We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basics Fine, Let Down by Silly Things”
Review of Pantheon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pantheon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Atsipopoulo
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Basics Fine, Let Down by Silly Things”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just arrived back from the Pantheon for and we have had a chance to fully assess the strengths and weaknesses of the hotel. Overall, despite some mixed reviews, the hotel is of satisfactory quality, with just a few minor drawbacks on the negative side.

We have found the staff here mainly excellent. They were very wary initially, as obviously there have been some bad experiences with some English visitors. However, if you are friendly, they are lovely and will help you all they can. That has certainly been the case with Vasso, Eleanor, Anna and Mika, who have all been very generous with their time. The hotel and grounds are very attractive, rooms refurbished, of decent size and clean.

The food here is plentiful and generally well cooked. The salads are very good, while the main courses are of variable quality. Some have been very tasty but others bland or unappetizing. However, there is always enough healthy food of quality available and I would not put the food in the really negative column (just). It seems to me that if someone comes from the UK expecting burgers and chips, then they will be disappointed. Having said that I would not describe the food as Greek, more international, or cynically whatever the leftovers could combine to. The restaurant is pleasant and there is an area to eat outside. Referring to earlier posts, I have heard no mention of any food poisoning. The drinks here are of good quality. The wine, especially the white, is dry, a little like a Pinot Grigio, while the red is more a really bad rose. Other alcohol drinks for all inclusive guests are raki, ouzo and brandy. They are all perfectly drinkable. I am assuming they do make gin in Crete so perhaps that would be a good addition.

We have had some lovely swims in the pool. This and the gardens are nice features, with the latter having some striking blooms.

There is a regular free bus from the hotel to Rethymnon, each day apart from Sundays. The area around the hotel is not of great interest, but is fine. It is good to have the option of going to the town of Rethymnon, as this is a bustling, working town as well as a tourist centre. The are museums, a long beach, a striking fortress and many shops, bars and restaurants with yummy looking fish on display. There is a port and harbour where one can book boat trips to local areas and caves

It is a little churlish to list negatives, as the hotel has been basically OK. There are just a few gripes about rules. One can only order one drink, even though the second is for the partner. Sometimes there will be mixed messages about how to say access water. The management are rather omnipresent and make some staff nervous, though I am sure this is unintentional. Perhaps seeing a little personality from them would radiate around the hotel a little. For two days we had no loo roll. My wife managed to procure one from the hotel facilities but we were left 'high and dry' the other day. It was the petty little things that let down the hotel, while key things like rooms, pool, basic hotel were fine.

All in all, we have had a nice week here, the above is genuinely how the hotel is, though this is subjective I know. However, we have stayed in many hotels over many years and do have some perspective. We would possibly return. That does not mean we certainly will but I would not be at all surprised if we do.

Room Tip: First floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfrostsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    39
    29
    46
See reviews for
56
84
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Panthion Hotel is a 15 min car drive from the centre and the roads are dangerous to walk along, no pavements and dodgy drivers.It costs 8 euro's for a taxi (last shuttle bus back to hotel is 8.45pm)
On our arrival we were told that our room had plumbing problems( this i believe was a lie) after speaking to other guests many were also told this or that they were over booked.
we had to stay in an alternative room for 2 nights. The room 402 was a prefab with a corrigated roof on the roof of the hotel along with the solar panels and cables running across the groundand all sorts of junk ! ( i have photo's for proof ) the room was awfull it wasn't even basic. This was unacceptable.
When we finally got our room it was nice, new mattress but shabby sheets and towels wich were not changed in 5 days,i was told that they were waiting for the linen to come back ?
We were B&B breakfast was poor.
One couple we spoke to were all inclusive they were disapointed with the food and ate out quite often, the lady was diabetic and was told she had to pay 2 euro's for diet coke !
This is the first hotel review i have ever written as i feel you have a right to know.
I am sure lots of guests have had a good experiance at this hotel but we were not so lucky.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 401 & 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atsipopoulo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel 13th September for a week. The rooms are gorgeous and the food is typically Cretan - no junk food and always a good choice. The staff are very helpful and friendly but make sure you book a place on the bus if you want to travel down to Rethymno. The pool is spotless and a good size and there are plenty of sunbeds, We will definitely return here. A big thank you to the staff, especially Anna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed here from the 11th of aug to 18th and was a very good hoilday. Its a long drive by coach from the airport about 3hrs so got there 3 in the early hrs of the morning met by stavros the night porter "very helpful and nice" booked in then gave us something to eat and couple of glasses of water then went to r room. The room was great so nice and clean with TV new bathroom and a great big balcony we were in room 322 so no balconys next to us great we sat there most afternoons with r drinks as it was quiet and relaxing.one thing if u like a coffee or tea when u get up take a kettle with u as we did. rooms r cleaned every day and the girls r so nice. only went round the pool twice but was very clean there but take a lilo with u for the sunloungers if u like to sunbath. pool bar looks like its never been open for years but u can go back and to the bar but took my own drink there. only used the mini bus once but ok as if u go out onto the main road u can get a taxi for 5euro into town. there is a lot of supermarkets near by 10min walk or so and also a good tavern up the hill. The hotel its self is very clean and the gardens also nice. The staff r very nice,there helpful 3 of the girls that work there were fantastic 2 on the reception and 1 in the bar come food hall and u stavros to. The owner is one miserable man, if u wont people to come back be a bit more like your staff or go on a customer service course. We went on the all inclusive, breakfast was not bad but the same every day.only had lunch and dinner 3 times while we were there,it was awful no u wont go hungry but its the same thing every day and its not greek style.The drink was ok as i drink wine and brandy but my other half said beer not to good never had a cocktail there was a sign up about them but u had to pay. BUT ALL IN ALL HAD A RELAXING WEEKS HOILDAY THERE.

Room Tip: 322 has own balcony no one next to u
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late after our flight and we were greeted by the receptionist. She told us that there was good set up especially for us as we'd missed dinner which was lovely!

The hotel over all was well laid out, and the staff couldn't do enough!

The room we stayed in was located in the building next to the pool and was basic but serviced out needs adequately, we did also get free air conditioning and satellite tv which was a bonus.

The food was very local and consisted of 1 choice of meat, and sometimes fish which was lovely but not good if you didn't like lamb, or pork and even rabbit! The dining room also became crowded at the start of dinner so we chose to go an hour in to dinner and it was much quieter, the staff work so hard during meal times and they could benefit from maybe hiring more staff...

The holiday however was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The free shuttle bus is great for getting into town. And if you get chance you should wander up the road and into the local village which was very pretty, and has lots of churches.

The only criticisms I have are that there was a lack of information, and customers would benefit from printed information to make things easier. The towels and bedding were only changed every 3 days which I don't think is enough. And some towels had holes in, so maybe new towels are needed!

Apart from that, this hotel is great if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle and relax!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

the hotel was lovely very clean staff always helpful. the only problem i had was the balcony door did not lock i reported it every day after 14 days still wasnt repaired to me it spoilt my holiday did not feel safe leaving the room anybody could just walk in and at night it was worse because was on my own so was terrified . but other than had a great holiday. so please avoid room 209

Room Tip: avoid room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was slightly worried when I read some of the awful reviews about the hotel online. The people were friendly and the pool was always clean. Me and my boyfriend had an amazing week for what we paid. The food was not amazing, but for what we paid, it was good.
Our room was modern and very beautiful.
Also the mini bus into town was very useful, and it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atsipopoulo
52.6 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
55.3 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#125 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Brascos Hotel
Brascos Hotel
#91 of 165 in Rethymnon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#38 of 47 in Georgioupolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
53.6 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#113 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantheon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantheon Hotel

Property: Pantheon Hotel
Address: Atsipopoulo, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Atsipopoulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Atsipopoulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pantheon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pantheon Hotel is laid on the quiet hill in the village Atsipopoulo, in a distance of 2.5 km from the Rethymnon city center. The hotel’s position has a panoramic view on the Cretan Sea, the city and the famous Venetian fortress Fortezza. Set in a palm garden with a swimming pool, Pantheon features a complex of 55 air-conditioned rooms, furnished in a modern style, with views over the well-kept garden. The 24-hour reception staff offers the best to the hotel guests with Cretan traditional hospitality. The hotel provides a free of charge private parking. In the hotel lounge there is free Wi-Fi and with its satellite TV it offers a peaceful setting to catch up on the news and entertainment with local or Sat TV channels. Room Facilities Balcony, Garden view, Baby Cot, Telephone, Radio, Satellite TV, Music Channels, Air Conditioning, Safety deposit box, Refrigerator, 240 V power supply, Direct line Telephone, Wake-up service, electronic door security lockers, energy saver, Bath or Shower, Amenities and Hairdryer. Food and beverages The on-site indoor and outdoor restaurant serves buffet meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner and provides free of charge High Chairs for the baby guests. Guests can enjoy the Greek dishes and international salads, in proper dressing, indoors or on the poolside terrace. Products and Operation: Breakfast: 08:00 – 10:00, Lunch: 13:00 – 14:30, Dinner: 19:30 – 21:30 The Lobby bar serves all kinds of beverages and a great variety of cocktails. A cozy Pool Bar, open in high season, is available 11:00-18:00. Entertainment and Activities There is an outdoor swimming pool with fresh water, operating 08:30 to 21:00 and, on the garden around it, free of charge sun beds. Kids can enjoy themselves in the separate children pool section and enjoy a nice playground in the hotel’s gardens. The electronic Games bar area, Table Tennis, Mini Golf, Giant Ground Chess and the Internet Corner are available to all hotel guests. The hotel provides weekly Music Events with Cretan music and dances, Disco dancing and Greek music and songs. On request services A free of charge shuttle bus provides Monday to Saturday 6 times daily and Sunday 5 times, transfers to Rethymno city and beach. The reception can also arrange diving lessons at the sandy Koubes Beach, 2 km away. 24-hour doctor Hair dressing 24 hour Taxi service Public bus to the city every one hour Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pantheon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing