We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with children, good location and good food! - Kornél”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uappala Hotel Lacona
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lacona
Budapest
1 review
“Excellent place with children, good location and good food! - Kornél”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Very nice hotel with good service. Big pool and the beach is very close by the hotel. We have been there in half pension: the breakfast was average but the dinner was excellent.
Three animators dealed with our children. Elba Island and Hotel Lacona is a perfect place to have a nice rest!
Kornél Almássy from Hungary

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kornelBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Mr Almassy,

thanks for spending your time writing your impressions about our hotel; the recommendations and suggestions of our guests always help us to get better and to improve our job. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Lacona.

Best regards

Robi Veltroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    188
    96
    72
    77
See reviews for
307
134
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Elba is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. We hired a convertible smart car, via the hotel, which was perfect to scoot around the twisty roads in. The weather in September was great! The beaches were lovely. The beach and snack bar on the beach offer discount to hotel residents.

The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful. They were lovely and chatty. Our room was upgraded for free. It was modern- flat screen tv, modern furniture, etc with a sizeable showeroom. There was no balcony, however, there are very large, shared balconies on each floor.

We stayed half board (you will need to if you do not plan to have the use of a car) and the breakfast and dinners were of a very high quality, as was the choice of wines. There was plenty of variety in the meals (even for myself, a fussy vegetarian!) and the dining room was pleasant. We would often port our wine to the poolside terrace, which has wait-staff again, very pleasant and polite. Pretzels & nuts are served with drinks.

We went out through the day and in the evening in the car to explore the island, some of the views were nothing short of breathtaking.

The residents were mostly Italian.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHLEYBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear Traveler,

thank you very much indeed for the wonderful description of the island and the beautiful words you spent for our staff, bar and restaurant. Come back and visit us again soon. Best regards.

Robi Veltroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

When you finally arrive on The World’s Most Expensive Ferry © to Elba (which cost €117 and drops you on the Northern end of Elba), you must drive for about 20 minutes to the southern end to Lacona to get to the hotel. The drive is reasonably fun/terrifying with lots of corkscrew bends and lashing the car into second gear to get it up the hill etc. The hotel is very much like a Mediterranean apartment complex, big pool area (long rectagonal pool) with lots of outdoor seating and a man warming us all up with karaoke from 5pm onwards. He seems to have finished pretty early.

The room was fine, your average Italian hotel room, the bar is nice with cheap cocktails. The continental breakfast was a travesty though. Go outside, down the stairs into this Clockwork Orange-like “futuristic” room where everything is white, orange and plastic. It appeared that most of the tables were reserved (for breakfast?!) but we sat down anywhere and there was No. Food. That said, we did arrive at the tail end of breakfast service but seriously – No. Food. Or. Plates. Disaster.

When you leave the hotel you walk straight down to the beach, which is fantastic. Elba is like a Mediterranean resort without any tourism – any tourists are Italian (some French and Polish) but it is not in any way built up. You can see from the landscape that it’s quite inaccessible. If you turn left on the beach and stroll down a little bit (5 minutes) there is a fantastic restaurant (forget the name) on the beach which does terrific seafood.

Elba's great, worth a visit definitely and this is a totally grand place to stay.

  • Liked — Near the beach, great island
  • Disliked — Potential for karaoke
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

While were looking for a good hotel in Elba for a family holiday we decided to book the Hotel Lacona.
The Hotel is quite modern and rooms are quite large and with air condition (ask for a standard room they are bigger) and the bathrooms (with shower) have been refurbished. The swimming pool (with a children pool attached) is very nice and it is surrounded by pine trees. At night there is a piano bar at the pool. There is also a children club during the high season (extra charge). The restaurant (only dinner) is part buffet service and part waiter served and the food and choices are very good. Very good restaurant service for the little ones, they always cooked different things for our little one.
The beach is really opposite the hotel but you need to pay for it (at a discounted price). It is not expensive around 15-20 euro a day for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella (tell them where do you want your space on the beach when booking). The bar-restaurant on the beach serves lovely lunches and fresh fish and seafood (you get 10% discount if you pay weekly for the beach). The long sandy beach and the sea is fantastic and is situated in a very nice bay, perfect for walks. The hotel is situated in the bay of Lacona (15 min drive from the Port of Portoferraio) and there are nice pizzerias, minimarket and restaurant nearby (walking distance). The towns of Portoazzurro and Marina di Campo are nearby by car and they have late shopping at night during the summer (shops close at midnight).
For us was a perfect place for us and our child, easy to go around, lovely beach and family friendly. It is also perfect for people with no children. Many places to see and discover by car. We will go back next year.

  • Liked — very friendly service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gt67-berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Dear Traveler,

thanks for your nice words and comments about us and for telling that you would like to come back to visit us.
We would like to inform you about a recent change we made: this year (season 2010) we refurbished family rooms, which are very comfortable and spacious especially for those who spend longer holidays.

Thanks again and see you soon in Lacona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Not sure how this hotel has 4-stars - it does not compare to other 4-star hotels where I have stayed in Italy. This was my first trip to Elba so I also cannot compare to other hotels on the island.
I just saw the reviews in Italian from other guests and I have to agree with their comments. I think the bathrooms are the only updates to the hotel rooms since around 1970. We stayed in a 2-room 'family suite' that was from another era. However, the room was very clean and the daily cleaning service was very good. The food was good, but just take note that the dinners are completely buffet style so you won't get a chance to sit and relax with waiter service. The pool and bar area were nice. The hotel has a really great shady playground that our kids loved. The beach is across the road - it is an OK beach, but certainly not the nicest on the island. Also, depending on what you are looking for, this might not be the ideal location if you want to be in/near a town for shopping. Lacona is full of camping grounds and has just a few mini-markets for shopping - you will need to drive to Portoferraio or Marina di Campo or elsewhere for shopping excursions.

We stayed at this hotel because we were traveling with another family who wanted to stay in the apartment residence for the week - the residence apartments also have a similar 1970s feel as the hotel rooms, but with updated bathrooms and a small kitchen area. The nice thing about the apartments is that they all seem to have a balcony while most of the hotel rooms do not have a balcony. On the grounds of the hotel, there is also a little sandwich/ice cream shop and a little newspaper shop selling beach gear/children's toys.

Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but we expected more with a 4-star rating and it did not live up to these expectations in the room and service standards.

  • Liked — Food & Children's Playground
  • Disliked — Outdated rooms and infrastructure
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lacona, Direttore vendite at Uappala Hotel Lacona, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear Francescac,
thanks for your review and for your recommendations. We would like to inform you that from this year (2010) the hotel features new family rooms and comfortable and big suites, most of them with two bathrooms.
The restaurant has a buffet service, so the guest is free to choose among many different dishes. We are glad that you appreciated the quality of our food.
Thank you also for giving a special mention to the cleanliness of our rooms, we always pay a particular attention to this aspect.
Come again to visit us, you won’t be disappointed.
Robi Veltroni
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ortano Mare Village - TH Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uappala Hotel Lacona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uappala Hotel Lacona

Property: Uappala Hotel Lacona
Address: Viale Dei Golfi 544/b | Spiaggia di Lacona, 57031 Lacona, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy (Formerly Club Valtur Lacona)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri > Lacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uappala Hotel Lacona 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Resort Lacona is only 100 meters far from the sea and is surrounded by a big park leading to the beach of Lacona. 90 comfortable and nicely equipped rooms, most of them recently refurbished. The buffet restaurant offers a wide selection of traditional Tuscan dishes but also international ones. Two tennis courts, a big swimming pool and the private parking give the chance to enjoy a holiday in total relax. Free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Uappala Hotel Lacona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uappala Hotel Lacona Elba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing