We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Il Parco Degli Ulivi
Nearby Hotels
La Lanterna Hotel(Rometta Marea)
$49
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oasi Azzurra Village(Messina)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Viola Palace Hotel(Villafranca Tirrena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Redebora(Torregrotta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
200
112
43
23
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
112
43
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil parcolovely hotelbeautiful poolpool furnituresmall hotelfitness
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 403 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel pridely displays the tripadvisor certificate of excellence at the reception. Indeed, they are doing a lot of things right. The main feature of the hotel is the large infinity pool with an incredible view over the town and the ocean. The rooms are all one floor down which gives them a bit of a basement feel. The rooms are contemporary in style and of average size. Unfortunately although there is a door out to the grass, there is no terrace nor any outside furniture. Also, contrary to the pool and the restaurant, the rooms have no view at all. Staff at reception was friendly. There are a few things they could improve:
- Restaurant was understaffed with a young inexperienced waiter
- Restaurant inside very hot (no aircon switched on at 30 degrees outside temperature)
- We asked to sit on the terrace for breakfast (as the weather was wonderful) and were told that there is no service outside (were kindly handed a tray to bring out everything we needed and were told to carry it back inside by ourselves)
- Could not get a latte macchiato for breakfast which is served in every cheap bar in Italy - cappucino was provided after some haggeling
- Halfboard menu (halfboard is 20 EUR/person/day) is different from the regular menu (some of the better dishes not available, although the halfboard menu has some dishes that are not on the regular menu - could not figure out the reason)
- Sun loungers at the pool were all congregated on a small grass patch with no view and not allowed to be moved elsewhere
- Aircon works only with key and was not strong enough to cool down our room during the night
- Bed fairly hard
- TV only with Italian channels

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The main strong points of this hotel are the garden, terrace and infinity pool with amazing views over the Meditteranean and the Eolian Islands. The hotel is clean with very friendly and helpful staff and management. The hotel restaurant is OK but not excellent.

We definitely recommend this hotel which is also a reasonably good location in between the Eolian Islands and Etna and allows day trips to both destinations. Unfortunately the nearest town of Villafranca Tirrena does not have anything to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonPuissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

As a family with 3 kids (age 9-16) we spent nearly two weeks at the hotel. The view from the pool is absolutely magnificent - the swimming pool seems to merge with the sea, when you look into the horizon, you see only azure blue in different shades. Swimming while the sun goes down is lovely. Sometimes, the joy would be limited because music was being played from the loudspeakers, disturbing la tranquillità. The staff is competent and very friendly. We used to play tennis after breakfast, and one of the kids took regular lessons at the riding stable next door which were just great. The rooms are well-kept. We often went to the beach in Villafranca. There were hardly any tourists, just local people. We also took trips to Taormina (1h-drive) as well as to the Aeolian Islands. To our surprise, the high season hadn't really started yet, so there weren't many other guests. On the weekends, weddings took place with people coming over from Messina so one becomes kind of a spectator. All in all, we felt well treated, loved the continuously hot and sunny weather and thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent views.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samsonite5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We would like to advertise the hotel for many reasons. 1st one, as a horse rider, I was very pleased to see so many installations and horses. I was almost about to ride but I went in Sicilia to visit and enjoy the sun and the sea :) 2nd, the staff is very welcoming. The lady proposed to indicate us the way to go to the hotel by phone (we did it on our own and we were a little bit lost. For future guests, an advice, once you exit the motorway, follow the direction of Calvaruso and afterward, the signs of the hotel). The 2 other guys also offered us precious indications. We went to Savoca, the "Il Padrino" village following Aldo's (not sure about the name) recommendations. We didn't regret it! It is this kind of villages that we look for during our trips. So beautiful! Last but not least, another guy from the staff has kindly explained us the way to use the fitness (important info too: we were authorised to check out at mid day whereas other hotels urge you to check out at 11 am the latest) I have really enjoyed to make some exercice after eating so much! Another big point is that most of them speak a perfect French. Even if we like to travel to meet other languages, it is really appreciated to better understand people :) 3rd, the swimming pool is amazing. at the top of the hotel, you can swim while contemplating the magnificient view on the islands. 4th, dinner is excellent. We have appreciated the advice from the servor (even if we had a misunderstanding on "gassata" :). The wine Altavilla is a good price / quality rate for those who like to taste Sicilian wines, not too strong. We have also taken gnocchi "rossa" (can' t remember exactly the name sorry), rolls of veal (mmmhhhh...), scaloppine with very good lemon sauce and a creamy risotto (we didn't all this in 1 meal huh.. But in 2!).
To summarise, we are very pleased about the hotel. Moreover, we had a reduction thanks to Groupon so it was an outstanding stay for us.
Hope this - long - comment will help!
Cheers,
Sophie e Alexandre

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Vu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionePDU, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Parco Degli Ulivi, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Your “long comment” was GREAT!
Thank you for your words and, above all, to have chosen “Il Parco degli Ulivi” for your Sicilian stay!
We wait for you the next time for a longer stay and for another detailed comment as the first 
In some lines, you commented and suggested EVERYTHING and we were very happy and enthusiast reading your “guidelines”!
Thank you so much.
Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is situated in a wonderful place high on the hill where amazing view opens.
We enjoyed silent and calm stay in this hotel so much that we stayed for 3 days instead of 2 planned.
The hotel staff is very friendly and listens to any request you make!
The own restaurant is a spacy place with delicious food and amazing view.
Our best stay in Sicily!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrius112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews