We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a mixed bag really”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Il Canalicchio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite a mixed bag really”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lets start off by saying the location is central for sightseeing whilst the views from the rooms and patio are stunning, the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing, the buildings are amazing and the quality of the food is good.

The things that let the hotel down are minor in comparison but annoying. The fact that the bug screen is torn and won't stay down is irritating but easily overcome. The service at the bar and restaurant is slow and unreliable which is not too great an issue as long as you expect it and keep reminding staff what you want. The pool needs some attention, some tiles are missing and could be cleaned better.

All in all, this is a very good hotel which with a bit of effort could be superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    212
    77
    40
    13
See reviews for
82
409
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have just come back from a few days here after spending a week in self catering accommodation elsewhere in Umbria. This was very disappointing. It had a very rundown feel. Our room was ok but the bathroom was nothing special and there was a lot of mould in the rather aged shower. Breakfast was very ordinary with horrid coffee which is a shame in Italy! Both the swimming pools were dirty and needed a good scrub. They both had a tide mark and mould growing around the lights and tiles. It is such a beautiful setting but was spoilt by lack of attention to detail. The food at dinner was again average and the staff although pleasant were very amateurish. The rooms are not as shown on the website (at least ours wasn't) so if you go don't get your hopes up!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We returned here for our 40th having had a great stay on our 30th anniversary 10 years previously.
We were very disappointed it has deteriorated , had to get mosquitoes cleared from our room, which to be fair was done immediately, the room decor was tired the fly screen was tatty and this was an expensive room with a balcony. The bed was not comfortable either. The restaurant menu was very limited even more so at lunch so resorted to a pizza in Perugia on our second night which was very good!The fitness trail was hardly recognisable such a shame as the area around the hotel is so beautiful.The saving grace was the wonderful massage and spa experience the two girls running it were great and the pool is great.Such a shame inside the hotel standards have fallen we won't be returning unless given a good makeover!

Room Tip: Room with a valley view or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wonderful place to visit. Unbelievable views all around and very peaceful.
For the cost [via secret escapes] this was fantastic value and we would recommend it.
Lovely breakfast.
To improve it some simple customer information about the area in particular some simple local walks would be good. The steps to the tennis court are very dangerous.
The wine tasting is free to anyone but a lot of pressure to buy so go early in your stay unless you have the means to carry wine home with you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatNorthSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at Relais Il Canalicchio for 5 nights with Groupon. Although we have read bad "Groupon experiences", we cannot say it was a bad experience for us. The country suite we stayed in, was clean and spacious. End of June 2014, there were not many guests, so it was quiet.
The pool is perfect. We do have some comments, because we think that this is not a 4 star quality hotel.
At the reception, the staff does not have enough knowledge and most of them do not speak English well enough. Complaint about the bad working airco for 2 days, did not result in anything.
Breakfast is served until 10 am, but when you have breakfast at 9.45 am, there is not much food left. The view on the terrace makes it still worthwhile to go for the leftovers.
Coffee is just Nescafe from the machine!
About the room we also have some comments: the bedsheets were not changed during our stay.
The curtains where dirty, and one of the room shutters in the bedroom was missing, it was very light in the early morning.
Our Groupon offer included a winetasting and tour at Monte Vibiano. We recommend this to everybody. It is a 40 minutes drive from the hotel and you will get a free tour with explanation. Absolutely great.
Our groupon experience was ok, but we would not return and pay the full price for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the country suites with balcony for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corine en Geor... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for 6 days with 6 new friends. It is pretty remote but there are lots of excursions to take to various local services. We were never bored. Marcello was fantastic and extremely helpful throughout our stay. The weather was hit and miss and I guess that is how it is up on the hill and we rolled with it. We took the cooking classes which were amazing. I wished we had also been taught how to make the sauces but I guess they couldn't fit that in.

We really have nothing bad to say. They could have nice loungers in the beautiful patio we had instead of the uncomfortable chairs but we survived. Ha ha. The gym we only used once because it was pretty outdated.

All the staff we super friendly. Extra thanks to Marcello, Pepe and Federico. We had a fab time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We also ended up in Relais Il Canalicchio for a week via a groupon booking and were amazed. The location and layout of the hotel are awesome, the staff was friendly, kind and accommodating.The room was more than fine and very spacious. There is a terrace with a unique view and lovely handpainted tables and a twohundred year old Melograno. Breakfast was okay but could have been so much better with a little more attention to detail. You do need a car when staying there in order to get off the mountain. The place has an enormous potential and all I can say is that if it is true that an accommodation is as good as its staff, then they are on the right track. Marcello, Ciro, Esther, Gianni, Cataldo, Manuela you name them, they will make the difference in the end. As long as the price/quality remains explainable. All in all, we will definitely be back be it for pleasure or business..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony/terrace to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canalicchio
2.6 mi away
Abbazia Collemedio
Abbazia Collemedio
#1 of 1 in Collepepe
184 reviews
12.0 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
6.9 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,681 reviews
2.6 mi away
L'Antico Forziere
L'Antico Forziere
#1 of 1 in Casalina
220 reviews
12.5 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Canalicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Canalicchio

Property: Relais Il Canalicchio
Address: Via della Piazza 4, 06050 Canalicchio, Collazzone, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Collazzone > Canalicchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Il Canalicchio 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Il Canalicchio stands like a small gem inset into the summit of a hill. The picturesque town built around the Castello di Poggio, which dates to the 10th-11th centuries, dominates the town with its imposing tower and a splendid little church close to the vineyards and olive groves at the centre of the lush Umbrian countryside. The luxury Relais has almost completely remodeled and enclosed the town of Canalicchio, an intact and resplendent oasis of peace, where only the twittering of birds interrupts the relaxing stillness. Inside, the historic and rural origins of the place are obvious; it still has its apparent castle-like structure and boasts an enormous and exquisite millstone, the old press and some lovely arches, evoking the enchanting atmosphere and charm of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Relais Il Canalicchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Canalicchio Di Collazzone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing