We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, excellent food, lovely service”
Review of Hotel Capo Sud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Capo Sud
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lacona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot, excellent food, lovely service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 5 wonderful days at Hotel Capo Sud with our teenagers. The location is absolutely superb - gorgeous beach and stunning views. It is a little remote and quiet, but is close enough to drive to one of the little towns for an evening of entertainment. The restaurant was amazing - fantastic food, excellent value and really wonderful service. Danilo took extra good care of us, making sure that the kids always had something that appealed to them, and making swift changes and special accommodations if needed. The rooms are very basic, but clean. We were in the hotel rooms, and I believe that we would have enjoyed the roomier, condo style suites more if they had been available. All in all, it was a lovely spot and we felt very well looked after. Would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mr 60930,
thanks for wanting to devote his time to describe his experiences at our house,
our beach peaceful and private and quiet guaranteed by our park are definitely the strengths of the Capo Sud as well as the kitchen, careful to serve simple dishes prepared with fresh ingredients.
The care of the customer and his needs is our top priority.
Glad to have them guaranteed a pleasant and up to his expectations holyday we wait all of you for a new Elba’s experience at Capo sud
Davide Di Puccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    126
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
254
230
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are a family from Holland and have stayed in Capo Sud for the fourth time now in about 7 years. It is a wonderful place to be if you like sun, sea, space and beach. The big bonus is the food in the restaurant. Normally we are not very keen on half board but in Capo Sud it is part of the experience: very good Italian food and lots of sea food!
Also the beach restaurant is a little treasure located only 10-20 m from the beach and sea!
What we love most is the people that look after you: in general the service in Italy could be better but at Capu Sud the Di Puccio family manages to put a team together that takes pride in pampering the guests. A lot of young and enthusiastic people that seem very happy to help you.
It would be great if the quiet end quaint atmosphere at Capo Sud would stay as it is and that not too many people find out about Capo Sud....

Room Tip: If you are not very good with high temperatures ask for a room with airco. Also there is a lot of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Fred M,
Thank you very much for choosing again Hotel Capo Sud (for the fourth time!) and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you like so much our location, our beach and our cuisine. All the staff would like to thank you for your beautiful words and send you many greetings. We hope to welcome you again next summer! Best regards, Famiglia Di Puccio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had the most amazing time at Capo Sud.
It's easy to explain: -
Outstanding views of clear, beautiful blue sea.
Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with a lovely terrace.
We were there during off season so it was quiet. Too early to use the pool and sea but warm enough to sit and enjoy the views.
All the staff were amazing, friendly and helpful.
But most important, Davido, one of the owners that we met, was the most hospitable, kind and gentle person we've met in a long, long time.
We promise to be back.
Niagara, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a sea view and mid way up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sue M,
thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Hotel Capo Sud is a beautiful location, all our rooms have a balcony or patio where our guests can enjoy the wonderul surrounding landscape. The staff, especially Davide, remember about you and are very happy about your words. We all send you our best greetings and hope to see you again on Elba Island. Kind regards, Francesco Di Puccio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza,Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Capo Sud is an hotel positioned in beautiful and quiet location in the south of Elba Island, that consists of a number of rooms spread over a wonderful garden and towards the sea. We had a stay twice: four years ago and at the beginning of September this year: in both cases it was a very comfortable stay! The hotel has an easy access to a private beach, any customer has his own beach umbrella with deckchairs and any beach service is available. The beach is partially sandy, but this allows you to get access to a very clear water where you can watch some kinds of fishes. You can also access to the private pool close to the beach. Elba island during summer is quite crowded, the quiet private beach of Capo Sud is a measureless added value that for sure will improve your stay if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. The rich breakfast is served in a very suggestive terrace. In a HB stay you can choose every day your lunch or your dinner. Rooms are not luxurious but anyway comfortable and very clean. Hotel staff and management are friendly and kind. Not far from here you can find some other interesting beaches and locations such as Lacona, Capoliveri and Porto Azzurro. For sure we will be back here in the next future: Capo Sud is a reliable harbor for us!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear PaulWolf
We thank you for the nice compliments about our hotel and we are happy you spent a nice relaxing stay. As you said, our beach is quiet and never crowded, even during high season. This allows our guests to enjoy our sea, referred as “very clean” from Legambiente (an italian association for the protection of the environnement) and the privacy of our beach.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next summer holiday. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed for 6 days, left just two days ago and I can tell straight away I already miss the incredible views, lovely setting, and quality of the water. The beach is really near to the hotel, just about two steps away. Couldn't bother with the swimming pool since the sea was so clean and near hehe. I'd like to remark the staff has been really helpful and friendly with any possible question or request about the island and the hotel services. So far the other beaches in the island don't stand a chance with the hotel's one, they're just not as clean and quiet. We took full board and enjoyed the excellent food, really fresh and pleasant since we love fish on top of everything, obviously when being on a island. ;)
I'd surely recommend this hotel, romantic and relaxing, had a really great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErikaP00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Erika P00,
we thank you so much for your review and for your time.
We are happy you spent an enjoyable holiday in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our cuisine, always genuine and with fresh ingredients, the tranquility and cleanliness of our beach and the courtesy of all the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Capo Sud is a hotel of contrasts. We were disappointed that the room was poorly furnished and the air conditioning did not work. The management offered an alternative room but we elected to stay were we were and found that switching off the (uneccessary) drinks refrigerator made a significant difference to the temperature. We had become paranoid about mosquitos during the previous week's stay in Chianti where we collected a total of 42 bites between us. Leaving the balcony door open at night was necessary but risky as the fly screen was not intact but there was a plug -in in the room which we supplemented . The walk down to the beach is steep but worth the effort, the swimming was wonderful. We didn't use the pool area at this visit and unfortunately as the season was winding down the beach/pool bar was not available. We had not booked half board as previous experience with other hotels has been poor but were impressed by the food and dined in the hotel restaurant every night (tip - save 50% on meals by booking half board). The management and staff were courteous, professional and helpful. We would consider staying at this hotel again but probably not at the height of the season.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffalogal619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
We thank you very much for your comment. It's our policy to do our best in resolving all kind of problems and in this situation particularly, we offered us to change the room for a better satisfaction, but our suggestion was denied. This can let us think that probably the problem was small.
During the closing time of the Bar at the beach, it is possible to get the preferred drink in the room without service charge, calling the reception.
We thank you for your appreciation for the good food and the good manner of the whole Hotel Staff. We try to do our best for our guest's satisfaction. It will be a pleasure for us to have you again in our Hotel and assure you that we will be at your complete disposal for any need.

Raffaella Pagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

After having booked this holiday following generally good reviews on "Trip Adviser" we were disappointed at arrival at the hotel. Although set in a beautiful natural spot and quiet surroundings the accommodation left much to be desired. The chalets are very basic and in need of update. There is no Air Conditioning available in any of the Chalets just a ceiling fan which really wasn't doing much to lower the room temperature which was 35 in the shade ! The bathroom was compact the most annoying feature of which was the pull across shower curtain half way across the room which meant that you have the toilet in the shower with you !!!!! Which meant we had to keep wiping it down after each use.
Staff were polite if spoken to but I would not say friendly especially the owner who may have wished us good morning twice in 5 days.
Don't know what they use to sanitise the draws with but it must be alcohol based as it smelt of "grappa" hence we didn't use them !
The beach although pleasant enough is very stony all the way into the sea where it drops steeply very quickly, I would have thought not very suitable for young children.

Overall good location, pity about the accommodation which perhaps we would have felt better about if at least the staff had been friendlier.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluetrip50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCapoSudFrank, Direttore at Hotel Capo Sud, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
The air conditioning is available only in some rooms and on request at time of booking. It never happened before that a Guest, who reserved a room with air conditioning received a room without it.

About the cleaning products, since this year, our hotel adheres to eco-hotels of Legambiente, the association that is committed to protect the environment and nature. So we are more careful and use green products, compatible with the environment (these products have no alcohol inside). Maybe the sir has got confused with the great choice of grappa (of Elba and not only), that we have at our bar and that he may taste them.

About the greeting failure from the owner, my father, this is due to the fact that at the time of the sir’s stay (15-7 to 20-7), the owner was faraway 4 days on 5 for important personal reasons. This has been undoubtedly a problem very difficult to overcome for a greeting in person.
When my father and I are at the Hotel, it is a pleasure and a duty for both of us, to greet cordially, discreetly and with sincerity, every Guest we get in touch with.
My father also has the habit, when present, to move among the tables during the dinner to hear directly from the guests as the holiday is going, this once a week.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacona
4.4 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Montemerlo
Hotel Montemerlo
#1 of 5 in Fetovaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capo Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capo Sud

Property: Hotel Capo Sud
Address: Via del Capo Marinaro, 301, 57031 Lacona, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri > Lacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capo Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has fourty rooms in small cottages located in the large (10000 sqm) garden reaching our beach.The three paths leading to the beach start from the terrace where breakfast is served, near the waterlilys pond.Near the swimming pool are a bar and a small nice open-air restaurant which is active since mid June.The hotel's private beach with the beach umbrellas, deckchairs and sun beds in the sand area is reserved to our clients and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Capo Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo Sud Hotel
Hotel Capo Sud Lacona, Elba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing