We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and beautiful people”
Review of L'Antica Vetreria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piegaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Antica Vetreria
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was looking for the perfect place for my Mother's 50th Birthday celebration and our first holiday abroad! A friend suggested L'Antica Vetreria and I have to say it was beyond perfect.
From the first correspondence with Colleen it was clear that we were going to be extremely well looked after. Colleen and Tom go above and beyond to help with making sure you are quickly settled and sorted for your stay.
We had a wonderful cookery lesson with Salvatore, and enjoyed a trip to the local vineyard. There was delicious gelato in the local shop as well as great markets to visit and some of the most beautiful scenery that we have seen.
Colleen and Tom are such welcoming and lovely hosts that it felt we were leaving good friends at the end of our week and we look forward to going back to see them and explore Piegaro and the area even further.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

We are so grateful that you took the time to tell future guests about your incredible experience with us! It did feel like bidding friends goodbye at your departure. So happy to have shared the time together and that you had such a fulfilling and enjoyable time. We are fortunate to live full time in the village so that we can give as much or as little attention that guests enjoy. We do hope that you return soon as there is so much more to do, to experience and to explore in our region of Umbria and nearby Tuscany. Again, Grazie Mille for being such wonderful guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

L'Antica Vetreria is beautiful place nestling in the side of the lovely hilltop village of Piegaro which we discovered when organising a cookery class for my father-in-law's birthday. We didn't stay in the property on this occasion having found it after confirming another booking, however we will certainly do so when we return to this part of Italy. Although we weren't their clients, Colleen and Tom organised the cookery class for us and also invited us to join their guests on a fantastic wine tasting trip. They were both excellent hosts, welcoming us into their group and helping us to enjoy a fantastic holiday in and around Piegaro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnK_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

We were so happy to have arranged the cooking class for your father and that he enjoyed it so much! Glad to have been able to include you in our free weekly wine tour and tasting at the lovely local vineyard also. One of the joys of managing L'Antica Vetreria is meeting so many wonderful people from all over the world and being able to meet their needs when they ask. From cooking classes to wine tours to advice on seeing the beautiful sights of Umbria, we do try to please. Thank you so much for the nice review and we hope to accommodate you and your family soon when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I am prejudiced in that I have been here 9 or 10 times. Owners are great. Colleen can be your tour guide if you wish. There are nearby car rentals if you arrive by train. She can also have a driver pick you up in Rome. Day trips of one hour or less abound: Assissi, Perugia,Cortona, etc. Parking in town is free and no hassle. If you do not do your own cooking at L'Antica, there are two very good places to eat in town: Bar Luna, and Osteria da Juni. Great gelato at the bar Fortuna. I almost hate writing this review as I don't want my special place in Italy overrun by tourists.

Room Tip: depends on how many in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradlyandbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

We look forward to each of your visits and you have become a true Piegarese now! Everyone in the village hopes you return each year....so do not disappoint! Thanks for all your wonderful reviews of not only L'Antica Vetreria but also our friends at Bar & Ristorante Luna and Osteria di Juni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Two groups of friends spent a week each in perfect little Piegaro at L'Antica Vetreria. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed into the village and the villa. We had dinner at Luca's wonderful pizzeria and helped him celebrate his birthday. We enjoyed informative cooking classes from Salvatore. The highlight of our trip to Cortona was a stop at Il Pozzo gallery and a visit with its congenial owner, Ivan. The villa owners, Tom and Colleen, took us to an amazing winery, Monte Vibiano, and either directed us or escorted us to many other fabulous places in the area. It was a great vacation, for both the first time Italy visitors or the 10th time Italy visitors!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

We loved having your two groups visit and look forward to your return with more of your guests. Each day was a delight with your ladies who appreciated everything about Umbria and Tuscany. Your expert knowledge and connections with restaurants and shop owners, especially Ivan in Cortona and La Bandita in Pienza, make all your guests feel extra special and we were so happy to have shared that connection. Hope to see you again in the autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have been to L'antica Vetreria twice, and it keeps overwhelming me with its beauty and charm. Colleen and Tom are the most dedicated and generous hosts, always helpful and interested. I warmly recommend staying here either for families, friends or couples looking for a peaceful and authentic vacation spot. It is a great base for exploring the region, with Perugia, Orvieto, Cortona, Assisi and numerous other charming hilltop towns within easy reach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Line and Hasse, We were so happy to spend such quality time with you both! Your appreciation of our beautiful L'Antica Vetreria is inspiring to us and we are thrilled that you will return again and again! You have found your home in Umbria anytime you wish. Looking forward to visiting with you in Oslo also. Fondly, Colleen and Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I, with friends and family, have been to the Vetreria 4 times now, in the spring, in the middle of the summer and in the autumn. It has been a joy every time. This place is for all seasons. The village,the hosts, the shops, the scenery, the history, the vineyards, the view - the view is something else, the lazy mornings, the fabulous restaurants, the beautiful evenings, music in the piazza ... the pool (best fitness center i Europe). Looking for a great time .. look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendiksen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

It is always our pleasure to welcome you to your home-away-from home at L'Antica Vetreria! You really have been here in all seasons and Piegaro loves having you return. Thank you for all the gorgeous photos you have taken of our beautiful property!
With kind regards, Colleen and Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

L'Antica Vetreria has to be one of the most impressive villas I've seen in Italy yet! It was lovingly (and amazingly) restored by Colleen & Tom who are the warmest hosts imaginable. There is nothing better than staying in the center of a friendly little town like Piegaro and enjoying village life, with the fabulous pool and stunning countryside views. This is the perfect place to be to fully explore Umbria and Southern Tuscany, right in the heart of Italy, either as a romantic getaway, or with the whole family - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeItalianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Jennifer, It is always our pleasure to welcome you to our lovely little village of Piegaro and to L'Antica Vetreria! It is guests like you who are so appreciative that inspire us and confirm to us that we have the best guests in the world. Thanks for this charming review.
Kind regards, Colleen and Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piegaro hotels
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo Abbazia Sette Frati
0.1 mi away
Ca' De' Principi - Residenza D'epoca
6.2 mi away
Abbazia dei Sette Frati Agriturismo Fratres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Casa Vacanze Il Piccolo Noce
Casa Vacanze Il Piccolo Noce
#2 of 3 in Pietrafitta
60 reviews
34.4 mi away
No photo provided
1.1 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta Il Polardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antica Vetreria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antica Vetreria

Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 24A, 06066, Piegaro, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Piegaro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Piegaro
Price Range: $62 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique historic property within the medieval walls of a perched hilltop village in Umbria on the border of Tuscany. Huge Villa sleeps ten and four separate apartments sleeping four each, each with its own terrace & pool overlooking stunning view of pastoral countryside. From your villa or apartment with fully equipped kitchen, living, dining room & spacious bedrooms with modern baths, it is just steps to main piazza of village with bar/cafes, restaurants, groceries, butcher, bakery, pharmacy & shops. All village amenities to make your stay comfortable and to enjoy typical Italian village life with all its rhythms. The village of Piegaro is very warm and welcoming with a rich history of glassmaking for over 750 years. We have restored the ancient glassworks (vetreria)for guests to stay and enjoy in comfort. Within an hour guests visit all the historic sites within Umbria and Tuscany. Enjoy our free tour of local winery with tour through ancient olive groves & right through the vines; free tasting of wines and olive oil on panoramic terrace. Owners live in the village & will help you with all itineraries to show you the hidden jewels of Umbria. Cooking classes available as well as catering, horseback riding, biking, water sports, farm tours. We strive to make our guests dreams come true by paying attention to all the details, from provisioning the kitchen with all condiments like olive oil, balsamic vinegar, spices, paper products to helping daily with special suggestions and tour itinerary booklets. Piegaro is a very special little village and we are blessed to be part of a rich history by preserving one of its most historic places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Antica Vetreria Hotel Piegaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing