We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful villa with wonderful facilities”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Atsipopoulo, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
coolcrok
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A beautiful villa with wonderful facilities”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

All the previous reports are consistent with our experience. Excellent on all fronts. This villa is a reflection of the owners who care about their clients. It starts with quality correspondence after booking the villa when we had questions relating to various issues. For instance George arranged our car hire from a local company at a discount and arranged for pick-up at our hotel in Heraklion.

This is a wonderfully finished villa, built to exceptional standards. Everything in this villa worked beautifully - something I have never experienced in any Greek island before!!

It is peaceful and situated in a little linear village about 4-5 kms on the West side of Rethymnon, with easy access to the port and old Town, which is the charming part of Rethymnon.

Chania is just over an hour away; and the south of the island is about 45 minutes. Thank you to George and Maria, and their lovely familt for making this a special trip.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the villa and the facilities
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynRH
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Villa in a Superb Location, me and my family loved it!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We went on a family holiday and with 9 of us including two children this villa was perfect, the pool is amazing and the location is perfect! It feels very private and remote when you are in the villa surrounded by the sounds of nature but as soon as you go out the front gate you have all the local amenities at your finger tips including taverna's if you want to eat out or a supermarket, butcher and baker if you want to get supplies to eat at the villa. It was only a short drive into the main town of Rethymno and down to the beach and it is also pefrectly located if you want to travel around the island as you are about halfway between Chania and Heraklion in the North of the Ilsand but also right by the main road to take you down to explore the South. We loved the Island, George and his family were very welcoming and helpful and we are looking forward to going back as soon as we can! Thanks George!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDREW W
Millom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good, spacious villa and pool, made special by the family who welcome you and prepare it.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A late night arrival (23.20) did not present any problem, we met the family (who live locally) and were welcomed kindly with a drink and guide of the villa. They are very happy to answer any questions or sort out any minor problems and are not intrusive. Villa as described, spacious to use and very well equipped around the pool with shade and sunbeds, etc for up to 8 people. Kitchen is set up for large group, if catering for small numbers a couple of smaller pans would be useful. There was careful cleaning and pool maintenance during the stay.
Location ideal for short walk to get fresh local foods, small supermarket, cafes, tavernas, but still a quiet, linear, local village. Rethymno has much to explore in town as well as beaches and numerous places to eat - good seafood of course. Local people very helpful and happy to talk and give advice. Overall, a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners support and the pool.
Liked least: Very little - over bath shower, need more cushioning for downstairs sofa
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla_201...
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Even more beautiful than the photos”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed in Villa Myrtia for the entire month of April and absolutely loved it. I can't recommend it highly enough. The booking process was easy, and as other reviewers have said, communication with George was friendly and frequent. Mary, George, Magda and Katerina really made us feel like family. The villa has four bedrooms: two with queen-sized beds and two with two twins in them, which worked well for our family. Fireplace, stone walls and a private pool. The internet connection was high-speed wifi, and we rarely had problems with access during the entire month. The villa and grounds were immaculate. We loved being steps away from the bakery and market and Atsipopoulo was an excellent base for exploring the central part of Crete. We most definitely plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNW5
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa and well Maintained”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and our friends selected this villa for it's central location in Crete mainly for our trips out. After contacting the owner via email with our holiday dates, We received an OK from George and we booked it by email. It was easy the way he set it all up, He sent us all the information we needed. Another reason way we choose this villa was because my wife has M.S. and it meet all her needs.

The villa is in the centre of a Atisipoploulo small village. On our arrival we were meet by George out side the entrance to the Villas. He gave us warm welcome and showed us around the the villa. It is Beautiful villa, clean, well maintained, air conditioning in every room. The room are a good size with bath room on both floors. After George finished showing the villa and answering all our questions and giving us his, his sister and his mothers phone numbers in case we needed anything during are stay at the villa. He shared with us a drink of raki and biscuits made at the local bakery before he lift. That it made a great start to our stay there.

Shops and bakeries are next to the villas entrance or short 5 minutes walk to small supermarket. There bars and restaurants are close by, but we drove into Rethymnon which take just over 5 minutes. There is one restaurant which was outstanding in Rethymnon Castlevecchoi.

We managed to see most of the sights we planed. We had one day out sight seeing and one at the by the pool. It is very private and peaceful and we enjoyed every moment while we were there.

Villa is decorated with many works of art which we like. After asking George where he had bought him. It turned out, that his mother was the artist. We meet her, and bought one the piece that was on display in the villa.

On our departure George and his mother came to see us off and gave farewell gift. as a reminder of our stay there. We left with wonderful memories and we could not have meet nicer family. I am going to recommend this villa to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very high quality and standards
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandr...
Genova
2 reviews
“A WONDERFUL STAY...”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our stay at Villa Myrtia has been just perfect. The house is a little jewel, an old traditional one perfectly renovated. It is spacious, clean, so nicely decorated, perfect to relax both inside, and outside where the terrace by the pool is a wonderful, quiet and cozy place for idling after a long day travelling around Crete.
The pool also is a real plus, especiall if travelling with children. Ours really loved it, especially for the night swim...
Besides the Villa, also the kindness and efficiency of our hosts have so nicely impressed us. George, together with his sister Magda, has been very caring, providing an excellent service.
Really we could not ask for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing