We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kolymbari
Leuven
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one week (half board). I was with a friend and the purpose of our trip was to unwind and relax.
As promised by the brochures, the hotel is tucked away far from all the nightlife and pubs in a very secluded part of northern Crete. However, if you want more excitement it's easy to catch a bus to Platanias or Chania and this will cost you just a few euros but it will take between a half and one hour single journey.
The hotel is clearly new and it's superclean. The staff are very, very friendly (Nicos at the bar is lovely) and the service is impeccable. The rooms are spacious but I thought our room was not very stylish (you'd expect more modern decorating in such a new hotel). The hotel is located by the sea and has a nice pool and sunbed area.
The food was okay, sometimes even really good (desserts are heavenly) but it needed a little bit more variety. I thought there should be more variety of fruits for breakfast (and not every day the same choice of two).
So far, this all sounds great. Yet I do have mixed feelings about this hotel.
First of all, the spa is overpriced. We picked this hotel because of the spa which we thought might come in handy when the weather would be not so good. The treatments are however way too expensive (115 euros for a 60 min massage) and the one treatment we had was not good at all.
Secondly, the hotel is next to some undeveloped building grounds, which makes it all look quite sad. I'm sure this will be better in time when the garden will be fully grown.
Thirdly, although the hotel oozes relaxation and peace and quiet, I found it particularly disturbing that they played music around the pool area (which you could hear from every angle).
Last, we also experienced a little robbery at the end of our stay when we were uncareful and left open the terrace door on the ground floor. Although this was probably our own fault, I still don't understand how it was possible that our money was stolen within less than 5 mins after we left the room. It just seems odd and one would think that our room was being watched. So be careful if you have a room on the ground floor and be sure to lock the terrace door at all times!
Did we have a good stay? Yes. But would I go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    159
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
183
248
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed in Cavo Spada just one week. It is very nice, clean and calm hotel. It's situated 1,5 km from the small village Kolymbari and 20 km from Chania. If you want to spend time in a nice and quiet atmosphere I definitely recommended this place.
The rooms are large and well equipment. The bathroom also very big and clean. We have room on the grounfloor with garden view. Some of the rooms have its own small pools.
The beach is stony so you need special boots there. The sea is perfectly blue (like in the folders). The waves sometimes are rather big because it's a windy area. The pool very big, great to swim with nice pool bar. Around the pool you have big green grass area to lying and sunburning.
The restaurant is very nice with a wonderful mountain view. The service just great, helpful and very kind. The food good but a little drab. You can eat some greek dishes and very tasty italian food. In the Sea Line restaurant (close to the pool) you can find splendid salads and the seafood.
As I mentioned staff was great and helpful what was very important for us because the robber stole us. Somebody came into our room in the night when we were sleeping and stole identity card and passport one of us. If you don'close the door in the hotel room strongly enough it's possibly to open it from outside (we had grounfloor room). It was very sad experience but with the help of hotel manager we arranged from the police all necessary documents really quickly. Thanks to this we hadn't so many bad memories.
So if you want to be in a nice, quiet and friendly hotel choose Cavo Spada and dont' forget carefully close the terrace door when you have grounfloor room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kejt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crete rethymnon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

we have spended one week in this great hotel,me my wife and our 6months old little girl.
We have chosen to stay with halfboard, and the cost was about 150 euros/night.Well it worth every euro of it...our room was a big comfortable one which was really quiet thing that was very important with a small baby..very very clean also...Due to our baby we were asking about 4 times per day pots with hot water and they always were very polite to provide it. The breakfast was superb and the staff really polite, but the great thing really was the dinner that had so many delicious options, and great sweerts...we hope we will go back again, dont miss it..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

About 20 km from Chania, quiet hotel, directly on the beach; friendly and competent service;
well-maintained facility. It is obvious that the owner knows what hotel business is all about.
Suggestion - choose all-inclusive option (do not expect this hotel to be cheap).
Anyway value for yor money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel is an oasis of tranquility. Suitable for all - couples or families with children. You have both a magnificent pool and private beach at the hotel. The rooms are large and clean. Aircondtioning works like a dream. The food is excellent. I suggest you take half board. You can swap dinner for lunch occasionally and that way go in to Kolymbari (nearby village) to try local excellent tavernas. The hotel grounds are huge, so you are away from the hustle and bustle of tourist traps like some nearby villages - Platanias for example. I suggest you hire a car to explore the region. The hotel is a bit pricey for Crete but worth it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Great hotel, I think one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed. Everything but the cleaning and the food is great. We stayed in a room with a shared pool, absolutely nice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I grew up in Canada. Just returned from our honeymoon at Cavo Spada. Service was ok, but I can't expect much out of Greece I hear. 5 stars in Greece are like 3.5 or 4 stars in Caribbean or US/Canada. The hotel is situated on a rocky clean beach, very nice set up with the umbrellas and wooden sidewalks. Some goats in the distance if you don't mind the smell and sound! (We were in room 516 - sea view).

The bathrooms have an unclean toilet smell that seems to follow me in all of Europe...the system is different I suppose?? The food was great but I was not satisfied with their fish choices; not tasty. The rooms look better in pictures; the first thing I smelled was cigarettes! AND BIGGIE HERE, the BEDS are not Queen or King Size! This was a major downfall! I couldn't snuggle up to my hubby without falling into the crack of the two beds that were pulled together!!!!! :-(

The hotel is far from Chania but we didn't mind. It was peaceful here (minus the kids and toddlers). Chania has a great little old city, great for shopping and dining.

We rented a scooter (18 Euro a day) and drove everywhere. It was great, parking wasn't an issue and we even managed to make an excursion up to Gramvoussa! But this takes some bravery and could be considered an extreme excursion on the back of a scooter! haha The end of the road to Gramvoussa is all up hill and rocky! However, the treat you get once you walk the last little trek down to the beach - amazing views, a little exercise from eating so often, and crystal clear beaches on white sand! And who said that Greece only has rocky beaches!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amichalo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
6.2 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
43.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,179 reviews
5.5 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Bay Beach Resort
Grand Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 12 in Kolymbari
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing