pool bar never. Have to wait for a second always acknowledged as we only drink beer and wine never change.
Your restaurant staff and manager are amazing and do a great job
Food in main restaurant tastiest food better than the cruise ships.
Please sort your bar staff out.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank mocannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Giannoulis - Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mocannon,
First of all we are really happy to have you as guests here in Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa and we are thankful for your review that will helps us get even better.
Feedback received from our special guests is the best way to improve our service.
I personally apologize for the unfortunate incident and i have to inform you that all relevant staff is briefed accordingly.
My Office as a Manager and the reception is at your disposal of course.
Thanks once more for being here with us.
Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

For reference we are a UK/USA couple 31/26.

We hadn't been on holiday since the previous year so we were so looking forward to this one! We had a room with a private pool which was really lovely, cannot fault the accommodation whatsoever! Also, as mentioned in many reviews, Panos and Georgia at the Pool Bar were so welcoming, they always had smiles on their faces and made you feel like you were a VIP every time you visited them. 10/10 for them and for the accommodation.

The dining, amenities, and service was where this hotel was lacking. We stayed here for 10 nights and during every encounter with servers at the main hall, we felt as if we were an inconvenience for being there. I even heard a server tell another guest where they could pour their own coffee during breakfast (it was at a service area, not in a common area for guests). I set my table more than once for breakfast, and we had to flag servers down to ask for cappuccinos (mind you we weren't there at a busy time).

As we were on all-inclusive we expected to have a meal or two in the specialty areas, and at least have one included - though we had to pay extra for them all. Though, the food there was really nice so if you do end up coming here and paid for the all-inclusive, budget to pay for these meals as the food inside is good enough but I'd recommend switching it up if you're staying longer than 7+ days.

The amenities here such as the gym and fitness classes are probably what sets this resort apart, but we were never told how to enroll in anything. No briefing was given to us, and on their app (that also wasn't told to us, we found this out via our Wifi) there was no instructions on how to take advantage of these fantastic features so paddleboarding, yoga, fitness classes - all missed because of improper welcome and lack of information.

Dress code was not enforced at all. Men can wear shorts, kids were in sports gear, and after dinner you could find older women putting their bare feet up on the furniture in the lobby bar with their bellies hanging out. Post-dinner, this is the only bar open and they have entertainment 2 nights a week. Other than that, they play songs on YouTube on a nearby computer. After midnight it's pay for your own regardless of all-inclusive, but due to lack of atmosphere we were inside our room by 10:30pm latest anyway.

Multiple power outages while we were there as well. Second night there were 5, which shuts off the a/c and turns on the TV which is really loud and bright. Safe to say we didn't get any sleep that night. This happened a few other times while we stayed there which was an inconvenience. We also were given 2 twin beds which we had to push together and try to make a full so that we could sleep next to each other.

Because of the lack of atmosphere here we really didn't enjoy our time. Our room was our absolute haven as we just sat there and ventured out 2-3x a day for a drink from the pool bar. We had been to another resort in Crete before and absolutely fell in love with the hospitality, but didn't feel the same connection here. Some things we think would help to improve the resort would be to have someone come around using the service road behind the private shared pools to ask if anyone needs drinks. This extra layer of hospitality would have been much appreciated, or even given those rooms a bottle of wine at the start of their holiday as they are a bit more removed from the one bar which is open during the day. Going off of that, it would be nice to have more than one bar open at a time. Maybe having the pool bar open or create a bar at the other restaurant by the pool with music at night in addition to the main bar. It would give a more enjoyable atmosphere. Really thorough training with staff, especially the ones who interact with guests day to day. We adored Panos and Georgia, the housekeeping staff was lovely, the front desk staff was very nice, as was Chef Teodoros and a wonderful waitress Konstantina who helped us at Azzuro.

All in all, we wouldn't come back here but we got a great deal for 10 nights with a flight so it was nice to see the sunshine and meet a few friendly faces!

If you are looking for a 5-star resort with impeccable service, somewhere you feel right at home, and somewhere you will want to rave to your friends and family about - this is not that resort. If you're looking to have a family holiday at a decent price and you need to really rest and relax I think this may be a good option, but for anyone wanting a bit of atmosphere I would look elsewhere.

Room tip: shared pool is the way to go
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raachelh1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Giannoulis - Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear raachelh1992
We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations . I would have been grateful if you had come to my office and express directly to the management your points in order to proceed to immediate actions and make your stay memorable as we all try with joy for our special guests.
We work as a team , providing high customer service and we are proud for welcoming all the season guests that enjoyed every moment with us.
All your points are well noted and from our side we would be honored to welcome you in the future in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.
We thank you for the time dedicated for your kind review.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having visited Crete six times over the last 30 years, we knew there were some special hotels along this western stretch of coastline and spent a number of weeks researching what we hoped would be the best for a September getaway and, after much deliberation, we plumped for Cavo Spada.

We got it right! All of our hopes and expectations were fulfilled. Upon our arrival we received the warmest of welcomes from CHRISTINA and VOULA, with a glass of bubbly provide by a most polite young man who took our bags to our room.

Our room was superbly positioned with its own 'plunge pool' and was as close to the beach as it was to the main pool. The pools were beautifully clean as was everywhere around the hotel, inside and out.

The food was marvellous with an almost endless choice of the tastiest dishes you could hope to find. The waiters and waitresses were exceptionally friendly and helpful under the warmest and most efficient restaurant manager ANTONIS. This genteman is a credit to the hotel, he found the time to attend to each and every need of his guests with a warm welcome and farewell on each and every visit. We wondered if the man ever sleeps!

We would also like to make a special mention of the lady cleaners, who did a first class job of looking after our room and were always friendly, with a hearty 'Kalimera' for us on our way to breakfast each morning.

We made good use of the superbly equipped gym and although we didn't attend any of the classes, they were all well attended and appeared to be professionally conducted whilst lots of fun for participants.

Each day flew past and the week was a joy from start to finish. Anyone looking for good value, superb food, impeccably clean rooms and probably the friendliest team of staff on the island is well advised to make a beeline for the Cavo Spado.

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday, we hope to come back again soon and will most strongly recommend you to all our friends.

Room tip: If affordable, choose a swim up, or poolside suite, worth the extra over the garden view rooms. You certainly get what you pay for here.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Giannoulis - Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Chris W,
We read your positive report concerning your stay to our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa and we are so thankful and honored for the time you dedicated to write such a nice description .
Memorable holidays is what we wish to all our special guests and by reading your review you had certainly enjoyed your holidays with us .
All Cavo Spada sends their warmest wishes and would be thrilled to welcome again in the near future.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019 via mobile

Cavo Spada was everything we could dream of. We booked this hotel last minute, as we were in need of a calm and relaxing sun vacation. It was exactly that! The rooms are spatious and very clean. The hotel was fully booked upon our arrival, yet it never felt overcrowded, or even crowded at all. Sunbathing area by the pool was large, secluded and right next to the beach. Great and varied food, with several options of local cuisine. Staff was incredibly helpful and kind. Hotel guests are treated very friendly, almost amicably.

Special thanks to the maître d’hotel and Panos for making our trip so memorable.

Five stars, would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 00rken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Giannoulis - Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Dear 00rken,
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is honored to be chosen from you as the place for your holidays.It was a pleasure to have you here as a guest and your comments are highly appreciated from all our staff .
We will be honored to welcome you once more in our Hotel in the near future again!

Warm Regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews